« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
There are eight congregations of Christians in the city of Cleveland, viz: one Episcopal, two Presbyterians, one Baptist, one Catholic, one Episcopal Methodist, one Reformed Methodist, and one German Protestant.
THE FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH stands on the north side of the public' square, at the intersection of Ontario street. It is a substantial edifice, built of gray sand stone, rough hammered. The size of the building is fifty-five by eighty feet, finished in the Tuscan order of architecture, with a bell section and dome. The front is divided with antæs or pilasters composed of cut stone, with a flight of spacious stone steps to its main entrance. The entabla. ture is plain, yet tasteful and commanding. The inte. terior is finished, on the first floor with pews, eighty-four in number; a ful gallery, which is suspended from the ceiling by iron rods ; the ceiling eliptical, the whole finish is plain, but very imposing, and reflects much credit on the society as well as the architect.
This Church was organized Sept. 19,1820, by the Rev's. Messrs. William Hanford and Randolph Stone, consisting of fifteen members. At the formation," it was voted, that this church be under the watch and care of the Portage Presbytery.” The mode of internal government was left for future consideration and determination.
The Rev. R. Stone was the first minister employed by the church and congregation. He preached one third of the time for a year, ending April, 1821. On the first Sabbath of January, 1822, the Rev. William M'Lean commenced his pastoral labors, having been employed for three fourths of the time, during one year. He closed his labors in January, 1823. In Sept. following, the Rev. Stephen I. Bradstreet, (recently deceased,) was en. gaged to become the minister of the church and congre. gation, one half of the time, for a year. Mr. B. contin.
ued his ministerial duties until January 24th, 1830, a pe. riod of between six and seven years.
The Rev. John Sissor was employed in June following. His labors, however, were brief, and the church was with. out a stated minister, until July 10th, 1831, when the Rev. Samuel Hutchings commenced his labors in this church and congregation. Mr. H. closed his labors preparatory to going as a Missionary to the Island of Ceylon, in the autumn of 1832. The Stono Chụrch, a commodious house of worship, was commenced this year. The church and congregation were endeavoring through the summer of 1833, to obtain a pastor; and having invited the Rev. Joho Keep of Homer, N. Y., he commenced his pastoral services, Sabbath, Dec. 1st, 1833. The house was com: pleted and dedicated Feb. 26, 1834. In Dec. of the same year, a number of the members of the church were dismissed, at their own request, to unite in the formation of a church in Brooklyn, (now Ohio city.)
Mr. Keep closed his ministerial labors on the 26th April, 1835-a period of one year and five months. In the win. ter of 1835, the church and congregation gave a unan. imous call to the Rev. Samuel C. Aikin, of the first Pres. byterian church in Utica, N. Y. It was accepted, and Mr. Aikio removed to this city, and commenced his labors on the 7th June, (Sabbath,) 1835, and was installed pastor of the church and congregation on the 24th Nov. following.
Mr. Aikin is a native of Vermont, and a graduate of Middlebury College. He pursued his theological course at Andover, and was the pastor of the first Presbyterian church in Utica, 17 years, from whence he was called to this place.
The Bethel Church in Cleveland, was formed in the fall of 1835, mostly of members from this church; and on the 26th February, 1837, a second church was organized from this church and congregation. The present number of communicants, is about 240, and the congregation is large, and apparently limited only by the capacity of the house, which it is believed, is sufficiently spacious for one congregation.
THE SECOND PRESBYTERIAN congregation will hold Divinc service in a large room over the City Council Room, until the completion of their new Church, which is now being erected.
The First ÉPISCOPAL CHURCH stands on the corner of Scneca and St. Clair streets. It is a handsome frame building, constructed in the Gothic order, measures seventy by forty feet, and is finished with a bell section and four Gothic points ar spires.
This Church was composed of inhabitants of Cleveland and Brooklyn, and was organized in 1816, and the Rev. Roger Searle was elected Rector. The services were not held regularly for several of the first years.
In 1828. the society was incorporated by the name of Trinity Church and during that year the present church edifice was commenced, and was completed in August, 1829.
TAE BAPTIST CHURCH is situated on Seneca and Cham. plain streets; its location being admirable and command. ing--presenting a fine appearance from the Lake and tho surrounding country. It is built of brick, size eighty by fifty-five foet, with a spacious basement through which is the main entrancc. It contains the town clock and a heavy bell—the whole crowned with a lofty spire one hun. dred and fifty feet high. Its order of architecture is Tus.
The internal finish is plain but truly magnificentfinished in the Grecian Dorick order, with a full gallery suspended from the ceiling with iron rods. . The first floor is divided by three broad aisles, and subdivided into one hundred and twelve slips.
This.Church was constituted on the third Saturday in February, 1833, with eighteen members. The number of: communicants at present is two hundred, eighty of whom were added within the last year. The Rev. Levi. Tucker is the present minister.
THE BETHEL CHURCH, situated at the corner of Dia. mond street, is a neat frame building measuring forty by
thirty feet. It was built by a subscription raised princi. pally among the liberal inhabitants of this city and its vi. cinity. The first chaplain employed in this church was the Rev. D. C. Blood. The present minister is the Rev. V.D. Taylor, and the average number of persons attending public worship may be stated at one hundred.
CATHOLICS.--The Catholics, although forming a con. gregation of about one thousand souls, have as yet no church in this city,
The late Rev. Mr. Dillon fitted up a small chapel in Shakspeare Hall, on Superior Lane, about two years ago. In this chapel the congregation consisting of Irish, English, Scotch, Americans, Germans, and French worshipped God until the death of Mr. Dillon, which took place sometime in September last. Since then there has been no Catholic priest in Cleveland.
The Rev. Mr. Dillon was a young man of profound eru. dition, possessing in an eminent degree all the qualifica. tions necessary for the Christian minister, and as such was beloved by his flock, and universally esteemed by his fellow citizens of every religious denomination. Through his benevolent exertions the sum of one thousand dollars was raised towards erecting a church, which sum is now in the hands of the Treasurer for that purpose.
Since writing the above, we learn that the Rt. Rev. Dr. Purcell, Bishop of Cincinnati, is expected in this place in a few days to make arrangements for the erection of a splen. did church for his flock in Cleveland and Ohio City.
GERMAN.—The German Protestants of Cleveland, havo Divine service every Sunday in the building occupied as a Female Seminary, on St. Clair street. The number of communicants may be estimated at about four hundred, Datives of the Vaterland. The Rev. William Steinmeier is their present pastor.
METHODIST.--Both congregations of Methodists are now erecting large and substantial brick churches, which they expect to finish this summer. At present, these denomina. tionis hold Divine service in the Court House.
COURT-HOUSE-JAIL-CITY HOSPITAL MARKETS. 45 THE COURT House stands on an eminence in the public square. It is a brick building, two stories high; the front is ornamented with stone antæs or pilasters of the Dorick order, supporting a Dorick entablature ; the whole is crown. ed with an Ionic belfry and dome. On the ground floor are the departments for county officers. The court room is on the second floor. This building was erected in 1810, at an expense of eight thousand dollars.
THE CUYAHOGA COUNTY PRISON is a stone building of two stories, situated on Champlain street, convenient to the rear of the court house. The criminal cells, three in num. ber, are on the ground floor, and in the second story are apartments for debtors. One end of the building is neatly fitted up for the residence and office of the deputy sheriff, Mr. H. N. Wilbur, who is also keeper of the Jail, and who decidedly deserves much credit for the cleanliness and good discipline observed within its walls.
THE CITY HOSPITAL is situated upon Clinton street, in the easterly part of the city and upon the most elevated ground in it. The grounds connected with the hospital are about four acres, and consist of part of the land pur. chased at the public expense and occupied as a public ce. metry. The hospital buildings at present consist of one structure about seventy by thirty feet and two stories high, fronting easterly. Its internal organization is well suited for the accommodation of its inmates, and its apartments kept in a manner creditable to the city.
The hospital is under the control of the Board of Health -consisting of the Mayor and three members of the city council, chosen from that body annually. The officers of the hospital appointed by the Board of Health, are, a Su. perintendant, a Hospital Physician, and a Hospital Warden, each of whom have a fixed salary. The expenses of the institution are paid from the current revenue of the city, and for the present year are estimated at from four to five thousand dollars.
MARKETS.—There are four public markets in this city, kept in good order and supplied with every article that can be desired at similar places.