Gambar halaman

[The late Parliament was dissolved on January 26, 1874; the Writs were

returnable on the 5th of March following ; and the new Parliament met, for the despatch of business, March 5th, 1874, for the First Session of the Twenty-first Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland.]

PARLIAMENTARY ELECTORS.— In“ The Representation of the People Act, 1867," the qualifications for the various Franchises are enumer. ated :

Section 3—Occupation Franchise for Voters in Boroughs.
Section 4-Lodger Franchise for Voters in Boroughs.
Section 5—Property Franchise for Voters in Counties.
Section 6–Occupation Franchise for Voters in Counties.


SESSION 1874-75-76–77-78–79-80.


[ocr errors]


[ocr errors]


MEMBERS FORMING THE CABINET. First Lord of the Treasury

Right Hon. Earl of Beaconsfield. Lord High Chancellor

Right Hon. Earl Cairns. Chancellor of the E.cchequer

Right Hon. Sir Stafford Northcote. Lord President of the Council . Most Noble Duke of Richmond and

Gordon. Lord Privy Seal

Most Noble Duke of Northumberland. Secretary of State for the Home} Right Hon. Richard A. Cross.

Department. Secretary of State for the Foreign} Most Hon. Marquis of Salisbury. Secretary i nof State for the Colonies Right Hon. Sir M. Hicks-Beach, bart.

. Department Secretary of State for the War Right Hon. F. A. Stanley.

Secretary of State for India

Right Hon. Viscount Cranbrook.
First Lord of the Admiralty

Right Hon. W H. Smith. Post-Master General

Right Hon. Lord John Manners. President of the Board of Trade Right Hon. Viscount Sandon.


Chief Secretary for Ireland

Right Hon. James Lowther.
President of the Local Government}Right Hon. G. Sclater-Booth.
Vice-President of the Committee

Right Hon. Lord G. Hamilton.
Vice-President of the Council of India A. Cassels, Esq.
Chancellor of the Duchy of Luncaster Right Hon. Thomas E. Taylor.
Field-Marshal commanding in-Chief H.R. H. the Duke of Cambridge.
Chief Commissioner of Public Works Right Hon. G. J. Noel.

Viscount Crichton.
Junior Lords of the Treasury

Rowland Winn, esq.
Sir J. Elphinstone, bart.

Admiral Sir A. C. Key, K.C.B.
Junior Lords of the Admiralty

Rear-Admiral A. W. A. Hood, C.B.
Rear-Admiral Lord Gilfurd.
Sir Massey Lopes, bart.

Sir W. Hart Dyke, bart.
Joint Secretaries of the Treasury . Sir H. Selwin-Ibbetson, bart.

Sir R. R. W. Lingen. (Perm.) Under Secretaries for the Home Sir M. White-Ridley, bart. Department .

Hon. Adolphus-F.-O. Liddell. (Perm.) Under Secreatries for the Foreign (Hon. R. Bourke. Department :

Lord Tenterden. (Perm.)

[ocr errors]

Under Secretaries for the Colonies (Earl of Cadogan.
Department .

Robert G.-W. Herbert, esq. (Perm.) Under Secretaries for the War

Right Hon. Viscount Bury.
Department .

Colonel Loyd Lindsay. (Financial.)

R. W. Thompson, esq.C.B. (Perm.) Under Secretaries of State for India (Hon. Edward Stanhope.

Sir Louis Mallet, C.B. (Perm.)

Hon. A. Egerton. Secretaries to the Admiralty

Vernon Lushington, esq.

Admiral Robert Hall, C.B.

John-G. Talbot, esq. Secretaries to the Board of Trade

(T. H. Farrer, esq. (Perm). Attorney-General .

Sir J. Holker. Solicitor-General

Sir Hardinge Giffard. Judge Advocate General

Rt.Hon.G.-A.-Cavendish Bentinck Lord Steward

Earl Beauchamp. Treasurer of the Household.

Lord Henry Thynne. Comptroller of the Household

Earl of Yarmouth. Lord Chamberlain

Earl of Mount Edgcumbe. Vice-Chamberlain

Viscount Barrington. Master of the Horse

Earl of Bradford. Captain of the Gentlemen-at-Arms Earl of Coventry. Captain of the Yeoman Guard . Lord Skelmersdale. Master of the Buck-Hounds

Earl of Hardwicke. Clerk Marshal .

Major. General Lord Alfred Paget. Crown Equerry and Secretary. Col. G.-A. Maude, C.B.

Scotland. Lord- Advocate of Scotland .

Right Hon. W.

Watson. Solicitor-General .

J. H. A. Macdonald, esq.

[ocr errors]



[merged small][merged small][ocr errors]

Note.-A change of Administration causes the retirement of all the

persons mentioned above, except the Commander of the
Forces, the permanent Under-Secretaries of State, of the
Treasury, and of the Admiralty, the Clerk Marshal, and the
Crown Equerry.

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small]

Those Members

whose Names an Asterisk is prefixed thus (*), were not in the late Parliament at the dissolution.

Those with a (+) do not sit for the same places as in the late Parliament.

(8) Double Returns.



Acland, Sir Thomas Dyke, bart... Devon, North.
Adam, William-Patrick

Clackmannan and Kinross-shire. Agnew, Robert Vans..

Wigtonshire. *Alexander, Claud

Ayrshire, South • Allcroft, J.-D.

Worcester. Allen, William-Shepherd

Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordsh. Allsopp, Samuel-Charles

Staffordshire, East. * Alsopp, Henry

Worcestershire, East. * Amory, Sir John-Heathcote, bart. Tiverton, Devonshire. Anderson, George.

Glasgow. Anstruther, Sir Robert, bart. Fifeshire. *Anstruther, Sir Windham C.J.C bt. Lanarkshire, South. * Arbhthnot, Colonel

Hereford Archdale, William-Humphrys.... County of Fermanagh. * Arkwright, A.-P.

Derbyshire, North. *Arkwright, Francis

Derbyshire, East. *Ashbury, James-Lloyd

Brighton. *Ashley, Hon. A.-Evelyn-M. Poole. Assheton, Ralph

Clitheroe, Lancashire. *Astley, Sir John-D. bart.

Lincolnshire, North. Backhouse, E.

Darlington, Durham. Bagge, Sir William, bart.... Norfolk, West.

Bailey, Sir Joseph-Russell, bart... Herefordshire. *Balfour, A.-J....

Hertford. Balfour, General Sir George Kincardineshire. Barclay, Alexander-Charles.. Taunton, Somersetshire.. Barclay, James W.

Forfarsbire. *Baring, Thomas-Charles

Essex, South. *Barne, F.-St.-John N.

Suffolk, East. * Barran, John..

Leeds. Barrington, Viscount

Eye, Suffolk. Barttelot, Sir Walter-Barttelot, bt. Sussex, West. • Bass, Hamar- Alfred

Tamworth. Bass, Michael-Arthur

Staffordshire, East. Bass, Michael-Thomas.

Derby. Bates, Edward

Plymouth, Devon. Bateson, Sir Thomas, bart.

Devizes, Wilts.
Baxter, RightHon.William-Edward Montrose.
Bazley, Sir Thomas bart.

Beach, Rt.Hn.Sir Michael-E.-H. bt. Gloucestershire, East.
Beach, William-W. Bramston .... Hampshire, North.
Beaumont, F.-E.-B.

Durham, South. Beaumont, Wentworth-Blackett .. Northumberland, South. Bective, Earl of..

Westmoreland. *Bell, I. L.

Hartlepool Benett-Stanford, V. F..

Shaftesbury. Bentinck, Rt. Hon.G.-A.-Cavendish Whitehaven, Cumberland. Bentinck, G.-William-Pierrepoint Norfolk, West. * Beresford, Lord C.-W.-de la Poer Waterford County.

Beresford, Colonel F. Marcus Southwark. * Beresford, G.-de la Puer

Armagh. Biddulph, Michael

Herefordshire. *Biggar, Joseph-Gillis.

Cavan County: •Birkbeck, Edward

Norfolk, North. Birley, Hugh

Manchester. *Blackburn, Colonel Ireland. Lancashire, South West.

[ocr errors]
« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »