Gambar halaman
[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][graphic][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed]





Stereotyped by VINCENT L. DILL, 128 Fulton-street.

Printed by S. W. BENEDICT, 128 Fulton-street.

nounces our separation, and hold them, as we hold the rest of mankind, enemies in war, in peace, friends.

We, therefore, the representatives of the United States of America, in General Congress assembled, appealing to the Supreme Judge of the World for the rectitude of our intentions, do, in the name, and by the authority of the good people of these colonies, solemnly publish and declare, that these United Colonies are, and of right out to be, free and Independent States; that they are absolved from all allegiance to the British crown, and that all political connexion between them and the state of Great Britain, is, and ought to be, totally dissolved ; and that, as free and Independent States, they have full power to levy war, conclude peace, contract alliances, establish commerce, and to do all other acts and things which Independent States may of right do. And, for the support of this declaration, with a firm reliance on the protection of Divine Providence, we mutually pledge to each other, our lives, our fortunes, and our sacred honor.

The forgoing declaration was, by order of Congress, engrossed and signed by the following members :

JOHN HANCOCK. New Hampshire. New-Jersey. Charles Carroll, of

Joseph Bartlett, Richard Stockton,
William Whipple, John Witherspoon,
Mathew Thornton. Francis Hopkinson,

John Hart,

George Wythe, Massachusetts Bay. Abraham Clark. Richard Henry Lee,

Thomas Jefferson,
Samuel Adams,
John Adams,

Pennsylvania. Benjamin Harrison,

Thomas Nelson, Jr. Robert Treat Paine, Robert Morris,

Francis Lightfoot Lee, Elbridge Gerry. Benjamin Rush,

Carter Braxton.
Benjamin Franklin,
Rhode Island. John Morton,

North Carolina. Stephen Hopkins,

George Clymer,

James Smith, William Hooper, William Ellery.

George Taylor, Joseph Hewes,

James Wilson, John Penn.

George Ross.
Roger Sherman,

South Carolina. Samuel Huntington,


Edward Rutledge, William Williams,

Cæsar Rodney, Thomas Heyward, Jr. Oliver Wolcott.

George Read, Thomas Lynch, Jr.

Thomas M’Kean. Arthur Middleton.
William Floyd,


Phillip Livingston,

Samuel Chase, Button Guinett,
Francis Lewis,
William Paca,

Lyman Hall,
Lewis Morris.
Thomas Stone,

George Walton.


We, the people of the United States, in order to form a more

perfect union, establish justice, ensure domestic tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general welfare, and secure the blessings of liberty to ourselves and our posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.


Sec. I.-All legislative powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives.

Sec. II.-1. The House of Representatives shall be composed of members chosen every second year, by the people of the several states: and the electors in each state shall have the qualifications requisite for electors of the most numerous branch of the state legislature.

2. No person shall be a representative who shall not have attained the age of twenty-five years, and been seven years a citizen of the United States, and who shall not, when elected, be an inhabitant of the state in which he shall be chosen.

3. Representatives and direct taxes shall be apportioned among the several states which may be included within this union, according to their respective numbers, which shall be determined by adding to the whole number of free persons, including those bound to service for a term of years, and excluding Indians not taxed, three-fifths of all other persons. The actual enumeration shall be made within three years after the first meeting of the Congress of the United States, and within every subsequent term of ten years, in such manner as they shall by law direct. The number of representatives shall not exceed one for every thirty thousand, but each state shall have at least one representative : and until such enumeration shall be made, the state of NewHampshire shall be entitled to choose three ; Massachusetts eight; Rhode Island and Providence Plantations one; Connecticut five; New-York six ; New-Jersey four ; Pennsylvania eight; Delaware one ; Maryland six ; Virginia ten; North Carolina five; South Carolina five ; Georgia three.

4. When vacancies shall happen in the representation from any state, the executive authority thereof shall issue writs of election to fill such vacancies.

5. The House of Representatives shall choose their speaker and other officers, and shall have the sole power of impeachment.

Sec. III.-1. The Senate of the United States shall be composed of two senators from each state, chosen by the legislature thereof, for six years; and each senator shall have one vote.

2. Immediately after they shall be assembled in consequence of the first election, they shall be divided, as equally as may be, into three classes. The seats of the senators of the first class shall be vacated at the expiration of the second year, of the second class at the expiration of the fourth year, and the third class, at the expiration of the sixth year, so that one-third may be chosen every second year; and if vacancies happen by resignation or otherwise, during the recess of the legislature of any state, the executive thereof may make temporary appointments until the next meeting of the legislature, which shall then fill such vacancies.

3. No person shall be a senator who shall not have attained the age of thirty years, and been nine years a citizen of the United States, and who shall not, when elected, be an inhabitant of that state for which he shall be chosen.

4. The Vice-President of the United States shall be President of the Senate, but shall have no vote, unless they be equally divided.

5. The Senate shall choose their other officers and also a president pro-tempore, in the absence of the Vice-President, or when he shall exercise the office of President of the United States.

6. The Senate shall have the sole power to try all impeachments. When sitting for that purpose they shall be on oath or affirmation. When the President of the United States is tried, the Chief Justice shall preside ; and no person shall be convicted without the concurrence of two-thirds of the members present.

7. Judgment in cases of impeachment, shall not extend further than to removal from office, and disqualification to hold and enjoy any office of honor, trust or profit, under the United States; but the party convicted shall, nevertheless, be liable and subject to indictment, trial, judgment, and punishment according to law.

Sec. IV.-1. The times, places, and manner of holding elections for senators and representatives, shall be prescribed in each state, by the legislature thereof; but the Congress may, at any time, by law, make or alter such regulations, except as to the places of choosing senators.

« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »