« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
come before 1645 being Frances Woodall Kent, 1654; Martha Allen, 1657; Hugh and Abigail Roe, 1661. Savage states that Hugh Roe removed from Hartford, perhaps to Salem, but in 1669, was on the freeman list of Conn., and before 1678 was at Suffield, Conn. Hugh Roe died there Aug. 5, 1689, and his wife Abigail died there Sept. 3, 1689. Pope says, under the surname "Row, Rowe, Roe, Rowes," that Edward of Gloucester was a proprietor in 1650, and that Hugh and John "(his sons?)" made agreement in 1662. And that Elenor, widow, was an administrator in Boston in 1643.
Abiah Dwight, born in Northampton, Mass., Feb. 17, 1704; died in Suffield Feb. 23, 1748, the wife of Samuel Kent and mother of Anna Kent Adams, was probably born in Northampton, Mass., where her father, Justice Nathaniel Dwight, was living at the time of her birth. Justice Nathaniel Dwight, born in Dedham, Mass., Nov. 20, 1666, "was a trader and farmer and justice of the peace and surveyor of land on a large scale. He married Dec. 9, 1693, Mehitable Partridge. He was decidedly religious, like his father and grandfather and most of his many descendants. He died at West Springfield, Mass., Nov. 7, 1711, when there on business, as is believed, and was buried there. It is the oldest grave in the old burying ground of that place. His real estate was appraised at £885.
Justice Nathaniel Dwight was the son of Captain Timothy Dwight who was born in England in 1629; died in Dedham, Mass., Jany. 31, 1718; married New England Jany. 9, 1665, Anna Flynt (his third wife). Capt. Timothy Dwight "was made freeman in 1655; for ten years town clerk; selectman from 1664 to 89; a representative of the town in the General Court 1691-2 and perhaps later. The church records describe him thus: 'Timothy Dwight, Esq., a gentleman truly serious and godly, one of an excellent spirit, peaceable, generous, charitable, and a great promoter of the true interests of the church and town/ Was cornet of a troop in his younger years, afterwards a captain of foot; went out ten times against the Indians, nine of whom he killed or took prisoner. In the cemetery at Dedham is to be found his tomb. It is a vault with an arched entrance and is covered over with turf." (Dwight Gen.)
John Dwight, the immigrant father of Capt. Timothy Dwight, "came in the latter part of 1634 or beginning of 1635, from Dedham, England, to America. He had sat under the preaching of the celebrated minister, John Rogers of Dedham, Eng. John Dwight came 'to found a church without a bishop, and a government without a king.' He first settled at Watertown, Mass., but stayed there but a short time. The Dedham, Mass., records began Sept. i, 1635, on the day when the first town meeting was held. Of the twelve persons assembled together at the time, John Dwight was one. He was one of the twelve men to whom in 1635, the General Court granted a tract of land (Dedham) south of Charles River. John Dwight brought with him from England his wife Hannah (whose family name is unknown)," and three children. "He brought with him it is said, a valuable estate, and was a wealthy farmer in Dedham, Mass., and eminently useful as a citizen and a Christian in the town. He is described in the town records of Dedham as 'having been publicly useful' and 'a great peacemaker.' He was selectman for sixteen years. His will describes him as 'yeoman'" (Dwight Gen.). He died at Dedham, Mass., Jany. 24, 1660. Since the publishing of the Dwight Gen. (1874) it has been stated that the maiden name of Hannah Dwight, wife of John, was Close. She died at Dedham, Mass., Sept. 5, 1656. Captain Timothy Dwight married six times, but his third wife, Anna Flynt, was the only one who had grandchildren. Anna Flynt was born in Massachusetts Sept. 11, 1643; died in Dedham, Mass., Jany. 29, 1686; was the daughter of Rev. Henry Flynt, who came to America in 1635, and was ordained at Braintree (now Quincy), Mass., in 1639, where he died April 27, 1668. His brother, Rev. Thomas Flynt, went to Concord, Mass., from Matlock, Derbyshire, England, in 1637. The New Eng. Hist. and Gen. Register of July, 1902, states that they were probably the sons of Thomas Flynt, of Matlock, Derby, yeoman, who died in 1623, and Dorothy (Wood), his wife. "Rev. Henry in the great Antinomian controversy of those days, favored 'the new views,' agreeing warmly with Cotton and not with Wheelwright. Rev. Henry Flynt married Margery Hoar, who was born in England and died in Braintree, Mass., March 10, 1687. She was the sister of President Hoar, of Harvard College (1672-5), who married a daughter of Lord Lisle (and of Lady Alicia Lyle, noted in English history, one of the earliest victims of the infamous Chief Justice Jeffries in the time of James II.). The following is the inscription on the tombstone of Rev. Henry Flynt:— "Here Lyes interred ye Body of ye Rev'd Mr. Henry Flynt, who came to new England in ye year 1635, was Ordained ye first Teacher of ye Church of Braintree, 1639, and died April 27th, 1668. He had ye Character of a Gentleman Remarkable for his Piety, Learning, Wisdom, and Fidelity in his Office. By him on his right hand lyes the Body of Margery, his beloved consort, Died March, 1686-7, her maiden name was Hoar. She was a Gentlewoman of Piety, Prudence, peculiarly accomplished for instructing young Gentlewomen, many being sent to her from other Towns, especially from Boston. They descended from antient and good families in England."
Margery Hoar Flynt was the daughter of Charles and Joanna (Hincksman) Hoare (as then spelled), and the granddaughter of Charles and Margery Hoare. Charles Hoare, Sr., of Gloucester City, England, is mentioned in 1588. In Aug., 1608, he was about forty years of age, and somewhat short of stature. His will is dated 29th of May, 1632, and mentions "his beloved wife Margery." He was a sadler. Charles Hoare, the son, was also of Gloucester, England, where he died in the fall of 1638. He was an alderman from 1632 to 1638; a sheriff in 1634. On the Gloucester council minutes he was called "gentleman" or "generosus." He was a brewer. He married Joana Hincksman, whose "family was prosperous and highly esteemed in Gloucester." Joanna Hincksman Hoar came to New England with four or five of her children, Margery being one of them, about 1640, and died at Braintree, Mass., Dec. 21, 1661. The late United States Senator George Frisbie Hoar brought home with him from Gloucester, England, "a black oak door that had hung for 300 years on its hinges in the house on Longsmith street, Gloucester, where lived Charles Hoar, the direct ancestor of the family."
The statement that Anna Flynt Dwight was the daughter of Rev. Henry Flynt is given on the authority of "The History of the Descendants of John Dwight, of Dedham, Mass., by Benjamin W. Dwight;" of two writers to the Boston, Mass., "Transcript," January, 1907, and of Savage under the name of "Dwight," who there states that Timothy Dwight's third wife was "Ann Flint, daughter of Henry, whom he married 9 Jany., 1665, who died 29 Jany., 1685." The Dedham records give the following:— "1664—Tym. Dwight, & Ana Flint was married 9, 11, 1664." But the Braintree records state that "John Dassitt and Hanna Fflynt were married the 9th, mo. 15, 1662, by Major Willard," and there has been some confusion as to whether or no this "Hanna Fflynt" was Anna, daughter of Rev. Henry, and, if so, whether John Dassitt died and Anna then married Timothy Dwight. Savage, under the name "Dassett," states that "John, Braintree, married 15 Sept. 1662, Hannah, daughter of Thomas Flynt, of Concord, as one report is, tho. I think a better is, 15 Nov. as the town rec. to Ann, daughter of Rev. Henry Flynt," and concludes, "His widow perhaps married Timothy Dwight." This though John Dassett seems to have lived later than 1664. Pope, after recording the birth of Anna, daughter of Rev. Henry Flynt, in parenthesis notes the marriage of Hannah to John Dassett. The New Eng. Hist. and Gen. Register of April, 1899, p. 189, states that Anna, daughter of Rev. Henry, "married John Dassett, 1662." That the "Hanna Fflynt" who married John Dassett was not Rev. Henry's daughter Anna, but might well have been his niece, daughter of Rev. Thomas, of Concord, according to the report referred to by Savage, seems considerably confirmed not only by the differences in the names Hannah and Anna, but also by the names of the children of John and Hannah Fflynt Dassett and of Timothy and Ana Flynt Dwight. The Dassitt children were John, Joseph, Mary and Sarah. By a former wife, Timothy Dwight had children, Timothy, John and Sarah. The first child by Ana Flynt was Josiah, the name of Rev. Henry Flynt's oldest son (mentioned in his will), who was less than two years younger than the daughter Anna. Josiah Dwight died soon and the fourth child was also named Josiah. Rev. Henry's only other son who lived beyond infancy and to maturity was Seth, and Anna Flynt Dwight's fifth child was named Seth, her sixth (the only daughter), Anna, and her seventh Henry. (Henry was Anna's son if Savage was correct, as there are reasons for thinking he was, in believing that the Dedham record of "Anna, deceased 15, 8; 75" referred to Timothy and Ana Flynt Dwight's two months' old daughter Anna.) It is of course possible that Rev. Henry Flynt had a daughter Hannah and a daughter Anna, as had one of Anna Flynt Dwight's descendants.
The wife of Justice Nathaniel Dwight, and mother of Abiah Dwight Kent, was Mehitable Partridge, born Aug. 26, 1675; died in Northampton, Mass., Oct. 19, 1756, who "lived in widowhood for 45 years at Northampton, where her grave may be readily seen. She did not join the church until 1736." Her father, Colonel Samuel Partridge, (born in Hartford, Conn., Oct. 15, 1645; died in Hatfield, Mass., Dec. 25, 1740), "was a merchant, and from 1692 to 1740 judge of the Court of Common Pleas, being from 1706 to 1736 its chief justice. He was also probate judge, and in 1685-6 represented the town, and was colonel of a regiment, and one of his Majesty's Council. After Colonel Pynchon's death he was 'the most important man in all the western part of the province.' He had ample wealth, and was one of 'the three Connecticut river gods,' as they were commonly denominated, the other two being John Pynchon, of Springfield, and Colonel John Stoddard, of Northampton. Colonel Partridge removed from Hadley to Hatfield in 1687." (Dwight Gen.). He married Sept. 24, 1668, Mehitable Crow. His father was William Partridge, who came from Berwick-upon-Tweed, England, and was one of the earliest settlers of Hartford, Conn., where he married, Dec. 12, 1644, Mary Smith (born about 1625; died July 20, 1680), of Hartford, sister of Christopher of Northamptonj Joseph of Hartford, and Simeon and William. William and Mary (Smith) Partridge removed to Hadley, Mass., where he was a trader, in 1659. He died there June 27, 1668. He wrote his name Partrigg.
The wife of Col. Samuel Partridge was Mehitable Crow (born in New England about 1652; died Dec. 8, 1730) daughter of John and Elizabeth (Goodwin) Crow. "John Crow born in England was one of the earliest and best of the settlers of Hartford, Conn., being there as early as 1637-8. His wife, Elizabeth Goodwin, was the only child of Elder William Goodwin, one of the first settlers of Hartford, Conn., from Essex, England, and a large landholder. William Goodwin and John Crow settled, with others, in 1659, the town of Hadley. On Mr. Goodwin's death, March 11, 1673, his large estate fell into the hands of Mr. Crow, who was himself a man of great wealth for those times.
"William Goodwin was Ruling Elder of the churches of Newton, Hartford and Hadley. He came to America on the Lion, in 1632, which sailed from London. He was a very prominent and wealthy man; was plainly one of the very largest Hartford land owners." (Goodwin Gen.) The possibility of error on obscure points in genealogical data is well illustrated in the case of the (supposedly) two wives of Elder William Goodwin. The first record of his wife yet discovered in America is in Jan., 1669-70, when he sold land in Hadley, Mass., and the name of the wife who then joined in the deed was Susanna; and there is also the date of Susanna's death, 1676. It was supposed that she was the only wife. But some English records make it seem practically sure that the first wife of William Goodwin, and the mother of his only child, Elizabeth, was Elizabeth White, daughter of Robert and Bridget (Allgar) White, and granddaughter of William Allgar, Sr. The following is an extract from a 1901 number of the New Eng. Hist. and Gen. Register:—"The baptism of Elizabeth White, 5th of March, 1591, is recorded in the Parish Register of Shalford, as is also her marriage, 7th Nov., 1616, then a singlewoman of that parish, to William Goodwin of Bocking, then a singleman. There is a bequest to her in her father's will, which is dated May 27, 1617, and she was probably present at her father's burial, 17th June, 1617. No mention of her has been found later than June, 1632. John Tallcott and William Goodwin came over in the ship "Lion," which sailed June 22, 1632, from London for Boston. A few days before she sailed John Tallcott and his