Gambar halaman
PDF
[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors]

119

Roger5 King (Lt. Eliphalet* Capt. Joseph? James,1 William1), born at Suffield, Conn., Jany. 16, 1771; died in Jonesville, Saratoga Co., N. Y., Aug. 15, 1855; married (1) in Suffield Feb. 4, 1795, Anna Granger, born May 8, 1771, died Feb. 12, 1812, who was a niece of Gideon Granger, Postmaster-General in President Jefferson's Cabinet; (2) in Troy, N. Y., July 23, 1812, Christina Auringer, born in Troy June 8, 1785, died Feb. 9, 1872, a lineal descendant of Roeloff and Annetje Jans, who came to Rensselaerwyck from Holland in 1630 and settled first at Beaverwyck, now Albany, N. Y., but subsequently at New Amsterdam. Roeloff and Annetje Jans have a permanent place in the colonial history of New York State by reason of their early connection with its first settlement as a colony under the auspices of the Dutch Government. Numerous references to them are found in the histories of New Netherland, and of the Cities of New York and Albany. Their names also appear freqeuntly in the early colonial documents preserved in the Archives of the State of New York and which have been compiled and published by authority of the Legislature of that State: "Documentary History of the State of New York" (4 vols.), "Documents Relative to the Colonial History of the State of New York" (11 vols.). The name of Annetje Jans is especially familiar to the New York public by reason of its connection with the celebrated legal contests between some of her descendants and the corporation of Trinity Church in the City of New York for the possession of real estate which was her's at the time of her decease in 1663. A few years after her decease some, but not all, of her heirs joined in a conveyance of the land in question to Col. Lovelace, who was then Governor of the Province. Subsequently it was confiscated by Queen Anne who, in 1703, presented it to the church.

Roger King removed from Suffield to Troy, N. Y., in 1794., It was then a small village known as Vanderheyden, which was the name of the Patroon on whose lands it was located. Mr. Roger King was one of a considerable number of New England men, mostly from Connecticut, who came there about that time and by their energetic efforts and enterprise in the next few years built up a city of considerable importance.

In May, 1812, he was commissioned by Daniel D. Tompkins, Governor of the State of New York, as "Lieutenant in command of a company of Light Infantry in the Regiment of Militia in the County of Rensselaer, whereof Adam Yates, Esquire, is Lieutenant Colonel Commandant."

The Regiment was called into active service in the War of 1812, and ordered to proceed to Plattsburgh on Lake Champlain; but, hostilities in that region having ceased, it was not present in any engagements. Lieutenant Roger King, however, promptly responded to his country's call with his company.

In 1820 almost the entire business portion of Troy was destroyed by fire and its recuperation seemed doubtful. Mr. King, therefore, purchased a farm at Jonesville, Saratoga County, N. Y., and with his family removed to it.

His doing so produced one important result. There was at that time nowhere in the vicinity any school of a higher grade than the district school, which was very elementary in its character. The younger ones of his children, five in number, having acquired all of the education which it could supply, their further education could be accomplished only by sending all of them from home to some distant institution, unless some plan could be devised for obviating that necessity. Such a plan (with the efficient aid of his wife), he devised and successfully carried out.

Competent teachers were employed, and a school was opened in the family homestead for the children of the family and such other day scholars as might desire to attend. The school was a success from the outset, the attendance being unexpectedly large. This result was so gratifying that, after a year's experience, he decided to enlarge upon his original plan and establish on the premises a Select School for a limited number of boarders in addition to day scholars, the family homestead, with some small additions, being sufficiently capacious to accommodate a good number. He then erected a separate building for class rooms and, without advertising, printed and sent to families of his acquaintance, chiefly in Troy, circulars announcing the opening of such a school.

Applications for admission were promptly received in numbers sufficient to fully occupy all the available apartments, and soon there were forty residents in the old homestead. The success and value of the school was so evident that he determined to establish a permanent institution on a larger scale. Accordingly he purchased a tract of thirteen acres of land in a central location and proceeded to erect upon it a building of ample dimensions, adapted to the purposes for which it was designed.

When completed the school was transferred to its new and improved location and a Principal and adequate Faculty secured. Subsequently two large additional dormitories were erected on the grounds and the school was incorporated as the Jonesville Academy.

It met with remarkable success and in a brief space of time became a prominent educational institution. It soon numbered over a hundred and fifty students, including quite a number from other States.

Among its graduates were many who afterwards attained prominence in the professions of law and medicine, as well as in other pursuits, while one became a United States Senator.

As an important factor in the early history of Troy, N. Y., as an officer in the Army ready to serve in the defense of his country, and as the founder of an important educational institution, Mr. Roger King was a bright example of energy, patriotism and public spirit.

[graphic][graphic]
[table]

Cornelia,8 b. June 27, 1796; d. Sept. 17, 1797.
Louis, b. Nov. 26, 1798, d. Oct. 22, 1842; m. April 3,

1829, Mary Anthe Totten.
Myron, b. Dec. 18, 1800; d. Feb. 1, 1878; m. May

31, 1836, Mary Rogers. Cornelia Ann, b. April 20, 1803; d. Dec. 19, 1820.

320* v. Henry Augustine, b. April 8, 1808; d. May 25, 1892; m. (1) April 26, 1836, Jane Field; (2) Nov. 13, 1851, Huldah J. Field.

321 vi. George, b. Oct. 2, 1809; d. April 22, 1810.

322 vii. Mary Elizabeth, b. Oct. 16, 1813; d. May 12, 1890.

Unmarried.

323 viii. George Auringer, b. Aug. 28, 1816; d. March IO,

1841. Unmarried. He commenced business in

1838 as a merchant and died of typhoid fever at

what seemed to be the beginning of a prosperous

career. 324* ix. Harriet Cynthia, b. Dec. 18, 1818; d. Jany. 9, 1892;

m. April 29, 1844, Dr. Morgan L. Finch. 325* x. Eliphalet Roger, b. Oct. 15, 1820; d. Aug. 13,

1901; m. Sept. 3, 1857, Sarah Kinney. 326* xi. Cornelia Ann, (again), b. Oct. 22, 1822; d. Feb.

2, 1907; m. Oct. 16, 1849, Elizur Hart. 327* xii. Harvey James, b. July 16, 1824; m. May 6, 1851,

Ellen B. L. Bayeux.

328 xiii. Lydia Margaret, b. July 6, 1828 d. July 21, 1829.

120

Jonathan5 King, (Lt. Eliphalet* Capt. Joseph," James* William1), born in Suffield, Conn., Nov. 11, 1772; died July 11, 1862; married in Suffield in 1795 Dorcas Gillette. He removed to Hammond, St. Lawrence Co., New York, about the year 1820 and spent the remainder of his life there where most of his descendants have since resided and his original homestead is now occupied by his great grandson, Myron Wallace King. Issue:

329 i. Mary," b. 1796; d. Nov. 8, 1858. Unmarried.

330 ii. Betsey, b. Aug. 12, 1802; d. March 20, 1876. Un

married.

331* Hi. Henry, b. July 16, 1804; d. Feb. 26, 1865; m. Henrietta Ayers.

332* iv. Alfred, b. 1807; d. 1846; m. Emeline Bass.

122

Seth5 King, (Lt. Eliphalet* Capt. Joseph, James,2 Williams, born in Suffield, Conn., Sept. 27, 1777; died in New Ipswich, N. H., July 12, 1851; married in New Ipswich, N. H., Oct. 15, 1808, Anna8 Preston, born in New Ipswich Aug. 10, 1784; died

« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »