Gambar halaman

THE THEATRE was opened this season with additional new scenery, decorationis, &c., together with a new and splendid drop curtain, not surpassed by any other in the union. The establishment has, for the last four years, been under the management of the Lessees, Messrs. Dean & M'Kinney, who always engage actors celebrated for their talents and respectability, and produce such novel. ties as merit the attention of a discerning public. The present building being found too small for this city, a new one is now being built on the same street, nearly opposite the Washington House, which, when finished, will rank with the principal public buildings in western América. This extensive building is three hundred feet long, and seventy feet broad, and will cost about twenty-five thou. sand dollars.

CLINTON PARK AND ITS ENVIRONS, situated half a milo from the court-house, on the bank of Lake Erie-which although a wilderness of unsightly stumps and girdled trees two years ago, is already encircled with some subur. ban villas embosomed in gardens of the most picturesque beauty: The Park itself is about thirty rods in length and occupies the space between Wilson street and Lake street. It is intended to be laid out in the landscape style of gar. dening, comprising lawns, shrubbery, ornamental trees and flowers, which with tha. Mineral Spring adjacent, will be open to the public.

THE SPRING COTTAGE AND BATHING ESTABLISHMENT is situated at the Park, and contains commodious warm, cold and shower Baths and refreshment rooms, to · which there is a handsome pleasure garden attached. The whole has been fitted up with much skill and taste by Mr. Wil. liam R. Richardson; and is decidedly a summer retreat from the bustle and cares of business, of no ordinary character, combining utility and gratification with pleasure. Mr. Richardson has just commenced running an omnibus be. tween the business part of the city and the baths. This vehicle, we understant, is to leave Cleveland every hour for the accommodation of persons visiting the baths.

The neighboraood of Cleveland abounds with walks and rides affording extensive and beautiful prospects. And the facilities for aquatic excursions are afforded in every variety.

THE WILLEY GARDENS in the vicinity contain about twenty-five acres of land, laid out with considerable skill, for the purpose of growing every description of vegetables necessary for the Cleveland market. These gardens have been leased from the Rev. E. F. Willey, by the present oc. cupants, Messrs. Thompson & Ward.

N. PERRY, Esq. has just laid out a fine street from St. Clair st. to, Euclid road, and contemplates devoting ten acres opposite W. Rogers' delightful villa .as city gardens, for the culture and sale of ornamental shrubs, flowers and greenhouse plants. Indeed the improvements commenced in this vicinity are of such a character as must prove strong inducements for the location of those who prefer a healthy and respectable neighbourhood to the close pent lots of business precincts.

The CLEVELAND READING Room AssociATION was formed by the voluntary subscriptions of a number of gentlemen, in the fall of 1835. The object of the Association, as expressed in their articles, is, to furnish Reviews, Pam. phlets and Newspapers from different parts of the coun. try, on all topics of general interest to the communityThe institution went immediately into operation, with about two hundred subscribers, and furnished during the first year of its existence to the reading community, the printipal daily papers from the Eastern, Western and Southern cities ; at least two papers of different politics, from every state and territory in the Union-together with a large number of periodicals, quarterly, monthly, and weekly, both of our own country and Great Britain. The institution is now in the second year of its existence, and the object of its directors has been to carry on the same general plan. The Reading Room is open daily, and is lighted and open in the evening until ten o'clock. There

are two rooms, one of which is devoted to papers, the oth. er to reviews and periodicals. Strangers are introduced for thirty days by members of the Association,

Young Men's LITERARY ASSOCIATION, organized No. vember, 1836, and consists at present of a library which contains about 800 volumes and periodical works. The books and periodicals are drawn from the Reading Room on Wednesday and Saturday evenings.

Rooms, 3d story Commercial Buildings.

CLEVELAND LYCEUM, Phænix Buildings—Incorporated by act of the General Assembly of the State of Ohio, the 12th day of February, 1833. . Whole number of members now belonging to the Society, are 110.

CLEVELAND City TEMPERANCE SOCIETY was formed (on the tetotal plan,) on the 15th March, 1836. A num. ber of Societies were in existence previous to, and at the time this was started, but this may now be said to be the only one that shows any considerable signs of life.

The constitution provides for the annual meeting of the Society, on the first Tuesday in June--for the quarterly meeting, and for the monthly meeting of the Board of Di. rectors.

The Board of Directors consists of all the regular offi. cers of the Society, and of eight Managers.

THE CLEVELAND MATERNAL ASSOCIATION was formed in January, 1835. It is composed of benevolent ladies who are the parents or guardians of children, and have united together for the purpose of providing for the religious education of the children under their care.

The number connected with the association at present, is 26 mothers and 90 children.

CLEVELAND HARMONIC SOCIETY-organized in 1835. Consists at present of seven amateur instrumental per. formers.

CLEVELAND MOZART SOCIETY-organized April, 1837. Its object is the promotion of Musical Science and the

cultivation of a refined taste in its members, and in the community.

THE GERMAN SOCIETY OF CLEVELAND 'Was organized on the 22d of February, 1836. Its objects are benevolence and the diffusion of useful knowledge among its members. The officers of the society consist of a President, Sccreta. ry, Treasurer, and a committee of six, and its members number about fifty.

THE CLEVELAND FREE SCHOOL is kept in the basement story of the Bethel church; it was established in March, 1830, for the education of male and female children of every religious denomination, and is supported by the city. The average number of pupils in attendance may be stated at ninety males and forty-six females.

NEWSPAPHRS.--Four papers are published in this city. The oldest is the Daily Herald and Gazette, (originally styled the “Herald,”) issued by Messrs. F. Whittlesey & J. A. Harris, editors and proprietors--James Hull, printer. The weekly Herald and Gazette is published at the same office, and are republications of the Daily. They are Whig in politics.

The Cleveland Daily Advertiser is next in succession ; Messrs. Canfield and Spencer editors and proprietors. A weekly made up from the Daily, is published by the same gentlemen. Democratic iti politics.

These papers are managed with adınirable editorial tact, and have large subscription lists.

The third, devoted to the promulgation of the Presby. terian creed, and is called the Cleveland Journal. It is published by Messrs. John M. Sterling, Samuel C. Aikin and A. Penfield, and edited by the Rev. 0. P. Hoyt F. B. Penniman, printer.

The fourth is the Cleveland Liberalist, published weekly by Messrs. Underhill & Son, and edited by Dr. Samuel Únderhili.

BANKS.—There are two Banks in the city, possess. ing in an eminent degrce, the confidence of the people

in regard to soundness and stability, and are no doubt worthy of the high character they sustain, being conduct. ed by men of prudence and financial ability.

The Commercial Bank of Lake Erie is the oldest insti. tution of the kind in the place. Capital $500,000 00.

The Bank of Cleveland has a capital of $300,000 00.

MANUFACTORIES. –There are four very extensive Iron Foundries and Steam Engine manufactories in this city; also, three soap and candle manufactories, two breweries, one sash factory, two rope walks, one stone ware pottery, two carriage manufactories, and two French Burr millstone manufactories, all of which are in full operation.

The Flouring Mill now being erected by Mr. Ford, will, when finished, be the largest and most complete establish. ment of the kind in the state of Ohio.

CLEVELAND CENTRE DRAW BRIDGE.-This bridge, which may be classed among the most superior structures of the kind in the state of Ohio, crosses the Cuyahoga ri. ver at the most southern extremity of Cleveland Centre, connecting Columbus' street with Ohio City. It was erect. ed in 1834–35, by our liberal and enterprising fellow. citizen, James S. Clark, Esq. and others, at an expense of fifteen thousand dollars. It is supported by a stone but. ment on either shore, and piers of solid masonry erected in the centre of the river. . Between the piers there is a draw sufficient to admit vessels of forty-nine feet beam to pass through. The length of the bridge is two hundred feet; brcadih, including sidewalks, thirty-three feet, and the height of the picrs above the surface of the water may be estimated at twenty-four feet. The whole, which with the exception of the draw, is roofed and enclosed, presents an imposing appearance and reflects much credit on the archi. tect, Mr. Nathan Hunt.

This splendid bridge was presented to the corporation of Cleveland by the owners, on the express stipulation that it should for ever remain free for the accommodation of the public, although the Legislature had previously chartered it as a Toll Bridge.

« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »