« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
diaries, his photographs of the West Point class of 1889, and a portfolio of her husband's diplomas and testimonials.
Just before going to press with this number, the Historical Society received, through Mrs. Theodore G. Lewis, of Madison, the private papers of the late Governor James O. Davidson, who was Mrs. Lewis' father.
The valuable gift of Kenosha (and Southport) newspaper files presented to the Society by Emily E. Bond and Charlotte W. Bond, of Kenosha, is described at length in the section of this magazine devoted to editorial comment.
Former Governor Edward Scofield died February 2, 1925, after a long and painful illness. The governor was born at Clearfield, Pennsylvania, in 1842 and was the last of the series of Wisconsin governors who had distinguished themselves during the Civil War. Scofield enlisted as a private in 1861, was commissioned lieutenant two years later, and became captain after the battle of South Mountain; he was brevetted major in 1864, after having been for ten months a prisoner within the Confederate lines. He removed to Wisconsin soon after the close of the war, and began lumbering on the Oconto River. His entry into Wisconsin politics occurred in 1886, when he was chosen state senator. Ten years later he ran for governor on the Republican ticket, and received the largest plurality until then cast for any candidate. In 1898 he was reëlected and served as war governor during the Spanish-American War. From 1901 until his death he lived in retirement at Marinette, devoting himself to business and family affairs. During his term as governor he was ex-officio curator of this Society, and it was in his term of office that the present building of the Society was erected.
Honorable William King Coffin, whose death at the age of nearly seventy-five years occurred at Eau Claire on March 26, 1925, had been curator of the State Historical Society for twenty-two years. For a term of three years, from 1916 to 1919, he was president of the Society. Mr. Coffin always manifested a deep and intelligent interest in the work which the Society was doing for the state and, though a man of multiplied duties connected with private business affairs, he was generous in the bestowal of his time and energies in the Society's service.
In January there was held at Plymouth, Wisconsin, the funeral of George O. Standish, who died in the state of Oregon in his eighty-sixth year. He was the eighth in direct descent from Captain Miles Standish, who three centuries ago adventured to the then frontier at Plymouth, Massachusetts. His descendants have followed the West into New York, where George O. was born, and whence he journeyed first to Wisconsin, then to the Dakotas, and lastly to Oregon. His body was brought for interment to the cemetery where his father lies, in the western "Ply
mouth" named for the Massachusetts home of the original Miles Standish.
Judge H. A. Anderson in an article entitled "The End of a Long Trail," published in the Whitehall Times-Banner, relates the career of James Dwight Olds, the first settler in Trempealeau County save for the French hunters and trappers of an elder day. Mr. Olds died at the home of his daughter in Florida on December 17 last, and his body was brought to Whitehall for interment. He was a native of Chenango County, New York, and in 1851, when nineteen years of age, set forth westward and landed at Trempealeau, where he located land, built a log cabin, and opened a farm.
LOCAL HISTORICAL SOCIETIES
The Green Bay Historical Society, the oldest and one of the most active of our local organizations, has undertaken a new venture in the Green Bay Historical Bulletin, to appear bimonthly. Number one of volume one came out February 15, with the stated object "to disseminate a knowledge of the history of Green Bay, De Pere, and the surrounding country, by the publication of original manuscripts and documents not heretofore printed, and of the valuable papers read before the Green Bay Historical Society since its organization." As the history of Green Bay is of importance to every student of Wisconsin history, we highly commend this periodical to the attention of our readers. The first number contains two valuable monographs: "Navarino," by Deborah B. Martin, curator of this Society; and "The First Church and Cemetery in Green Bay," by Arthur C. Neville, director of the Green Bay Historical Museum. These papers are accompanied by plats of Navarino and Astor showing the locations of the early buildings, and by an idealized sketch of the first church, built in 1823. We shall anticipate the appearance of later issues of the Bulletin. The historical museum has acquired the oldest fire-engine in the Middle West, a pumper used at Fort Howard in 1817. A cut of this engine appeared recently in the Milwaukee Journal.
In the March number of this magazine we confused the Eau Claire Old Settlers' Society with the Eau Claire Historical Society, noting the midwinter meeting of the former as a joint meeting of the two societies. Attention has been called to this mistake by President W. W. Bartlett of the historical society. The latter society held its annual meeting January 20 in the Community House of the Congregational Church. The name was changed to the Chippewa Valley Historical Society, thus indicating the broadening of the local interest. One feature of the January meeting was a talk by Annie Ermatinger, of Chippewa Falls, granddaughter of the well-known fur trader James Ermatinger, for whom Jim Falls was named. President Bartlett writes that Miss Ermatinger left with him an interesting collection of fur trade letters and documents. The earliest history of interior northern
Wisconsin will be illuminated by these papers and reminiscences. The Chippewa Valley Historical Society has a fertile field for discovery and
The Winnebago County Historical and Archeological Society continues to interest the people of its vicinity in things historical. March 10 the members and friends of the society listened to an address by Curator J. H. A. Lacher, of Waukesha. In April the society was host for the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts, and Letters, together with other participating organizations as is related post in this magazine. The Sawyer Foundation is of never-failing interest to Oshkosh's visitors. Reginald Oshkosh, chief of the Menominee tribesmen and direct descendant of the old chief for whom the city is named, was a guest in March of Nile J. Behncke, curator of the foundation. He was much pleased with the Indian department of the museum and promised to add to its specimens. Chief Oshkosh is a graduate of Carlisle, and has attended other educational institutions. He makes his home on the tribal reservation in Shawano County.
The Sheboygan Pioneer, a monthly supplement of the Sheboygan Press, devoted particularly to the interest of Sheboygan County pioneerdom, chronicles each month the activities of the Sheboygan County Historical Society and the growth of its museum, housed in the city library. One suggestion is worthy of the attention of all local societies, namely, a proposal for an exhibit at the county fair, following the example of the Sauk County Society. The Pioneer began its fourth volume with the March issue.
The Beloit Historical Society held its annual meeting March 24, with the mayor as presiding officer. Death has been active in removing some of the stanchest supporters of this local society, notably Mrs. W. H. Chesbrough, the treasurer, who was one of the chief promoters of the historical museum in the public library. It is hoped that new members may be added and enthusiastic support received for this important local organization.
The Manitowoc County Historical Society held a "railroad session" in January, which proved to be a great success, interesting reminiscences being given by early railroad men and engineers. In March one of the most delightful sessions of the society was held for the presentation of the flag made in June, 1861, by the ladies of Manitowoc for Company A of the Fifth Wisconsin Volunteers. This ancient ensign has had a remarkable history. It was captured by a Louisiana regiment and thought to have been burned. In 1876 Judge W. W. Waldo, of Manitowoc County, was surprised to see among the exhibits at the Centennial Exposition a beautiful silk flag marked "Manitowoc County Volunteers." He learned that a Pennsylvania officer had recovered it from a Confederate soldier and had restored the flag to Wisconsin. So it came home. Recently George Schuette has had the old flag gone over by experts and its original fabric preserved. It was on this second home
coming that the presentation took place, Judge J. S. Anderson, one of the seven survivors of the original company for whom the flag was made, recounting to a spellbound audience the experiences of the company and the loss and recovery of the flag. Secretary Harry Kelley accepted the emblem for the historical society, and promised it would be a sacred trust. The Manitowoc County Historical Society prospers under the presidency of Ralph G. Plumb.
The Washington County Old Settlers' Club met in February at West Bend for its fiftieth anniversary. The first meeting for organization was held January 16, 1875, and the first celebration occurred on Washington's Birthday of the same year. The same holiday was the occasion this year of an all-day meeting at the Masonic Temple. Any twenty-five-year resident of good moral standing is eligible for membership.
March 20 Waupun was eighty-six years old, for upon that date in 1839 Seymour Wilcox and his family arrived at that site, and were soon at home in the log cabin which the head of the house had built earlier in the year. Descendants of this first family yet reside in Waupun-grandchildren and great-grandchildren. The local D. A. R. chapter is planning to erect a marked boulder as near as possible to the site of the city's first log cabin.
The Citizens Bank of Delavan reviewed its early history when on March 8 it discovered it was half a century old. The deposits of three thousand dollars have grown to over a million. Edward F. Williams, who died in 1923, was connected with the institution for forty-three of its fifty years.
The fortieth anniversary jubilee of the La Crosse Frohsinn Singing Society occurred January 12 at Pioneer Hall in that city. The program was largely musical. Mr. J. L. Utermoehl, however, reviewed the history of the society since its founding in 1885.
The year 1925 is a significant one for our citizens of Norwegian descent. It marks the centenary of the birth of Ole Bull, probably the best known Norwegian who ever lived in America. It will be remembered that an account of his connection with Wisconsin was published in this magazine in June, 1924. It was in 1825 also that the first important immigration from Norway to America occurred, a group from Stavanger setting sail in the sloop Restaurationen (Restoration), frequently spoken of as the "Mayflower of the North." These first immigrants settled in Orleans County, New York, whence they and their countrymen who followed have spread throughout the Northwest, contributing largely to the development of Wisconsin, Minnesota, and the Dakotas. The centennial of Norse expansion will be celebrated at Minneapolis in June.
LANDMARKS AND MONUMENTS
One of the most important conservation movements in the state is that to preserve and restore in so far as is possible the ruins of Fort Crawford at Prairie du Chien. The fort, which has been unoccupied since the Civil War, has fallen into decay. At first it was used as a quarry by the neighborhood, and many a stone from the old post is to be found in near-by fence or wall. Even the portion of the officers' quarters that remains is rapidly disintegrating and will, if nothing is done, in a few years entirely disappear. We are glad, therefore, to learn that the local D. A. R. chapter is planning to appeal to the citizens for a fund of five thousand dollars to restore the fort. We heartily hope that local patriotism will lift the project soon into the class of things accomplished.
At Fond du Lac the Kiwanis Club has provided a marker for the site of the old fur trade post at the forks of the Fond du Lac River. This was the earliest known post in that vicinity, and its history is accurately and interestingly described in Senator W. A. Titus' article in our magazine, iii, 327-331 (March, 1920). Fond du Lac is to be congratulated on the marking of this notable post of the fur trade régime. The unveiling will occur in the early summer.
June 14, Flag Day, the tablet marking the site of the homestead of General Henry Dodge will be unveiled with appropriate exercises. The Woman's Club of Dodgeville has sponsored this enterprise, and with its completion the place where stood one of the earliest homesteads in southwestern Wisconsin will be made known to the public. In two more years it will be a century since Henry Dodge left his home in Missouri and migrated to the lead mines of Wisconsin. He called around him his slaves and offered them freedom and a plot of land in free territory if they would accompany him on his quest and aid him in his mining venture. Several of them accepted his offer, and some of the descendants of these freedmen still live near the old homestead. The Dodge house has disappeared and only depressions mark the site of the cellar, the well, and the outbuildings. Much of the first history of our preterritorial period clustered around this now abandoned place. Its marking is a permanent achievement.
In our last number we spoke of the probable commemoration and marking of the home of the Salomon family at Manitowoc. It is now announced that the Milwaukee Muhlenberg unit of the Steuben Society has inaugurated a campaign for funds for the purpose of erecting a monument to the Salomon brothers, probably in Milwaukee. (See "Book Reviews" section post page 478.
The bronze monument for Colonel Hans C. Heg, which it was hoped to have unveiled at Madison July 4, will not arrive from Norway, where it is being cast, in time to be erected at that date. It is now