« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
David Goodwillie was settled over it in Williamstown and west by Berlin, and 1791, and was their
minister many years. lies about 50 miles northwesterly from The Rev. Thomas Goodwillie is the pres. Windsor. This township was granted ent minister. The first meeting house Nov. 6, 1780, to William Williams and was built in 1789. A small Congregational his associates, and chartered by the name church was formed in this town, October of Wildersburgh. This name being un21, 1829, and the Rev. Andrew Govan popular with the inhabitants of the town, officiated here about three years. It con in the year 1793, a town-meeting was sists of 46 members. In 1811, the spotted called, to be holden at the house of Calfever occasioned great mortality in this vin Smith for the purpose of agreeing on and the neighboring towns. The typhus some other name to be presented to the fever prevailed in 1815, ’16 and '17, and legislature for their sanction and approvcarried off a considerable number. The al. The meeting being opened, freedom principal streams are the Passumpsic, was given for any one to present the which falls into the Connecticut just be- name he chose, and the choice among the low the foot of the 15 mile falls, and Ste- number presented was to be decided by vens' river, which unites with the Con- vote of the town. Several names were necticut about two miles below the mouth proposed, such as Paris, Newburn, &c. of the Passumpsic. On these streams are Two of the voters present, Capt. Joseph several valuable mill privileges, the most Thomson and Mr. Jonathan Sherman, the remarkable of which is at Stevens' mills first from Holden, the other from Barre, on Stevens' river. At this place the river, Mass., each in their turn strenuously which is three rods wide, falls about 100 contended for the name of the town from feet in the distance of ten rods. At the which he came; and as the matter seemfoot of the 15 mile falls in Connecticut ed to lie chiefly between these two, it was river, is a cluster of 21 islands, the lar- proposed that it should be decided begest of which is said to contain 90 acres. iween them, by boxing, to which they There are several other fertile islands of readily agreed. The terms were, that they considerable size between Barnet and Ly should fight across a pole; but if one man. Some parts of the town are broken should knock the other down, they might and hilly, but the soil is in general rich then choose their own mode of warfare. and excellent for pasture and tillage. The meeting then adjourned to a new There is some handsome intervale along barn-shed, erected by said Smith, over the Connecticut and Passumpsic in this which a floor of rough hemlock plank had town, the ascent from which to the op- just been laid, and on this the issue was land is precipitous and rocky. The rocks to be decided. Agreeably to this arrangewhich form the precipice are principally ment, the combatants advanced upon argillaceous slate, and, just below the each other, and soon Thompson, by a well mouth of the Passumpsic, they rise from directed blow, brought his antagonist to 100 to 300 feet nearly perpendicular. Iron the floor, and, springing upon him at full ore has been found near the mouth of the length, began to aimi his heavy blows at Passumpsic. There are three natural his head and face; but Sherman, being ponds in this town, viz. Harvey's pond more supple, avoided them, and they gencovering about 300 acres, Ross' pond, about erally fell harmless on the floor, except 100, Morse's pond, about 15 acres. The peeling his own knuckles. During this present head of boat navigation on Con- process, Sherman was dexterously plying necticut river is at the lower village in his ribs from beneath, when Thompson this town at McIndoe's falls. The prin- was soon heard to groan, and his blows becipal places of business are at this village, came palsied and without effect. Sherat the village at Stevens' mills, and the man then rolled him off, and, springing village at Randal's mills on the Passump- upon his feet, exultingly exclaimed sic river. Statistics of 1840.--Horses, “There, the name is Burre, by God!" 529; cattle, 2,898; sheep, 6,601; swine, Accordingly a petition for the name Bar, 1,711 ; wheat, bush. 4,652; barley, 412; re wps presented, and sanctioned by the oats, 39,672; buckwheat, 559 ; Ind. corn, legislature the same year. The day fol6,780 ; rye, 203 ; potatoes, 66,410; hay, lowing this encounter, Sherman called on tons, 4,815; sugar, Ibs. 19,670; wool, Dr. Robert Paddock, the physician of 12,229. Population, 2,030.
the town, who was an eye-witness of the BARRE, a post town in the southeast transaction, and is still living, and who part of Washington county, lies in lati- related these particulars to the writude 44° 11' and longitude 4° 31', and ter, and requested him to extract from contains 31 square miles, or 19,900 acres. his back and posteriors the hemlock splinIt is bounded north by Montpelier and ters he had received while writhing on Plainfield, east by Orange, south by the plank fioor. In 1778, Samuel Rogers Pr. u.
and John Goldsbury, one from Bradford, | village and fitted it up for a store, methe other from Hartland, Vt., with their chanic shops, &c. The Methodist sociefamilies, moved into this town and began ty is large and respectable, numbering converting the wilderness into farms. about 150 communicants, belonging to The next year a number of other families the town. They are usually supplied by came in, and from this time the town set stationed preachers, whose term of sertled rapidly by emigrants from Worcester vice is commonly two years. The Rev. county, Mass., and from New Hampshire John Currier is their present preacher. and Connecticut. The town was organ- A Universalist society was organized ized, March 11, 1793, and Joseph Dwight here soon after the commencement of the was first town-clerk. It was first repre. settlement. In 1808, the Rev. Paul Dean, sented in the General Assembly in 1796, now of Boston, was ordained over_said by Asaph Sherman. The religious soci- society, but soon left the town. From eties are Congregationalists, Methodists, that time they had not regular preaching, and Universalists, each of which have a till the year 1821, when they settled the meeting house ; the Congregational meet. Rev. John E. Palmer as their minister, ing house is 60 by 50 feet and was built and in 1822, they erected a brick meeting in 1808—it stands on an elevation one house in the south or upper village. Of fourth of a mile east of the north or low- late they usually have preaching about er village, on the Road to Chelsea. The half the time on the Sabbath, and Mr. Rev. Aaron Palmer was ordained to the Palmer is employed in the neighboring pastoral care of the Congregational church towns. The number who nominally beFeb. 23, 1807. He was a pious and faith long to the society is larger than either ful minister of Christ; but having a del- of the former. The Baptists, by reason icate constitution, he fell a victim to a of deaths and removals, are not known as quick consumption, which terminated a society in the town. The inhabitants of his earthly career on the 7th of February, this town were remarkably healthy till 1821. He lived beloved and died la- the year 1795, when the scarlet fever or mented. The next year the Rev. Justus canker rash made its appearance as an W. French received a call by said church epidemic, and prevailed for about a year, and society to settle as their minister, during which time almost every child, and was ordained May 23, 1822. He re- some young people and several 30 or 40 mained their pastor 10 years, and was years old had the disease, but it proved dismissed on account of ill health. From fatal only to children. From this time it this period till 1840, two other ministers was generally healthy till February, 1811, were settled over said church and socie- when the spotted fever made its appear. ty, and dismissed by counsel, viz. Rev. Jo- ance, and soon became alarming. Those seph Thacher and Rev. James R. Whee- who did not recover seldom lived over 36 lock. Rev. Andrew Royce, their present hours, and some died within 3 or 4 hours minister, received a call and was ordain- from the time they were attacked with ed as pastor over said church and society, the disease. The approach of warm Feb. 18, 1841. In 1840, a majority of the weather put a stop to its ravages. In the church and society, believing the loca- winter of 1812 and '13, the inhabitants tion of the old meeting house to be in- were visited by much the most fatal epiconvenient and unfavorable to their pros- demic disease that has ever prevailed in perity, built a new meeting house in the the town—it was an inflamation of the village, one-fourth of a mile west of the lungs with a fever of the typhoid kind, other; it is of brick, 65 by 44 feet, built in commonly called pneumoniac Typhoides. the modern style, and is a good building; The subjects of this disease were generalthis created some little dissention and al- ly people of middle age, and many who ienation of feeling with a minority, but it were heads of families were swept off by is believed all are at present happily uni- it. It was much more fatal to males than ted. The members belonging to the Con- to females. Warm weather put a stop to gregational church may be estimated at its ravages, and the people have since, 180. In the year 1838, the Methodists built with few exceptions, been remarkably a new and elegant meeting house, in the healthy.* Dr. Robert Paddock from Conlower village, 624 by 44 feet. It was necticut, moved into this town in Aug., built in the modern style and well finish- 1794, and for many years was the princied, and has the appendage of a good bell. pal physician. There are, at present, This and the other new meeting house three others. The soil is, in general, a stand about 15 rods apart. Previous to dry warm loam, free from stone, and as building the new, the society sold their old meeting house to a number of individuals inclusive, were as follows : 1808, 16 ; 1809, 16 ; 1810,
*The number of deaths in Barre from 1808 to 1313 who removed it to a central part of the 24 ; 1811, 33 ; 1812, 34 ; and 1813, 70.
well adapted to agricultural pursuits as camp, near the mouth of this stream, lyany township in the county. The sur- ing on a bed of beaver skins, with a tin face is uneven, but there are no elevations kettle, containing herbs, probably for of much consequence except Cobble and medicine, hanging over the place where Millstone hills, so called, the first in the he had built a fire. He was buried near easterly, the other in the southeast part the spot, and from him the branch receivof the town, each of which is made up of ed its name. Jail branch rises in Washan almost solid mass of granite. The ington, (see Washington,] runs northergranite is of a light gray color, and is not ly into Orange, thence westerly into Barsurpassed by any in New England. Jail re, and unites with Stevens' branch a litBranch washes the base of Cobble hill tle south of the lower village, and near on the southwesterly side, from which it the centre of the town. These streams, rises abruptly, and, in some places, almost in their passage through the town, afford perpendicularly to the height of about many excellent mill and other water priv500 feet. On the east, north and west, it ileges. There are two considerable villasubsides gradually to the adjoining farms, ges in town, commonly denominated the so as to be easy of ascent with teams, to upper and the lower, or Barre and south its summit. The region here, mostly Barre. The lower village is situate about covered with granite rock, would, proba- three-fourths of a mile northwesterly of bly, form an area of about 200 acres. the geographical centre of the town; and Millstone hill lies about a mile and a half from its central situation, as the stage south of Cobble hill-it is a much larger road from Royalton to Montpelier, and swell and probably rises higher than the the stage road from Haverhill and Hanoformer. It is of hemispherical form, and ver, N. H., to Montpelier, form a junction generally of regular ascent on all sides. here, it bids fair to become a place of conThe region of rock is greatest on the north siderable business. Within a few years and westerly part. This and the other this village has made considerable imhill contain inexhaustible quarries of this provement. Twingsville, situate half a stone. The granite for the State House mile north of this, is a neat little village in Montpelier was taken wholly from and has been built up within a few years, these hills, and transported thither with under the auspices of Mr. Twing; and teams ; the distance from Cobble hill be from its proximity to this, may justly be ing 8, from the other 9 miles. The Pil- said is belonging to it. In this village, lars in front of said building were taken united, there are two taverns, three from Cobble hill. This granite is a source stores, two houses of public worship, two of profit to the individuals who own it, school houses, one of which is 36 by 26 and as the country around advances in feet, two stories, built of brick ; one improvement and wealth, it is eagerly starch factory, one clothier's shop one sought by those who can afford the ex- carding machine, one tin, stove-pipe and pense, as a most durable and ornamental copper plate manufacturer, two shoe article in building. It is used for base- shops, four black smith shops, one tannements, or under-pinning, pilasters and ry, one tailor shop, two plough makers, caps for doors, caps and sills for windows, one wheel wright, also, a grist and sur door steps, fence posts, acqueducts, and mill, a foundry and factory for turning many other purposes. It is quarried from iron, which belong to Mr. Joshua Twing, the rock by means of drilling and settling and deserve a passing notice. This facwedges fitted for the purpose, by which tory or machine shop is a spacious buildit is split to any length, thickness anding of brick, 80 by 28 feet, two stories and depth, required. This stone, when does a good business in the line for which wrought by skillful workmen is capable it was erected, which is, principaily in finof receiving a smoothness nearly equal to ishing and polishing castings for mills, marble; and there are a number of artists &c. and is the only factory of the kind in in the town who are engaged in working the state. In connexion with this building it
. Large quantities of it are transported is a foundry, in which the largest mill to Montpelier, Burlington and other parts irons are cast, after which, by operation of the country. The principal streams of the machinery, (which is principally are Stevens' and Jail branches. Stevens' the invention of the owner,) they receive branch rises in Williamstown and runs a trimming and polish not heretofore north into Barre, and then takes a north- known in this part of the country. These westerly course through a corner of Ber- castings, in the manner in which they are lin,andunites with Winooski river between finished, have obtained great celebrity, Berlin and Montpelier. Previous to the not only in this state, but in the neigh. settlement of this town, a hunter by the boring states. Many sets of these castname of Stevens was found dead in his ings have found their way into Pennsylva
BARTON RIVER-BASIN HARBOR.
BATTENKILL. nia, North Carolina, Missouri and Wis-ganization there were 19 legal voters in consin. In the foundry, about 100 tons town. The Congregational church and of iron are annually wrought into these society here have a good meeting house, castings, together with stoves and vari. which was erected in 1820, and princious other articles of general utility. Mr. pally at the expense and through the inTwing is noted as a mill-wright, and has, strumentality of Col. Ellis Cobb of this annually, in his employ, in building mills town. The soil of this township is genabroad, and in the various branches con- erally very good. Willoughby's river runs nected with the factory, about 30 work- a short distance in this town, and falls men. The number of inhabitants in the into Barton river. Barton riter rung village above mentioned, in connexion through the town from south to north. with Twingsville, is about 500. The The pond in Glover, which broke its upper village or south Barre, is situate a northern bound and run entirely out on mile and a half south of the lower, on the 6th of June, 1810, passed down this the road leading to Williamstown, and is river, making very destructive ravages; a considerable village. There are here, a the traces of which are still to be seen. meeting house, with a bell, one tavern, There are several ponds in Barton of one store, a good grist and two saw mills, which Belle pond is much the largest. the grist' mill containing four run of The outlet of this pond, which is one of stone, one carding machine, one foundry the head branches of Barton river, affords for casting stoves, &c., one clotheir's some of the finest mill seats in the coun. shop, one starch factory, one tannery and try. At this place is a thriving little vil. shoe shop, one cabinet shop and two lage, containing two taverns, two stores, blacksmith shops. This place is central- and a number of mills and mechanic's ly situated as a place of business for the shops. There are in town two saw mills, south part of the town. Number of in-one grist mill, one fulling mill, and one habitants in this village is about 200. woollen factory. Statistics of 1840.- HorBesides the above there is another foun- ses, 287; cattle, 1,058; sheep, 4,447, dry, centrally situated between the two swine, 492; wheat, bu. 1,177 ; barley, l, villages, for casting stoves, plow irons,&c. 072; oats, 8,632; rye, 46; b. wheat, 830; owned by J. L. & G. Robinson. Besides Ind. corn, 1,952; potatoes, 34,633; bay, the forementioned, there are in the town tons, 2,821 ; sugar, lbs, 26,041; wool, one other grist mill and three saw mills. 10,695. Population, 892. The town is divided into fifteen school Barton River is formed in the towndistricts, in each of which a school is gen- ship of Barton. One of the head brancherally maintained six months in a year. es of this river, originates in Glover from Statistics of 1840.—Horses, 543; cattle, the fountains of Runaway pond, and runs 2,826; sheep, 8,997 ; swine, 1,255; wheat, northerly into Barton; the other rises bu. 3,560 ; barley, 794 ; oats, 26,901 : rye, from two small ponds on the line between 698; b. wheat, 1,307; Ind. corn, 9,170; Sutton and Sheffield, and after passing potatoes, 120,337 ; hay, tons, 6,938 ; su- through Belle pond unites with the stream gar, Ibs. 62,158; wool, 26,621. Popula- from Glover. 'Their united waters take tion, 2,126
a northerly direction, and, just before they BARTON, a post town in Orleans coun- reach the north line of Barton, receive ty, situated in lat. 44° 45' and long. 4° Willoughby's river, a considerable stream 49', containing 36 square miles. It is which arises from a large pond of the bounded north by Brownington, east by same name in Westmore, and runs westWestmore and Sheffield, south by Glover, erly eight or nine miles through the south and west by Irasburgh and Albany, lying part of Brownington and north part of 40 miles northeasterly from Montpelier. Barton. From Barton, Barton river conOctober 28, 1781, it was granted to Gen. tinues a north course, passing through William Barton, of Rhode Island, and the northeast corner of Irasburgh and his associates, by the name of Providence ; eastern part of Orleans, into Memphreand from him the town derives its name. magog lake. This river waters about 160 It was chartered Oct. 20, 1789, and then square miles. took the name of Barton, in honor of the Basin HARBOR. See Ferrisburgh. principal proprietor. The settlement of BATTENKILL. This stream is formed in this town was commenced about the year Dorset near the head of Otter creek, and 1796, by Jonathan Allyne, Asa Kimball, runs south into Manchester, where it reJames May and John Kimball. The first ceives several branches; thence southwessettlers were from Rhode Island and New terly across the northwest corner of Sund. Hampshire. The town was organized erland into Arlington, where it receives March 20, 17:38, and Abner Allyne was Roaring brook, a considerable stream, first town clerk. At the time of its or which rises in Sunderland,and sererałoth
BELLE POND-PELLOWS FALLS-BELVIDERE.
er tributaries. It thence takes a westerly | Bennington in allusion to his pame. It direction through Washington, N. Y. re. was described as a township six miles ceiving in its course White creek, which square, lying six miles north of the Masoriginales in Rupert and Pawlet in Ver- sachusetts line, and 20 miles east of Hudmont, and falls into Hudson river, three son's river. The grantees were William or four miles below Fort Miller. The Williams and 61 other individuals, residwhole length of this stream is about 43 ing principally in Portsmouth, New Hampmiles, and about one half the length of it shire. This was the first township grantlies in this state. It waters, in Vermont, ed within the present limits of Vermont, about 225 square miles, and affords a num- and the conditions of this and subsequent ber of very good mill privileges. Along New Hampshire grants, may be seen in its banks are considerable tracts of val- the Forin of a New Hampshire charter, uable intervale.
in part second, page 224. Immediately BELAMAQEEN Bay. See St. Albans. after the grant the proprietors met at
BELLE Pond, called also Belle-water Portsmouth and made a plan of the townpond, is 3 miles long and 1.1 wide, situa- ship, by which, after laying out 64 lots ied in the southeastern part of Barton. It of one acre each, for each proprietor, near derives its name from the clearness of the centre for a “ town plot," in conformthis water.
ity with the provisions of the charter, they Bellows Falls. These are the most divided the residue into 64 equal parts, considerable falls in Connecticut river, which they distributed among themselves and are situated against the southeastern by lots. In the survey of the township, part of Rockingham. See Rockingham. which was made in October, 1749, an al
Bellows Falls VILLAGE. See Rock- lowance, in conformity with the custom ingham.
of the time, of one chain in every thirty BELVIDERE, a post town in the north- was made for "swag," by which the ern part of Lamoille county, lying on the township was enlarged and made to in. western range of the Green Mountains, clude about 39 square miles, instead of about 32 miles north east from Burling- 36, the actual charter quantity. In a ton, and about the same distance north statement of the claim of New York to from Montpelier. It is bounded north by the territory now Vermont, published by Avery's Gore and Lowell, east by Eden, order of the assembly of that province, in south by Johnson, and west by Water- 1773, it is said that the grantees of Benville, and contains 30100 acres. It was nington attempted to avail themselves of granted to John Kelly, March 5, 1787, their grant in 1753, but were prohibited and was chartered by the name of Belvi- from taking possession by a proclamation dere, November 4, 1791. A considerable issued by the governor of New York. part of this township is mountainous and Such proclamation must have been ununfit for cultivation. The settlement was necessary, the disturbed condition of the commenced about the year 1800, and in New England frontier being sufficient 1810 the population was 217, being ten to prevent the occupation of the lands more than at the present time. The till after the conquest of Canada, in 1760. township is watered by two branches of The settlement of the town commenced the river Lamoille, on one of which is a in the spring of 1761. The most advansaw mill. Statistics of 1840.—Horses, 42; ced posts at this time in New England, cattle, 246 ; sheep, 683; swine, 116; west of the Green Mountains, were two wheat, bu. 332; oats, 820; rye, 39; Ind. small forts, called east and west Hoosic; corn, 294; potatoes, 9,310 ; hay, tons, 553; the one situated about a mile west of the sugar, lbs. 3,440; wool, 1,187. Popula- present village of North Adams, Mass., tion. 207
and the other near the site of the meet. BENNINGTON, a half shire town of Ben- ing house in Williamstown. Here, forts nington county, lying near the southwest had, for a number of years, given partial corner of the state in lat. 42° 51' and protection to some families in their immelong. 3° 53'. It is bounded north by diate neighborhood, but afforded insuffiShaftsbury, east by Woodford, south by cient security against the French and InPownal and west by Hoosic, in Rensse- dians, to induce extensive settlements. laer county, New York, and is 100 miles There were, also, to the west of Benningsonth easterly from Montpelier, 110 miles ton, along the banks of the Hoosic, a few west by north from Boston, 33 north east Dutch families, four of which had seated from Albany, 160 northeasterly from New themselves as far up the river as Pownal. York, and 375 east by north from Wash. It is believed none of the grantees of the ington. The township was chartered by town ever removed to Bennington. The Benning Wentworth, governor of New first settlers were purchasers under the Hampshire, Jan. 3, 1740, and was called original proprietors and came from Mas