Gambar halaman

That sacred spot the village hind
With every sweetest turf shall bind,

And Peace protect the shade." Cambria has erected no public monument to his memory; but Cefn Digoll in its lofty encampment recalls the recollection of the brightness of Madoc's glory, when he shone and vanished away like a meteor. We appreciate his patriotism, admire his exploits, and regret their disastrous issue.

Victrix causa Deis placuit, sed victa Catoni.

[blocks in formation]
[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small]


Mont. ('oll., Vol. viii.,

to face page 63,



THIs interesting relic, almost the only one of the sort relating to this Abbey which is known to be extant, has been lately presented to the Powys-land Museum and Library, by T. B. Barrett, Esq., of Welshpool, who has possessed it for the last twenty years. It was given him by Mrs. Richard Goolden, who was the youngest daughter of Mr. Edward Bryan, who formerly lived at the Wern, near Pool Quay. The ring was found on part of the farm which Mr. Bryan rented from the Earl of Powis, and which was called the Byetack. Upon it stands a barn which is reputed to be the site of the barn of the Abbey of Strata Marcella, and is called the Abbey Barn. The Abbey was situated on the banks of the river Severn, about one and a half miles from Welshpool, and near to and on the south side of the road from that town to Oswestry. The site, although all vestiges of the Abbey buildings have disappeared, is marked by being called the Abbey Bank. The Abbey barn is situate on the northern side of the turnpike-road and of the canal (both of which meet at this spot), and a few hundred yards distant from the site of the Abbey. No further particulars of the finding of the of have been preserved.

The ring, of which we give an illustration, is of brass, and belongs to the class of religious trinketry of which there are not wanting examples in gold, silver, white metal, and brass.

The use of Decade-rings, as substitutes for the rosary, and hence frequently denominated “ Rings,” can, it is said, be traced back to the close of the fifteenth century, and some have attributed them to even an earlier period; and they continue to be made up to the present day. Some of the earliest examples of these rings have the tens marked by little straight bars projecting from the hoops like the cogs of a wheel. In the Gentleman's Magazine, vol. lxii, (1792), p. 612, p. 3, fig. 7, is engraved a Decade-ring of circa 1500, ound near Croyland Abbey, which has the exterior of the hoops fashioned into ten bosses, and the octagon bezel displaying the Crucifixion with attendant figures. Decade-rings of a little later date have the tens distinguished by bosses set some distance apart, and which gradually decreased in size and prominence as time went on. The bezels of the Decade-rings served the purpose of Gaudes for the Paternoster, and are variously decorated. Among other devices met with is the sacred monogram, sometimes composed of the Greek letters, XP, at others of the Latin I.H.S. The Crucifixion, and the emblems of the Crucifixion, seem to have been favourite subjects, and a goodly number of Decade-rings are embellished with a simple cross,' as shown on the bezel of the Strata Marcella specimen. This seems a good example, but they are usually of silver. They would be inconvenient to wear on the finger, and were probably carried in the jacket, as some are quite flat and of a very large size. A similar Decade-ring was exhibited by Mr. Baker of Stamford, at a meeting of the Archaeological Institute in 1850 (Archaeological Journal, vol. vii, p. 196). It was of silver and found at Exton, in Rutlandshire. It is described as a Decade-ring, with ten knobs, and a central projection engraved with a cross, which seems to exactly coincide with the ring found at Strata Marcella.

[ocr errors]
« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »