The A to Z of the United Nations

Sampul Depan
Scarecrow Press, 29 Jul 2009 - 696 halaman
0 Resensi
Consisting of 192 Member States, the United Nations was founded in 1945 to maintain international peace and security; to develop friendly relations among nations based on the respect for the principle of equal rights and self-determination of peoples; to achieve international cooperation in solving problems of an economic, social, cultural, or humanitarian character; and encouraging respect for human rights and for fundamental freedoms for all without distinction as to race, sex, language, or religion. Just how successful the UN has been in maintaining these goals is covered in The A to Z of the United Nations. Author Jacques Fomerand provides a comprehensive dictionary of nearly 900 cross-referenced entries on the UN's various committees and organizations, its leaders, terms, policies, and major events in which the UN took part. Supplementing the dictionary entries are a chronology, an introduction, a bibliography, and appendixes, which include a reproduction of the UN's Charter and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, as well as a list of the Member States and when they joined.

Apa yang dikatakan orang - Tulis resensi

Historical dictionary of the United Nations

Ulasan Pengguna  - Not Available - Book Verdict

At more than triple the length of its 1995 predecessor, this volume by Fomerand-a recognized expert on the UN who directed the United Nations University Office in North America and is currently a ... Baca ulasan lengkap

Edisi yang lain - Lihat semua

Tentang pengarang (2009)

Jacques Fomerand is professor at John Jay College of the City University of New York and the former director of the United Nations University Office in North America.

Informasi bibliografi