« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
THE KING COAT OF ARMS.
The arms displayed on the signet used during his life-time by James King of Suffield, Connecticut, the immigrant ancestor and founder of our family in America, and which thereafter from the time of his death in 1722 have been continuously and customarily used by his descendants for nearly two centuries and down to the present time, are blazoned as follows: "Sable, on a chevron or, between three crosses-crosslet of the last, three escallops of the first." Surmounting the shield on this signet is an esquire's helmet with wreath and a mantling flowing gracefully down in scroll work on either side and tastefully enveloping the arms in z. simple but ornate design. (See cut facing this page.)
Miss Margaret E.8 King (Robert Newton,7 Maria Persis,8 who married Lyman King, John Bowker,5 Joseph,4 Capt. Joseph,3 James2 of Suffield, Conn., William1 from Ugborough, County Devon, England) residing at No. 133 West Second street, Dayton, Ohio (see Maria Persis King No. 309), had in her possession more than one hundred ancient documents, consisting of deeds, bonds, receipts, inventories of estates, copies of wills, decrees of distribution, etc., executed by or relating to the affairs of the earliest ancestors of the family in America. They are the only papers of which we have knowledge, made by the very early members of the King family of Suffield, except some original public and official reports made by Capt. Joseph King, to be found among the town records of Suffield and except also the last wills and testaments of certain members of the family still preserved on file in Probate offices.
All these ancient documents were bequeathed to Miss Margaret E. King by her grandmother, Maria Persis8 King, above named, who was born at Suffield Oct. 13, 1816, and died at the residence of her son, Mr. Robert Newton King, in Dayton, Ohio, March 20, 1901. These ancient legal documents and certain wills on file in the Probate office at Hartford, Conn., disclose the very early use in America of the King Coat of Arms.
All the documents which are hereinbelow named and referred to in connection with the King arms were in this collection of Miss Margaret E. King, except the wills, the originals of which remain on file in the Probate office at Hartford, Conn., except that of James King of Suffield, which is on file at Northampton, Mass. At the time of the decease of James King in 1722, Suffield was and had been from the time of its first settlement, under the jurisdiction and claimed to be within the boundaries of Massachusetts, it having been originally settled under a grant from that colony. But for more than fifty years the boundary lines between the colonies of Massachusetts and Connecticut had been unsettled and a matter of controversy between the two colonies. Finally in 1749 the dispute was ended and Suffield passed from the jurisdiction of Massachusetts to that of Connecticut and became a part of Hartford County. Until that time all deeds of land in Suffield were recorded and all wills probated at Northampton in the County of Hampshire, Mass.
So far as known there are only three (3) documents in existence which bear the signature of James King, Senior, the First of Suffield, Conn., who was baptized at Ugborough, County Devon, England, Nov. 7, 1647, came to America about 1662 and settled finally at Suffield, Conn., in 1678, where he died May 22, 1722.
The first of these documents is a deed made by "James King, Senior, the First of Suffield," and "Elizabeth King, the wife of me, the said James King" to "my third son Joseph King of Suffield." Consideration—"Parental love, Good will and Affection" granting "twelve acres of first grant land" in Suffield, etc. Dated the "tenth day of Aprill, annoque Domini one thousand seven hundred and eleven being the tenth year of the reign of Anne of Great Brittaine, france and Ireland Queen &c." This deed is witnessed by John Austin, Samuel Halladay and Hannah Remington.
Acknowledged "10 April 1711" before Samuel Partridge, Justice of the Peace and recorded May 30, 1711, in the records of the county of Hampshire. Book No. B, page 230. John Pynchon, Reg't.
There has been a red wax seal after the signature of James King and also one after the signature of Elizabeth King, upon both of which the King Arms may at one time have been