« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
WARD, SOUTHERLAND & CO.,
(Successors to M. Ward, Close & Co.) MONTAGNIE WARD, 'J. P. SOUTHERLAND, J. M. PARK E R. Warehouse, 128 and 130 William Street, near Fulton St.,
NEW YORK. The founder of this house was the well-known New York merchant, Mr. John M. ROBINSON, who commenced as a wholesale Druggist, in Broad Street, New York, in the year 1825. He subsequently removed to 141 Maiden Lane, where the firm name was changed to "ROBINSON & CORNELL,” and thus remained until 1837, when Mr. CORNELL retired, and Mr. MONTAGNIE WARD, the present head of the establishment, took his place, the firm style then becoming “ROBINSON & WARD."
The transactions of the firm continued steadily to increase in magnitude and popularity with the trade, until 1843, when Mr. ROBINSON died, and Mr. WARD continued the business of the establishment under his own name. About the year 1849, Mr. WARD took in one of his clerks, Mr. CHARLES H. CLOSE, as partner, the name of the firm changing to “M. WARD & Co.” In 1855, Messrs. J. P. SOUTHERLAND and James M. PARKER, who had also been clerks of Mr. WARD, and possessed a thorough, practical knowledge of the business, became partners, under the firm style of “M. WARD, CLOSE & Co.”
It is a fact, creditable alike to Mr. WARD and his partners, that they who were so long his clerks, have become his associates in the conduct of his large and prosperous business. It is an evidence of mutual confidence and esteem, which illustrates the trustworthy character of the house.
The Warehouse, at 128 and 130 William Street, consists of four stories, besides basement and sub-cellar, and employs from fifty to sixty persons in all capacities, exclusive of many auxiliary operatives outside of the premises. The annual sales of the house reach nearly $1,500,000. The firm import direct, and very largely, from nearly all parts of the world ; but the sales of the house are confined principally to the United States, and to the wholesale trade. The house possesses the advantage of having active and experienced correspondents resident in foreign parts, from whence are continually received fresh supplies of all such drugs, &c., pertaining to the business, as are grown or manufactured in distant countries.
C. G. Gunther & Sons,
502 & 504 BROADWAY,
Fur Dealers & Furriers,
Manufacturers and Shippers
RAW FURS AND SKINS.
The Oldest and Largest Fur House in the United States, Established at No. 46 Maiden Lane, 1820, by CHRISTIAN G. GUNTHER, and, after forty-six years permanent location, removed to their present large Store.
Sullivan, Randolph & Budd,
IMPORTERS AND COMMISSION MERCHANTS.
WOOLENS AND GOODS FOR MEN'S WEAR.
80 & 82 WHITE STREET.
This is the oldest Cloth House in the United States now in existence, being successors to the firm of Wilson G. Hunt & Co. Wilson. G. Hunt and his brother, Thomas Hunt, were the pioneers in the establishment of the Cloth Trade as a specialty separate from the General Dry Goods, and as early as 1834 the former opened a store at the corner of Chatham and Pearl Streets, for the prosecution only of this now large and important branch. NAHAM SULLIVAN, PETER F. RANDOLPH, and WILLIAM A. BUDD, were all associated with the old firm for thirty years prior to the changes which leave them its present representatives. In May, 1856, they moved to the corner of William Street and Maiden Lane, and, after sixteen years' permanent location, occupied their own magnificent marble building in Park Place, corner of Church Street, where they remained until within a few months. Keeping pace with the up-town tendency of the heavy commission and jobbing business, a further change has been considered advisable; hence we find them in a scarcely less handsome marble structure on White Street, a few doors from the east side of Broadway. It is here worthy of note, that this firm is also the pioneer in opening up the east side of Broadway to the heavy Dry Goods trade which has hitherto clung so tenaciously to the west, and this step will no doubt soon be found highly satisfactory to owners of real estate in that quarter. The building last alluded to is six stories high, with a splendid lofty basement, fitted up in the most complete and admirable manner. A powerful steam-dummy performs the work of hoisting and lowering from basement to roof. The first floor embraces the offices—very tastefully arranged-and a salesroom, where fine foreign goods are exposed for sale. The other principal floors are devoted to a complete stock of foreign and domestic fabrics, together with a full assortment of trimmings, etc., while in the top floor is stowed a large surplus. The importation of Woolens and Goods for Men's Wear is the leading feature in their business, and their commission accounts with prominent manufacturers of domestic as well as foreign goods are on an important scale. A notable specialty with them is the supplying of West Point and other military colleges and schools, as well as the police of New York and of the larger cities, throughout the country, with the substantial and durable fabrics required for the uniforms of these extensive establishments and bodies. Three mills, two in the United States and one in Germany, are employed particularly in manufacturing for this branch of their trade.
Until the commencement of the war, no year had ever passed during the long and successful career of this house without a record on their books of customers from every State in the Union, as well as many of the Territories and the Canadas.
The commercial life of Messrs. SULLIVAN, RANDOLPH & Budd, under the old style of firm as well as the present one, must be fraught with unusual pleasure and gratification, not only to themselves, but also to those who have—we may justly say—been so fortunate as to be ranked among their patrons and friends,—as to be the former is to become the latter. The conscientious determination and endeavor to subserve mutual interests, and the noble and generous principles so frequently and unworthily ignored in business relations, which have ever guided and influenced them, could not be more feelingly or truthfully illustrated than by quoting an extract from a letter addressed to this firm, which happily came to our notice. It is dated “Albany, Dec. 12, 1863," and signed, “CARPENTER & KIRK," after the usual business communication, when inclosing a check to balance account, prior to a retirement from business, concluding:
“This closes an uninterrupted business connection with your house of more than twenty-seven years' standing, during which time our names have never been off your books as debtors. During all this long period, not one single instance of misunderstanding has occurred. Though this payment discharges our pecuniary obligations to you, there are other and higher considerations that will ever keep us your debtors. Your generous kindness and confidence in us will always be found green in the minds of our children, as well as ourselves.
Wilson G. Hunt and SULLIVAN, RANDOLPH & Budd are names as familiar and dear to our children as they are to ourselves.”
DANIEL H. BROOKS,
WAREHOUSES, 462 to 468 Broadway, corner of Grand Street ; and 116 and
118 Cherry Street, corner of Catherine Street, New York.
The business of this establishment, which is probably the most extensive in the world in its particular line of trade, was founded in this city in the year 1818, by Henry S. Brooks. In that year Mr. Henry S. Brooks, who was the father of the four members of the present firm, established himself in the warehouse at the corner of Cherry and Catherine Streets, and there continued until his decease in 1833, when the business devolved upon his five sons, who had been with him during his prosperous and honorable career at that location.
DAVID Brooks had a store, in 1816, on the corner of Market Street. HENRY S. Brooks, in 1817-'18—in the days when that fine specimen of an alderman, GEORGE BUCKMEISTER, wore his cue in the Board-opened his store on the corner of Catherine Street, which was, in 1845, replaced by the present building. DAVID BROOKS and HENRY S. BROOKS were sons of a physician, Dr. DAVID BROOKS, who was born in Stratford, Conn., and settled in New York to practice, on the northwest corner of Catherine and Cherry Streets, and died in 1795, of yellow-fever.
At one period, just previous to 1830, Cherry Street, from James to Market, was the great center of the clothing trade, and here some of the first wholesale houses were established. After the West began to develop itself, and the grand canal was opened, business gradually worked its way over to the west side of the town.
In the year 1851, the Brooks Brothers, following the current of trade, which tended strongly to the western side of the city, purchased the site of their present chief warehouse at the corner of Broadway and Grand Street, extending through to Crosby Street, and there erected in 1857 the spacious brown-stone building so familiar to every Broadway pedestrian. This magnificent warehouse was designed under their especial directions, and as a result of their long practical experience, it is expressly adapted to the various requirements of their business. It was completed in 1858. Therein the principal portion of their trade is conducted, although the firm still continue their extensive business at the warehouse in Cherry Street, for so many years the scene of their own