« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
The writer ought now to state, that his object has not required him to record the names of individuals except so far as they were officially and immediately connected with the work. It is due however to several gentlemen whose names do not occur in the preceding history, or which are only mentioned incidentally on account of their official relation to the enterprise, to remark, that they expended much time and labor, of which the public know nothing, without any other reward then what is enjoyed by a consciousness of duty to a great and patriotic work faithfully discharged. For example Hon. Nathaniel P. Russell rendered gratuitous service for twenty five years as the able and efficient Treasurer of the Association. The importance of his trust may be estimated from the fact, that more than $370,000 passed through his hands.
The Celebration in honor of the completion of the monument, June 17, 1843, which was similar in its arrangements to that which welcomed the commencement of the work in 1825 and scarcely less imposing, when the same eminent man, whose discourse had contributed so much to give dignity and distinction to the former occasion, was spared to crown by another of his matchless efforts the successful accomplishment of the enterprise, is the closing scene in the History of the Bunker Hill Monument.*
* Those who may be curious to know the details of the work on the Monument, the methods employed in quarrying, transporting and raising the stone, with the expense of the different experiments made during the progress of the work, will find their curiosity gratified by the Quarto Volunie, “Plans and Sections of the obelisk on Bunker Hill &c. by Solomon Willard, Boston 1843.” A more general statement may be found in a smaller volume; “ Bunker Hill Battle and Monument, Charlestown, 1843 ;” and also in the account of the Monument near the close of the “ History of the Siege of Boston," a valuable work from the hand of Richard Frothingham Jr. Esq, of Charlestown, published, Boston, 1849, which contains a summary of the receipts and expenditures on the work and an enumeration of the individuals whose services are specially acknowledged in the records of the Association
CONTRIBUTION TO THE
HISTORY OF BATH.
IN the Second Volume of the Collections of the Maine Historical Society is a History of Bath,” by Gen. Joseph Sewall. A relation is given in that paper of interesting events which have transpired in the territory now divided into Woolwich, Phippsburg, Georgetown and Bath. The article contains a somewhat imperfect account of the Ecclesiastical history of this territory, and the object of the present communication is to supply in a degree the deficiencies of that portion of the paper spoken off. The materials for what follows are drawn partly from sources not generally accessible, and partly from original papers.
“From 1752 until 1765,” says the writer of the History under notice, “the people were destitute of preaching.” In the latter year, it is stated, that a Congregational minister was settled, who continued till 1779. This is the amount of what is said as to the provision for religious teaching in that section during the time spoken of.
The departure of the Presbyterian Minister from Georgetown in 1752 left the whole of the territory from the Androscoggin to the St. Croix destitute of a clergyman of any denomination. Two years after this a Romish priest made his appearance among the settlers at Frankfort, (now Dresden.) He came from a place within the limits of the present city of Augusta,