« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
experienced religion. Feeling called of God to the ministry, he entered the Academy of Monson, Mass., from whence he went to Amherst College, graduating in 1830. He then entered Princeton Theological Seminary, and there successfully pursued the study of theology, after which he entered upon his labors in this place. Being called to Boston, he left Shelter Island in 1834 to become the pastor of the Mariners' Church in that New England city. There he labored most successfully for thirteen years, until forced to retire in order to recuperate his health. While laboring there he was instrumental in converting, among many others, the Rev. Mr. Jones, who afterwards became the noted chaplain of Sailors' Snug Harbor. This Mr. Jones was a sailor. One day he was sent by his captain over the side of the ship to do some painting. It was an exceedingly stormy day, the sea was so rough that no boat could have been lowered safely into it. As he was painting he all at once looked up and saw to his amazement that two of the strands of the rope that held the scaffold were cut, and that what supported him was the remaining strand. His blood ran cold. Horror came over him, and the thought that arose in his mind prompted the question, “Jones, if that strand had broken where would you have been?" And a voice that seemed to be plainly heard made answer, “Jones, you'd have been in hell!" It rang through his ears and kept ringing. He could not get rid of it until he had made his peace with God. He devoted his life to his Savior's service with the above noted success. And now in the starry diadem of Brother Lord in glory one gem shines with conspicuous brilliancy. It represents the conversion of Rev. Mr. Jones, in which Rev. Mr. Lord was chiefly instrumental. “For that one service alone,” said the Rev. Dr. Theodore L. Cuyler to me, “the memory of Mr. Lord will continue blessed.” One hundred and thirty-three persons united with this church during his third period of ministry to this church. At the close of the revival of 1856 the church had to be enlarged in order to accommodate the people. This was accomplished in 1858 by the addition of fifteen feet to the length of the building on the north end, which gave room for twenty-eight more pews in the body of the church. At the same time the belfry was added, giving a much more churchly appearance to the building. These improvements were under the care of Martin L. Prince, George G. Penny and Marcellus D. Loper, who were appointed a building committee for the purpose of effecting these improvements at the annual parish meeting held June 15th, 1858. The whole involved an outlay of about one thousand five hundred dollars. Upon its completion the enlarged and improved sanctuary was rededicated by Mr. Lord to the service and glory of God.
Mr. Lord was twice married, his first wife being Miss Brown, whose mother, Mrs. Hannah P. Brown, was the author of that noted hymn, “I love to steal awhile away.” Miss Brown lived but a short time after her marriage to Mr. Lord. During his pastorate in Boston Mr. Lord married again a Miss Eliza A. Hardy, of Chatham, Mass., by whom he had seven children. The mother was still living with all her children when we began the preparation of these papers. Two of the sons of Mr. Lord entered the ministry, a third became a prominent business man in Chicago, while two of the daughters are successfully maintaining a new educational enterprise in this State.
Mr. Lord was succeeded by the Rev. Charles H. Holloway, who was invited to act as stated supply for one year. He accepted and began his labors in September, 1861. He continued in this relation until February, 1863, when he was duly installed by Presbytery as pastor. In this relation he continued until Aug. 2d, 1864, when his pastoral relation was dissolved by his own request. Mr. Holloway possessed great literary ability, and while the equal of his predecessor in this respect did not possess that personal magnetism of Mr. Lord, and so failed to meet the expectations of some of the congregation. By those who knew him his memory is still cherished with affection. He is still living and cherishes most highly the three years of labor he was permitted to engage in here.
It was during his connection with this church that the present parsonage was built, and thus he and his family were the first to occupy it. Previous to this the parsonage was the house now owned and occupied by Mr. Edward P. Baldwin and family, and as such was in turn the home of the Rev. Randolph Campbell, Rev. William Ingmire and the Rev. Anson Sheldon and their families while these clergymen served the Society. The use of it was likewise included in the salary of the Rev. Daniel M. Lord. He, however, did not reside there, having his own home in Menantic, where Mr. Henry Walther now lives, and of which he is the worthy owner. The first parsonage owned by the parish was bought about 1834 with part of the legacy that Mr. Benjamin Conkling bequeathed to the church. It remained in the possession of the church until Mr. Smith Baldwin bought it about 1850. The Rev. Daniel Hall, who organized the church in 1808, and who lived and labored on this island from 1805 to the day of his death in 1812, made his home in the house now owned and occupied by Mr. Charles W. Jennings, while the very first minister to live and labor among the people of this community, the Rev. William Adams, had his home in the mansion of Brinley Sylvester, Esq. These then have been the various homes of God's servants who lived on this island while they labored here. Rev. Ezra Youngs made his home in Greenport, and the Rev. Jonathan Huntting in Southold while they served this Society.
The successor of Rev. Mr. Holloway was the Rev. Thomas H. Harries, who came for the first time to this island on Saturday, Nov. 19th, 1864, in order to supply the pulpit the following day. He did this with such acceptance that five weeks later he again occupied the sacred desk. The day was Christmas. In harmony with the spirit of that glad day this church gave Mr. Harries a call to preach for one year, at a salary of seven hundred dollars. The invitation was accepted and he began his labors with the first Sunday of the new year. Two months had hardly passed by when his services, having proved so acceptable to the people, he was unanimously requested to become their pastor at the increased salary of seven hundred and fifty dollars, together with the use of the parsonage. The call was presented to Presbytery at its spring meeting. Presbytery placed it in the hands of Rev. Mr. Harries, who, having considered it earnestly and prayerfully, accepted the same. Arrangements were made for his installation, and on the evening of the 8th of June, 1865, he was duly inducted into the pastoral office of this church by the following clergy: the Rev. Clark Lockwood, who conducted the opening exercises; the Rev. James T. Hamlin, who preached the sermon and proposed the constitutional questions; the Rev. Edward Stratton, who delivered the charge to the pastor; the Rev. Dr. Epher Whitaker, who charged the people, and the Rev. Mr. Knouse, who offered the concluding prayer, the benediction being pronounced by the newly installed pastor. Rev. Mr. Harries was the third person to be thus placed by Presbytery over this church, and in that pastoral relation he continued to serve the longest of all, a continuous service of nineteen years, and then only brought to a close because of his failing health, which necessitated his retirement in 1884. He proved himself an able and efficient workman in the vineyard of the Lord. He too was used of God to the conversion of many souls. Like Mr. Lord's, his ministry was also attended with revival power and seasons of refreshing. More than two hundred persons were added to the church during his ministry. He greatly endeared himself to this people, and when in the providence of God he was forced to resign, through ill health, it was not without deep regrets that this church parted with him who had so faithfully, so ably and so long served them in the holy office of pastor. What he was, both as a man and brother beloved in Christ, and as a bishop of souls, is best expressed by the following resolutions unanimously adopted by the church at the close of his pastorate:
"Whereas, Our pastor, the Rev. Thomas Harries, on account of ill health, has felt it necessary to tender his resignation as pastor of this church; and
"Whereas, We deplore the circumstances which seem to make it necessary for us to sever the pastoral relation with feelings of heartfelt sadness;
“Resolved, That the twenty years of faithful service rendered by him to this parish have been greatly blessed in upbuilding our church, increasing its membership and creating feelings of Christian fellowship and good will;
"Resolved, That for his ministering to the temporal wants of the poor and the spiritual needs of all, for the tender solicitude and earnest sympathy which always brought him to the bedside of the sick and dying, and for his exertions to ameliorate the condition of suffering humanity at all times and under all circumstances, the members of this parish and the people of this island owe him a debt of gratitude which they can never repay;
"Resolved, That in parting our kindest wishes will ever attend him as one worthy of our full confidence and highest esteem.'
Upon leaving Shelter Island Mr. Harries took up his residence in the city of Brooklyn, N. Y., where he passed the remaining days of his earthly life. He fell asleep in Jesus August 4th, 1888, aged seventy-five years. He was born in Wales on the 23d of February, 1813, and came to America when a boy. At first he worked in a large printing house, Henry R. Pitney being his employer. Here he soon, by his zeal, intelligence and attention to business, became his employer's chief man at the early age of twenty-one. It was while thus engaged that he felt called to the gospel ministry and decided to enter the same. Relinquishing his bright business prospects he began his theological studies, at the same time preaching where he had opportunity. And thus he continued until he was twenty-four years of age, when in the month of April, 1837, he was ordained and entered upon the full ministry of the gospel. For the next two or three years he was mainly engaged as an evangelist, after which he became the pastor of Upper Aquebogue Congregational Church, and continued so for a number of years.
Receiving a call from the Mount Sinai Congregational Church he moved to Miller's Place to enter upon the duties of that office. While occupying the pastoral office to the Mount Sinai Church he was largely instrumental in the establishment of Miller's Place Academy, and for over ten years carried it on with advantage to himself and great usefulness to others. From Miller's Place he went to Northville about the beginning of the Civil War to become the min