Gambar halaman

Simeon Johnson, from 1737 to 1769.
Thomas Jones, from 1769 to 1773.
Robert R. Livingston, from 1773 to 1774.
John Watts, Jr., 1774.

No records during the revolutionary war.
Richard Varick, from 1783 to 1788.
Samuel Jones, from 1789 to 1796.
James Kent, from 1796 to 1798.
Richard Harrison, from 1798 to 1800.
John P. Provost, from 1800 to 1804.
Maturin Livingston, from 1804 to 1806.
Pierre C. Van Wyck, from 1806 to 1807.
Maturin Livingston, from 1807 to 1808.
Pierre C. Van Wyck, from 1808 to 1810.
Josiah Ogden Hoffman, from 1810 to 1811.
Pierre C. Van Wyck, from 1811 to 1813.
Josiah Ogden Hoffman, from 1813 to 1815.
Richard Riker, from 1815 to 1819.
Peter A. Jay, from 1819 to 1820.
Richard Riker, from 1821 to 1823.
Samuel Jones, from 1823 to 1824.
Richard Riker, from 1824 to 1838.
Robert H, Morris, from 1838 to 1841.
Frederick A. Tallmadge, from 1841 to 1846.
John B. Scott, from 1846 to 1849.
Frederick A. Tallmadge, from 1849 to 1852.
Francis R. Tillou, from 1852 to 1855.
James M. Smith, Jr., from 1855 to 1858.
George G. Barnard, from 1858 to 1861.
John T. Hoffman, from 1861 to 1867.
John K. Hackett, 1866.

1653, 1654–The Burgomasters.... {


OF THE CITY OF NEW YORK, From the organization of its government, in 1653, to the present time.

Arent Van Hatten and

Martin Crigier.

| Alard Anthony and 1655, 1656— The Burgomasters.... Oloff Stevensen Van Cortland. 1657The Retiring Burgomaster....Oloff Stevensen Van Cortland. 16584

....Alard Anthony. 1659

.Paulus Leendersen Vandiergrist. 1660—

....Oloff Stevensen Van Cortland.

[ocr errors]





[ocr errors]





[ocr errors]

1661—The Retiring Burgomaster.... Martin Crigier. 1662

.Paulus Leendersen Vandiergrist. 1663–

.Conelis Steenwyck. 1664

....Oloff Stevensen Van Cortland. 1665

.Paulus Leendersen Vandiergrist. 1666 to 1668The Clerk, on the order of the Mayor, Thomas Willit. 1668 to 1671–

Conelis Steenwyck. 1671

Thomas Delavall. 1671

Mathias Nicholls. 1672

John Lawrence. 1674The Old Burgomaster.....

Johannes Van Bugh. 1676 to 1679—The Treasurer of the City.

.Pieter Stoutenburg. 1679 to 1686

Willem Bogardus. 1686 to 1691

Pieter Delancey. 1691 to 1696—

Ebenezer Wilson. 1696 to 1699

David Provost. 1699—

Isaac De Reimer. 1700 to 1702–

Evart Byvanck. 1702–

Johannes Jansen. 1703 to 1706

William Anderson. 1706 to 1711

Robert Lurting. 1711 to 1718

Samuel Bayard. 1718 to 1749–

Cornelius DePeyster. 1749 to 1772

Isaac De Peyster. 1772 to 1776—

John Harris Cruger. 1784 to 1801

Daniel Phønix. 1801 to 1809- The Chamberlain of the city of New York..

Daniel Phønix. 1809 1816

White ad Fish. 1819 to 1837

John Fleming. 1832 to 1846—

Corn. W. Lawrence. 1846 to 1849

Joseph Lawrence. 1849 to 1853

Shepard Knapp. 1853 to 1856

Francis W.Edmonds. 1856 to 1857-

Robert Kelly. 1857 to 1860

Andrew V. Stout. 1860—

Nathan C. Platt. Dec. 2, 1860-

Daniel Devlin.

[ocr errors]



[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]



Selah Strong, from 1801 to 1805.
Benjamin Romaine, from 1805 (Jan.) to 1806 (Dec.)
Isaac Stoutenburgh, from 1806 (Dec.) to 1807 (Jan.)

Jacob Morton, 1807. Garret N. Bleecker, from 1808 to 1813. Thomas R. Mercein, from 1813 to 1816. Garret N. Bleecker, from 1816 to 1831. Talman J. Waters, from 1831 to 1836. Douw D. Williamson, from 1836 to 1839. Douw D, Williamson, 1842. Alfred A. Smith, from 1839 to 1842. Alfred A. Smith, 1843 and 1844. Douw D. Williamson, 1844 and 1845. John Ewen, from 1845 to 1848. Talman J. Waters, 1848 and 1849. John L. Lawrence, 1849. Joseph R. Taylor, from 1850 to 1853. Azariah C. Flagg, from 1853 to 1859. Robert T. Haws, from 1859 to 1863. Matthew T. Brennan, from 1863 to 1867.


History of wall street


BY D. T. V.

The principal financial mart of the Western continent has a history as curious in its early beginnings and as interesting from its connection with the advancement of the city of New York as any other thoroughfare in the city. We are enabled to trace it, step by step, from its original condition as an open common through its successive stages of progress, until its culmination in modern times as the throne of the American Mammon, whence flow the edicts of the money god through all the land.

As is well known, the Dutch West India Company, which purchased the island of Manhattan from the natives, was liberal in granting to settlers suitable parcels of land for their habitations, gardens, and farms; but no considerable tract for farming purposes was granted below Wall street. The lower part of the island was appropriated to the city proper, and, as occasion offered, was granted in suitable lots to settlers who engaged to make improvements. During twenty-five years subsequent to the advent of Christian families these building sites were confined to a few lanes or thoroughfares adjacent to the fort, on the south point of the island, and along the East river in the same vicinity. During that interval of a quarter of a century the ungranted land below Wall street laid in common, being known in the Dutch language as T’SCHAAPE WAYTIE, or the Sheep Pasture, its natural condition being partly rolling upland and partly meadow of a swampy character.

« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »