Gambar halaman
PDF
ePub

COMPRISING

Memoirs, Yncidents and Statistics

OF

HARRISBURG.

FROM

THE PERIOD OF ITS FIRST SETTLEMENT.

FOR THE PAST, THE PRESENT, AND THE FUTURE.

COMPILED BY

GEORGE H. MORGAN,

HARRISBURG:
PUBLISHED BY GEO. A. BROOKS

18 58.

1203

:

[merged small][ocr errors][merged small]

289

Entered according to act of Congress, in the year 1858, by

GEORGE A. BROOKS,
In the Clerk's Office of the District Court of the United States for the Eastern

District of Pennsylvania.

[ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors][ocr errors]

ERRATA.

[ocr errors]

Page 34, in the ninth line from the bottom, for “Florster” read " Forster.”

Page 51, in the eighth line from the top, for "was,” after “ Mr. Elder,” read “succeeded Mr. Bertram as." In the same line and the next, for the words “when it was first built, about one hundred and twenty years ago,” read “in 1737.” In the line following, omit the words “upwards of.” And in lieu of the fifteenth, sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth lines from the top, read “The first Paxton church building was erected about the year 1732. It was constructed of logs and stone, chiefly of the former; and stood a short distance south-west of the stone church, (erected between the years 1750 and 1755,) still standing, about two and a half miles from Harrisburg, on the Hummelstown turnpike."

Page 83, in the seventeenth line from the top, for “ Jesse Rowland” read “ James Lackey.”

Page 85, in the seventh line from the top, for “ July” read “ Janu. ary.” On the same page, in lieu of the sentence commencing after the word “neighborhood,” in the second line from the top, and ending before the word “From,” in the second line following, read “ The courts were afterwards held in the old log jail which formerly stood on the north-west side of Strawberry alley, a short distance north-east of Rasberry alley, and in a log house which formerly stood on the lot now occupied by the “Farmers' Hotel,” on the east side of Market street, near Dewberry alley.

Page 89, in the eighth line from the bottom, for “ the year 1785" read “for the years 1785, and those following until 1799, inclusive." In the sixth line from the bottom, for “year” read “ period.” And for the two bottom lines, read “ The expenditures for the erection of the present Court House commenced in 1792, and occur at different periods after that until 1799, inclusive. They appear in the book as follows."

Page 144, in the eighth and ninth lines from the bottom, for “ February” read “January.”

« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »