« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
MAYORS OF THE CITY OF ALBANY.
The following are the names of the mayors of the city of Albany, from 1686 down to 1871, with the terms of service of each:
Peter Schuyler, 1686
Johannis Abeel, 1694
Evert Bancker, 1695
Derick Wessels, 1696
Hendrick Hanson, 1698
Peter Van Brugh, 1699
Jan Jans Bleecker 1700
Johannis Bleecker, 1701
Albert Ryckman, 1702
Johannis Schuyler 1708
David Schuyler, 1706
Evert Bancker 1707
Johannis Abeel 1709
Robert Livingston, Jr.,... 1710
Myndert Schuyler 1719
Peter Van Brugh 1721
Myndert Schuyler 1728
Johannis Cuyler, 1726
Rutger Bleecker, 1726
John De Peyster, 1729
Hans Hansen, 1731
John Do Peyster 1732
Edward Holland 1738
John Schuyler, 1741
Cornelius Cuyler, 1742
Dirck Ten Broeck "1746
Jacob C. Ten Eyck 1748
Robert Sanders 1750
Hans Hansen 1754
Svbrant G. Van Schaick,. 1756
Volkert P. Douw 1761
Abraham C. Cuyler 1770
John Barclay 1778
Abraham Ten Broeck, ... 1779
John Ja. Bookman, 1788 to 1786
John Lansing, Jr 1786 to 1790
Abraham Yates, Jr., 1790 to 1796
Abraham Ten Broeck, 1796 to 1799
Phil. S. Van Rensselaer,.. 1799 to 1816
Elislia Jenkins 1816 to 1819
Phil. 8. Van Rensselaer,.. 1819 to 1821
Charles E. Dudley 1821 to 1824
Ambrose Spencer 1824 to 1826
James Stevenson, 1826 to 1828
Charles E. Dudley, 1828 to 1829
John Townsend, 1829 to 1881
Francis Bloodgood, 1831 to 1832
John Townsend 1832 to 1838
Francis Bloodgood, 1833 to 1834
Erastus Corning 1834 to 1837
Tounis Van Vechton, 1837 to 1839
Jared L. Rathbono 1839 to 1841
Teunis Van Vechten, 1841 to 1842
Barent P. Stoats 1842 to 1843
Friend Humphrey, 1843 to 1'845
John Koyes Paige 1845 to 1846
William Parmaloe, 1846 to 1848
John Taylor 1848 to 1849
Friend Humphrey, 1849 to 1&50
Franklin Townsend, 1850 to 1851
Eli Perry 1851 to 1854
William Parmalee 1854 to 1856
Eli Perry, 1856 to 1860
George H. Thacher, 1860 to 1862
Eli Perry,' 1862 to 1866
George H. Thacher 1866 to 1868
Charles E. Bleecker 1868 to 1870
George H. Thacher, 1870 to 1871
Of these officers four survive, namely, Messrs. Corning, Perry, Thacher, and Bleecker.
Philip 8. Van Rensselaer held the office of mayor nineteen years, being the longest period that any person continued in the office.
Jared L. Rathbone was the first mayor elected by the people. Previous to his third term these officers were elected by the common council.
JDr. J. V. Quackenbush also claimed to have been mayor this year, the old board declaring for one candidate, and the new board for the other. Dr. Quackenbush was the acting mayor.
$}onw Hots of tije Village of ISebertogcfc.
In the preface to the Early Record) of the City and County of Albany, published in 1869, the translator made the following remark : "The identification of the village lots horo described is rondorod nearly impossible by the brevity and vagueness of the descriptions, the streets and lanes having been without names. A few lots have been located, others may be, perhaps, by a long and patient examination and comparison." When this was written he had no serious purpose of essaying so difficult a task, but soon after, whilo the subject was still fresh, was led as a matter of curiosity to test the truth of the foregoing remark, and after much puzzling and putting this and that together, there grew out of his studies the following diagrams and accompanying explanations. It will be seen that this attempted map of Beverwyck is confined in time to the earliest years of its settlement, and as to space to the limited territory within the palisades. Indeed this was pretty much all there was of Albany for many years after 1652, in which year Fort Orange ceased to be the centre of the embryo city, which thereafter clustered around the new church built at the junction of State street and Broadway.
Many conveyances of gardens and house lots around and within Fort Orange are registered in the county records, but none of them can now be located. The fort and the ancient streets there, have been completely obliterated.
The remark that the streets of Beverwyck had no names should be qualified: several had names, though seldom used in the early conveyances. The names of Broadway wore Cow, de breede, or Broad, the Lower, Handelaers, and Brewers streets; of Hudson, Spanish street; of Green south of Beaver, Esplanade or Plain street, and north of Beaver, the Voddemart or Rag market, and Cheapside; of Chapel, Berg street; of State, Yonkere street; of South Pearl, de Kleyne straat; and of Maiden Lane, Rom street. After the charter was granted in 1686, the place was divided into three wards: the first embraced all that part of the town south of State and Exchange streets; the second lay north of Stato and west of James streets; and the third contained that portion lying north of State and Exchange, and east of James streets.
In the absence of any map of the lots of those early times, this attempt to construct one is based mainly upon the descriptions found in the Albany County Records, the Patents in the Secretary of State's office, and Mr. Munsell s Annals of Albany. In most cases theso descriptions are brief and obscure; some are not only defective but false and contradictory, and capable of a correct interpretation by subsequent repeated conveyances of the same lots. It is not to bo supposed that this performance gives a complete picture of all the house lots in ancient Beverwyck ; several gaps in Broadway will bo found which no ingenuity of the compiler could fill, and several lots will be found so imperfectly described in the records, that ho has to confess his inability to locate them.
Much remains to be learned in this matter, by the patient student, in the later registers of deeds and mortgages, and it is to be hoped that some one who has leisure may pursue these researches and render more complete this imperfect attempt to illustrate the History of Ancient Albany. J. P.
Union College, 80 May, 1870.
State Street, south side, west of Pearl.
(1). 1734. Barent Sanders bought this lot of the city for £47
In 174*, Luykas Johannes Wyugaard petitions for a
(2). 1708. Gerrit Lnykasse Wyngaard bought eight feet of
In 1706, Evert Wendel owned this lot, to which was
(3). This lot from 1668 to 1674 was owned by Jochem
(4). 1668-74. Jochem Wesselse the baker owned this lot,
(5). 1669, this lot was patented to Myndert Harmense
(6). 1668. This lot was patented to David Pieteree Schuy-
(7). 1668. Patent for Stoffel Janse Abeel.—Alb. Co. Bee.,
(8). The original owner of this lot was Pieter Hangers,
(9). The original owner of the western portion of this lot
(10). 1671. Patented to Capt. Abram Staets; 1680, sold to
1792, it was owned by Shephard—Patents, 1098;
Deeds, in, 79; Alb. An., I, 284.
* An Alley, now South Pearl Street, 11 feet 0 in. wide in
State Street, south side, between South Pearl and Green Streets.
All the lots on the south side of State, and on the north side of Beaver street, east of Pearl street, until 1680, and perhaps later bounded upon the Ratten kil.
The first reference to Norton street found in the records 1b In Book of Deeds, vol. in, p. 78; in 1680, it was to be laid out as wide as the commissariseen shall see fit, and waa to be extended to Broadway.—See also Deed*, in, US. (1). In 1667 this lot was patented to Cornelia Steenwyck; 1680, Capt. Johannes Schuyler; 1792, Lewis: a portion was taken to widen South Pearl street.—Patents, 431; Deeds, m, 79; Alb. An. I, 384.
(3). 1667. Patented to Gooscn Gerritse Van Schaick; 1703, Anthony Sybrantse V. Schaick, his grandson.— Patents, 431; Alb. An., iv, 138.
The Voddcmarte, or GREEN STREET.