Gambar halaman

although the inhabitants of the village have increased 2272, in the last quarter of a century, there are not now over 300 residents, who were such in 1830; and not over 30 of the inhabitants who were here in 1815, can now be found within the corporation limits. This place, and the country around it, is as healthful, and the climate is as solubrious, as any in the state. It would now be difficult to visit any considerable town or place of business at the west, even in Missouri and Iowa, without meeting some one who had formerly lived at Little Falls.

The Presbyterian Church. This society had its ecclesiastical organization on the 29th of June, 1812. I think this society had not, for many years a statute or lay organization separate from the Concord society, and until the erection of the brick church at the junction of Ann and Albany streets, in 1831, or about that time.

"The First Presbyterian society of the village of Little Falls in the town of Little Falls in the county of Herkimer," was incorporated April 16, 1831, under the statute passed April 5, 1813, and Robert Stewart, David Petrie, Charles Smith, Daniel McIntosh, Hozea Hamilton, John Scullen and William Hammell were elected the first lay trustees, and at the first meting of the trustees after their election, Elisha S. Capron was appointed clerk, William J. Pardee, treasurer, and John Dygert, collector.

This organization has been regularly continued to the present time, the church regularly supplied with a settled clergyman, and is and ever has been one of the most flourishing Protestant denominations in the town in respect to numbers, and the respectability and wealth of its members.

Mr. Daniel Talcott, an aged member of this church, who died several years ago, made a pecuniary bequest by his will which enures to the benefit of this society.

This corporation own a handsome brick parsonage, situate on Ann street, purchased by the generous liberality of its member at the expense of about twenty-two hundred dollars.

The Episcopal Church. The vestry of Emmanuel church, at the village of Little Falls in the town of Herkimer, was duly incorporated February 22d, 1823.

Nathaniel S. Benton and George H. Feeter, church wardens; Oran G. Otis, Lester Green, Solomon Lockwood, Abner Graves, Andrew A. Barton, William G. Borland, Thomas Gould and Daniel H. Eastman, vestrymen.

The Rev. Phineas L. Whipple of Trinity church, Fairfield, was on the third day of January, 1824, called to officiate as rector, according to the rites of the Protestant Episcopal church in the United States, one-half the time for the period of one year, at a salary of two hundred dollars.

The present church was consecrated by Bishop Onderdonk in October, 1835. Trinity church, New York,*made a liberal donation of $1500, to aid in building the church edifice.

This organization has been regularly continued to this time, and since 1835 rectors have been inducted and settled, and the services of the church administered with but short intermissions. The corporation own a convenient brick rectory, lately built by the corporation, situate at the corner of Albany and William streets, near the church edifice.

The Baptist Society, Little Falls. At a meeting of the persons usually attending worship with the Baptist church in the village of Little Falls, held pursuant to notice at the stone school house, the usual place of worship of said church, on the 21st day of December, 1830, for the purpose of organizing and forming an incorporated society within the provisions of the statute, Alanson Ingham and Calvin G. Carpenter were appointed to preside at the election of trustees.

After unanimously agreeing to organize a society to be , known by the name and style of the Baptist society of Little Falls, a ballot was taken and Daniel Rogers, Alanson Ingham, Parley Eaton, Henry Haman and Stephen W. Brown were elected trustees.

It wi s thereupon resolved that the aforesaid trustees, and their successors in office, shall forever hereafter be called and known by the name and title of the Trustees of the baptist society of Little Falls.

To all which we, the returning officers do certify; in witness whereof we have set our hands and seals this 22d day of December, 1830. Alanson Ingham,

In presence of Calvin G. Carpenter.

Parley Eaton.

Recorded in the clerk's office, Herkimer county, December 22d, 1830.

In 1832 this society erected a handsome stone church on the south side of Albany street at the corner of Mary street, and have kept up their legal organization under the statute to the present time. Its standing, as a religious body, has always been respectable in numbers and the character of its members.

The Methodist Society.—At a meeting of the male members of the Methodist episcopal society in the village of Little Falls, called according to law at the school house in said village on the 19th day of November, 1832, for the purpose of organizing a corporation under the statute, Henry Heath was chosen chairman and Ebenezer S. Edgerton appointed secretary.

Resolved, That this society be called The Methodist episcopal church of the village of Little Falls.

Resolved, That this meeting do elect five members of the society to serve as trustees of the corporation and take charge of the temporalities of the church.

The meeting then proceeded to the election of trustees, Henry Heath and E. S. Edgerton being chosen tellers of the poll, and on ballot the following person were duly elected, viz:

First class, Edmond L. Shephard, Gilbert Robinson.

Second class, George Warcup, Ebenezer S. Edgerton.

Third class, Henry Heath.

Resolved, That the board of trustees be requested to procure a suitable site for building a church as soon as may be convenient.

At a subsequent meeting of the board of trustees, Henry Heath was chosen chairman of the board, and E. S. Edgerton secretary.

The society immediately set about raising the funds to purchase a lot and build a church. A subscription was opened in October, 1836, the last installment of which was payable in January, 1838. After encountering delays and embarrassments incident to a first effort and infant organization, the Society completed the church in 1839, which was dedicated that year and opened for public worship.

The church edifice has since been enlarged and beautified to accommodate the wants and meet the tastes of an increasing congregation. This society is now in a flourishing condition and its members have set on foot a project of purchasing a parsonage house or glebe.

The Universalist Society.—This society was incorporated on the 3d day of May, A. D. 1851, by the name of the First universalist society of Little Falls, Herkimer county, New York, by filing a certificate in the usual form under the statute, in the clerk's office of the county. The certificate was recorded on the sixth day of May, A. D. 1851.

The trustees elected by the male members of the congregation at this organization were Messrs. Wm. B. Houghton, M. M. Ransom, 0. Benedict, A. Zoller, L. 0. Gay, J. K. Chapman, L. W. Gray, A. Fuller and 0. Angel.

This society has still a corporate existence and hold divine service according to the rites of the Universalist church at Temperance hall, in the village of Little Falls.

The society has now a settled minister whose ministrations are well and regularly attended by a respectable congregation. If I may speculate upon such a subject, it is not improbable the members of this congregation will before long erect a church for their accommodation.

« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »