« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
OHIO CITY is pleasantly situated on the west side of the Cuyahoga river, on a site of commanding eminence, and directly opposite the city of Cleveland. The original name of the place was Brooklyn, but on the 3d of March, 1836, the Legislature passed an act incorporating it as a city, under its present name. It consists of several good streets, the houses of which are well built.
There are four places of public worship in Ohio City, viz: an Episcopal, a Presbyterian, a Baptist, and a Meth. odist.
The Episcopal Church, which is not yet finished, is built of hammered stone, and has a lofty steeple. Its style of architecture is Gothic, resembling that of the an: cient and venerable Cathedral. This building, when fin. ished, will be one of the best of the kind in the western country, and may be considered as an ornament to the young city.
The present Presbyterian Church, which is a plain frame building, is found too small for the accommodations of the congregation; but arrangements are making for the erec. tion of a new and more spacious edifice.
The Ohio City Exchange stands on an elevated site at the corners of Main and Centre streets. It is a magnifi. cent brick building of five stories, crowned with a noble dome—and having splendid balconies in front, supported by pillars of the Ionic order.
Ohio City supports two district, and one free school, which are conducted in a manner that reflects credit on
Among the principal manufactories of the place may be mentioned the Cuyahoga Steam Furnace, the Salæratus manufactory, the Steam-Boiler factory, and the Glue man. ufactory.
The CUYAHOGA STEAM FURNACE, situate on River st. corner of Washington st. was incorporated in 1834, for the manufacture of cast and wrought iron work, adapt. ed to the wants of the country. Capital $100,000—three fourths of which is paid in. Josiah Barber, Richard Lord, John W. Allen, and Charles Hoyt, are the principal stock. holders. The old establishment was burned to the ground in the spring of 1834, soon after the incorporation ; since which time the present substantial brick structure, of 235 feet front, with a wing of 90 feet deep, has been erected for the different branches of the business ; and is calcula. ted to give employment to upwards of 100 workmen. The amount of castings turned off during the past year exceeded 500 tons, besides a great quantity of wrought iron work, &c. giving employment to seventy men.
Owing to the rapid developement of the agricultural re. sources of this and the western states, requiring increased facilities for the erection of saw and flouring mills, the at. tention of the company has been chiefly gived to improved geering and wrought iron work for them; and have fur. nished the greater proportion of the better class of mills in this region with their.irons.
The establishment is under the control of Mr. Charles Hoyt, who has acquired a reputation for its manufacture that will compete with any other of the kind in the country.
The pig metal used here is chiefly obtained from a blast furnace at Dover (12 iniles west,) belonging to the same concern, and is equal in quality to the best Scotch pig.
There are several extensive forwarding and commission houses in Ohio city; and the stores, which are numerous, are well stacked with every article in their line.
Thire is also a printing establishment in this place, from which are issued a weekly
, journal, entitled the " Ohio City Argus," and a monthly periodical entitled the “Moth. ers and Young Ladies' Guide.”
The number of houses within the limits of the city may be estimated at 370, and the population we believe amounts to upwards of 2400.
The municipal government is vested in a Mayor, twelve Councilmen, a Recorder, Marshal and City Treasurer.
H. N. Ward, S. W. Sayles,
Norman C. Baldwin, H. N. Barstow,
William Burton, Josiah Barber,
Edward Concklin, Edward Bronson,
C. E. Hill,