Gambar halaman
PDF
ePub

ANCESTORS

of
Amyntas Shaw

and his wife
Lucy Tufts Williams

SHOWING MAYFLOWER LINES NEVER
BEFORE PUBLISHED FROM MYLES
STANDISH, JOHN ALDEN, WILLIAM
MULLINES AND THOMAS ROGERS

Compiled for their daughter
Isabella M. Knowlton

by
JOSEPHINE C. Frost
(Mrs. Samúel KNAPP Frost)

OF BROOKLYN, N. Y.

Compiler of Frost, Haviland and Strang Genealogies;
Editor of Town Records of Jamaica, N. Y., 1656-1751 ;
Life Member New York Genealogical and Biographical
Society; Member Long Island, Kings County, New Jersey
and Quaker Hill Historical Societies; Genealogist of the
Colonial Daughters of the Seventeenth Century.

1920

[blocks in formation]

England to

1592. fordren are g)

Isabella M. Shaw m Charles Clark Knowlton 1-ABRAHAM SHAW was married June 24, 1616 in Halifax, Yorkshire, England to Bridget the daughter of Henry Best of Ovenden who was baptized there April 9, 1592. Abraham resided in the village of Northowram in Halifax. The baptisms of his children are given in the church records there as follows:Joseph, Mch. 14, 1618; Grace, Aug. 15, 1621; Martha, Dec. 1, 1623; Maria, June 18, 1626; John, Feb. 16, 1628; John, May 23, 1630; Martha, Jan. 6, 1632. The burials of his dau. Martha on Mch. 31, 1625 and his son John born 1628, on April 12, 1696 are also recorded in the same church records and while "Shawe” baptisms appear there as early as 1585 his does not seem to be among them.

He is first mentioned in America in the records of Watertown, Mass., where on March 9, 1636/7 he is listed among the freemen but he soon settled in Dedham where he was among the first to subscribe to the Covenant there at the time of incorporation. His home and all its contents were burned in Watertown in October 1636 and he probably removed to Dedham at once for on August 18 of that year he was granted twelve acres of land there between Second River and a lot already owned by him; also in that same year he was appointed one of the men to govern the town, and given liberty to erect a corn mill and sixty acres of land to belong to said mill providing it always remained a water mill. In 1637 he was again appointed to govern the town.

About this time he was granted a hill of ground on the east side of the little river in consideration of his care and pains taken concerning the town's business. He was also granted four acres of swamp land, which on October 10, 1638 he sold to Michael Metcalfe and John Frary. On Sept. 6, 1638 he with Wm. Kingsbury was appointed to inform the Court of Assistants of newcomers admitted to Dedham without a license. The town records mention on 25 of 1 mo. 1639 that he was deceased.

« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »