Gambar halaman

There are in the institutions of the State, according to the reports of the inspectors of the State Board of Charities, 101 children afflicted with deformity or some form of disability, which with proper treatment should have been relieved or cured. Many of them are subjects for the good offices of this hospital.

The managers state that their future work requires that the objects of the hospital, and the class of patients received and treated by it, should be known better throughout the State. At present the tendency is to send to the hospital the semiidiotic children, with the deformities of spastic paralysis and hemiplegia, whose condition, due to some brain lesion, is practically incurable. It does not seem to be known that patients with hip disease, spinal disease, white swelling, ankle-joint disease, club foot, knock knee, bowlegs, infantile paralysis and lateral curvature of the spine will be received and treated. These are all more or less curable, and with a few exceptions are eligible to the treatment of the hospital. All the patients received by the hospital need necessarily a prolonged treatment, sometimes for five or more years. These patients should receive mental instruction while under treatment, and to this end it is recommended that a competent teacher to undertake the industrial as well as the mental training of the children be employed at once. Ample school facilities are necessary, and ultimately an industrial school should be made an adjunct to the work.

The site of the hospital, while ample for the present needs, is not large enough to meet the demand of coming years. It will ultimately require a large tract of land, preferably among the Westchester hills, for a permanent site for its future buildings, and such buildings should be especially planned for hospital service. The Board recommends a maintenance appropri

ation of $15,000, or so much thereof as may be necessary, to this institution.


[Established 1900.]

By chapter 416 of the Laws of 1900 the Legislature established the New York State Hospital for the Treatment of Incipient Pulmonary Tuberculosis. This act requires the appointment by the Governor of five Trustees, whose duty it shall be to select a site for such hospital, and after the approval of such site by the State Board of Health and the Forest Preserve Board, to proceed with the construction and equipment of suitable buildings upon plans adopted by them and approved by the State Architect and the State Board of Charities as soon as the necessary appropriation is secured.

In accordance with the provisions of the statute the Governor appointed as trustees Howard Townsend and Walter Jennings, of New York; Dr. Willis G. Macdonald, Albany; Dr. John H. Pryor, Buffalo, and Dr. Frank E. Kendall, of Saranac Lake. Mr. Townsend was subsequently elected President of the board.

By chapter 691 of the Laws of 1901 the sum of $100,000, or so much thereof as may be necessary, was appropriated for the construction of all the necessary and suitable buildings for this institution whenever the site shall have been chosen. These buildings are to furnish accommodations for at least 100 patients, besides the officers, employes and attendants of said institution, and the appropriation is intended to provide for the heating, lighting, plumbing, laundry fixtures, and water supply, as well as for the construction of roads leading thereto, and for the


equipment and furnishing of the hospital with all the necessary fixtures, furniture and implements required for successful work.

At the close of the fiscal year for which this report is made no site had been selected by the Commission, composed of the Governor, the President pro tem. of the Senate, and the Speaker of the Assembly, intrusted with the location of the hospital. The one at Raybrook was, however, chosen before the assembling of the Legislature.

The State Board of Charities has no responsibility in connection with the location of the hospital. The duty of the Board begins with the approval of plans for the buildings. Until such plans are presented to the Board for approval, it is powerless to expedite the work of the hospital.


The following table gives the name and location of each institution in the State which is authorized by law to maintain and educate deaf pupils at public expense, and gives also the number and sex of the pupils in attendance October 1, 1901. All of the schools named receive both State and county pupils, the distinction being one of age and manner of compensation.



Female. Total.

New York Institution for the Instruction of the Deaf and Dumb,
One Hundred and Sixty-third street, New York.

[blocks in formation]

Le Conteulx St. Mary's Institution for the Improved Instruction of Deaf-Mutes, Buffalo

[blocks in formation]

St. Joseph's Institute for the the Improved Instruction of Deaf-

Institution for the Improved Instruction of Deaf-Mutes, Lexington avenue, New York....

[blocks in formation]
[blocks in formation]

Northern New York Institution for Deaf-Mutes, Malone.

[blocks in formation]

Albany Home School for the Oral Instruction of the Deaf, Albany

[blocks in formation]





The above statistics show an increase of 2 over the total number of pupils in school on September 30, 1900. Last year's report showed a loss of 9 over 1899. In the latter year the reported attendance was 1,571, which statistics show to be the maximum reached in this State. This was an increase of 274 over the number of pupils present on September 30, 1892 (1,297). In the preceding decade the attendance remained stationary, the remarkable fact being noted that the attendance on the same date in 1882 was also 1,297. This was in spite of a 20 per cent. increase in the population of the State from 1882 to 1892.

It is evident that the existing school accommodations for the deaf in this State are entirely inadequate; that the increase in their attendance has been much below the normal increase to be expected with the general growth of population. There are no available figures as to the number of teachable deaf of school age not under instruction, but it would seem that this is quite small. The total includes the feeble-minded and under-average deaf children, who should be specially taught in a school set apart for their exclusive care. This should preferably be one of the existing schools.

The several schools have been visited and inspected once in each quarter by the Board's Inspector of State Charitable Institutions. His work has covered only the management and care of the property and general treatment of the pupils, as this Board discontinued its examination of the educational work on the assumption of that work in 1900 by the Superintendent of Public Instruction.

It is found that the pupils continue to be well cared for in general respects, and that the equipment of each school, with one exception, is adequate to the demands upon it. This exception

is the Albany school, where, with a notable increase in attend. ance, the building is extremely crowded and is in many respects unsafe and unsuitable for the housing of children.

One matter concerning the welfare of the pupils deserves brief mention here. This Board recommended in 1895 that each school be equipped with a gymnasium suitably furnished for systematic physical instruction of its pupils. After five years it is noted with regret that but three schools have gymnasiums worthy of the name, and that in two only is there regular physical instruction.

Attention is called to the lack of uniformity in the bookkeeping systems of the several schools, and it is urged that the subject be given consideration with a view to securing the advantages of a common system in all.


During the year 1901 the Board approved the incorporation of the following named institutions, societies and associations, fifteen in number:

1. "The Servants of Relief for Incurable Cancer;" principal office, New York City. Formed for the "establishment of a free home for persons suffering from incurable cancer, and the care and nursing of such persons." Approved, January 24, 1901. 2.-" St. Faith's House;" principal office, Tarrytown. Formed for the " rescue of women and wayward girls through the agency of shelter, teaching and other means; the establishment and maintenance of a house where women may be received, cared for and treated during pregnancy or during or after delivery; the boarding or keeping them and their nursing children, educating and training them in religious teachings and exercises in accordance with the doctrine, discipline and worship of the Protestant Episcopal Church." Approved, February 28, 1901.

« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »