Gambar halaman
PDF
ePub

Caspari's Hotel, Washington, D. C. Situated on South A street, between New Jer

sey avenue and First street east. Opened July, 1862; closed 26th February, 1863. Church, Ascension (Episcopal), Washington, D. C. Situated on north H street,

between Ninth and Tenth streets. Opened July, 1862; closod 20 March, 1863. Church, Baptist, Alexandria, Va. On Washington street, between Prince and Duke.

Branch of second division United States General Hospital.. Church, Dunbarton Street (Methodist Episcopal), Georgetown, D.C. On Dunbarton

street, between Congress and High. Opened October, 1862; closed 8th January,

1863. Church, E Street Baptist, Washington, D. C. On E street north, between Sixth and

Seventh streets west. Opened July, 1862; closed 26th December, 1862. Church, Ebenezer (Methodist Episcopal), Washington, D.C. On Fourth street east,

between South Carolina avenue and D street south. Opened July, 1862; closed

26th December, 1862. Church, Epiphany (Episcopal), Washington, D.C. On G street north, between Thir

teenth and Fourteenth streets west. Opened July, 1862; closed 11th January,

1863. Church, Fourth Presbyterian, Washington, D. C. On Ninth street west, between

G and H streets north. Opened July, 1862; closed 20 March, 1863. Church, Grace (Episcopal), Alexandria, Va. On Patrick street, between Prince and

Duke streets. Branch of second division, and afterwards continued and known

as L'Ouverture General Hospital for Colored People. Church, Grace (Episcopal), Washington, D. C. On D street sonth, between Eighth

and Ninth streets west. Opened July, 1862; closed January, 1863. Church or meeting house of the Society of Friends, Alexandria, Va. On corner of

St. Asaph and Wolfe streets. Church, Methodist Episcopal, South, Alexandria, Va. On Washington street,

between King and Prince. Branch of second division Uniteil States General

Hospital. Churcb, Presbyterian, Georgetown, D. C. On Bridge street, between Washington

and Green, south side. Opened September, 1862; closed 29th December, 1862. Church, Ryland Chapel (Methodist Episcopal), Washington, D. C. On southeast

corner of D street south and Tenth street west. Opened July, 1862; closed

January, 1863. Church, Second Presbyterian, Alexandria, Va. On corner of St. Asaph and Prince

streets. Church, St. Panl's (Episcopal), Alexandria, Va. Corner of Duke and Pitt streets

Branch of first division United States General Hospital, Alexandria. Church, Trinity (Episcopal), Washington, D.C. Corner of C street north and Third

west. Opened July, 1862; closed April, 1863. Church, Trinity (Catholic), Georgetown, D.C. On Lingan, between First and Second

streets. Opened October, 1862; closed January 12, 1863. Church, Thirteenth Street Baptist, Washington, D. C. On east side of Thirteenth

street west, between G and H north. Opened and closed with Epiphany on G

street. Church, Unitarian, Washington, D. C., also known by the name of Cranch Hospital.

On corner of Sixth street west and D street north. Opened July, 1862; closed

December 26, 1862. Church, Union Chapel (Methodist Episcopal), Washington, D. C. On Twentieth

street west, between Pennsylvania avenue and H street north. Opened July,

1862; closed December, 1862. "Circle General Hospital, Riggs House, corner of Twenty-fourth and K streets,

Washington. 1 City Hall General Hospital, Indiana and Louisiana avenues, between Fourth and

Fifth streets northwest, Washington. Claremont General Hospital, located in the Claremont mansion, 24 miles from

Alexandria. Cliff burn (Mrs. Hobbie's residence), Washington County, D. C. Situated about 1 College, Columbian, Washington County, D. C. Situated on the Heights, just north

mile boyond the city boundary, from northern terminus of Twentieth street west. Large buildings and tents erected on the grounds to increase accommodations in addition to the mansion. Opened April, 1862; closed December, 1862.

| Hospital not given in Dr. Toner's list, but in records of the War Department, December 10, 1897.

7260—3

of the corporation limits, with tents and temporary buildings erected on grounds,

on the Fourteenth street road. Opened July 1861; closed July 10, 1863. College, Georgetown (Catholic), Georgetown, D.C. Situated on the Heights, over

looking Washington and the Potomac River. Opened in September, 1862;

closed February 1, 1863. ? Commissary Hospital, Alexandria, Va. In a house on Prince street, between Union

and Water. 2 Convalescent Camp, rendezvous of distribution, and Augur Hospital, near Alex

andria. Daingerfield, Mrs. Edward (private residence), Alexandria, Va. Corner of Wolfe

and Pitt streets. Branch of the first division United States General Hospital. Desmares (residence of Charles Hill, sr.), on the corner of Massachusetts avenne

and Fourteenth street. Inclosed with the house is a half square of ground upon which additional frame buildings were erected. Opened March, 1863; closed December 2, 1865. (This building is now used as the Columbia Hospital

for Women and Lying-in Asylum.) Douglas (private residence of the late Stephen A.), Washington, D. C. Including

two adjoining dwelling houses and temporary frame buildings, erected on the remainder of the square bounded by New Jersey avenue and Third street north

and I and K streets west. Opened January, 1862; closed December 11, 1865. Dwelling house, No. 461 E street north, between Fifth and Sixth streets west.

Occupied after the burning of the Washington Infirmary, and until the Douglas

Hospital was opened. Eckington (private residence of the late Joseph Gales), situated about half a mile

beyond the city limits, opposite the north western terminns of New York avenue. Temporary buildings and tents were erected here to increase hospital accommo

dations. Opened January, 1862; closed April 3, 1863. Emory Hospital, Washington, D. C. Frame building erected on purpose, covering

the squares bounded by Seventeenth and Nineteenth streets east and B and D

streets south. Opened August 1, 1862; closed July 22, 1865. English, Miss L. S. Female Seminary, Georgetown, D. C. Situated on the north

east corner of Gay and Washington streets. Opened July, 1861; closed July

18, 1865. 2 Eruptive Fever General Hospital, First street, between B and C streets southeast,

Washington. Female Boarding School, Alexandria, Va. On Washington street, between Queen

and Cameron. Branch third division United States General Hospital. Finley, Washington County, D. C. Buildings erected on purpose at Kendall Green,

just outside of the city limits, opposite northern terminus of Fourth street east.

Opened July, 1862; closed August, 1865. Fowle, W. H. Private residence, Alexandria, Va. On Prince, between Columbus

and Alford streets. Branch of second division United States General Hospital. General Hospital (Fairfax Seminary), located in the Protestant Episcopal Theo

logical Seminary, 2 miles from Alexandria. ? General Hospital, Giesboro Point. 2 General Hospital, Nos. 360 and 361 C street northwest, Washington. 2 Grosvenor House (branch of third division General Hospital), located in the Gros

venor House, on Washington street, between Princess and Orinoco streets, Alex

andria, and in the Casenove House. | Hallowell, B. Private residence, Alexandria, Va. On Washington street, between

Green and Cameron. Branch of third division United States General Hospital. Hallowell, James S. Female Seminary, Alexandria, Va. On Fairfax, between

Cameron and Queen streets. Branch of first division United States General

Hospital. Harewood, Washington County, D.C. On the farm of W. W. Corcoran, about one

1

mile and a half directly north of the city limits. Extensive frame buildings erected on purpose for hospitals. Opened September, 1862; closed May 24,1863.

1 Not corroborated by any record found in the War Department, December 10, 1897.-Letter of Surgeon-General Sternberg to the joint committee.

* Hospital not given in Dr. Toner's list, but in records of the War Department, December 10, 1897.

[graphic][merged small]

Island Hail, Washington, D. C. Corner of D street south and Sixth street west.

Opened July, 1862; closed March, 1863. | Jewish Synagogne, Washington, D. C. On the west side of Eighth street west,

between H and I north. Openod July, 1862; closed March, 1863 Johnson, Rev.J.T. Private residence, Alexandria, Va. On Prince between Columbus

and Alford streets. Branch of second division United States General Hospital. Judiciary Square, Washington, D.C. Commodious frame buildings erected on this

square after the burning of the Washington Intirmary. Opened April, 1862;

closed July 8, 1865. Kalorama, Washington County, D.C. Hospital for eruptive diseases. The private

residence of General Bomford, and once the residence of Joel Barlow and his friend Robert Fulton, pleasantly situated on an elevated site just outside the city limits, opposite the northern terminus of Twenty-tirst street west.

Opened early in the war, and still continued. Lincoln Hospital, Washington, D.C. Extensive frame buildings, erected for the

purpose, fronting west, in the square between Thirteenth and Fourteenth streets east, following pretty nearly the line of North Carolina avenne to Seventeenth street cast, and then along that street to A street south, and then in a triangular direction to the point of beginning. Opened January, 1863; closed

August 26, 1865. Buildings now occupied by quartermaster's stores. L'Ouverture Hospital, for colored troops, Alexandria, Va. Buildings erected on the

corner of Washington and Prince streets. Opened March, 1861; closed Septem

ber, 1865. (Then opened by the Freedmen's Bureau and continued as a hospital.) Lycenm Building, Alexandria, Va. Corner of Washington and Prince streets.

Branch of second division United States General Hospital. Mansion House (hotel), Alexandria, Va. Corner of Cameron and Fairfax streets.

Headquarters first division United States General Hospital, MeVeigh, J. H. (private residence), Alexandria, Va. Corner of St. Asaph and

Cameron streets. Branch of third division United States General Hospital. Mount Pleasamt, Washington County, D. C. On the Holmead estate, Piney Branch

road. Frame buildings erected for the purpose about 1 mile north of the city limits, from the termination of Fourteenth street. Opened April, 1862; closed

August 10, 1865. National Era Building, Washington, D. C. Corner of Indiana avenue and Second

street west. Opened July, 1862; closed April, 1863. . Now Hallowell (branch of the General Hospital, and third division General Hos

pital), located in William Hallowell's three-story brick house, on Washington

street, opposite Old Hallowell General Hospital, Alexandria. Odd Fellows' Hall, Washington, D. C. On Eighth street east, between F and G

sonth. Opened July, 1862; closed March, 1863. Old Capitol Prison, Washington, D. C. Corner of A street north and First street

east, to which was attached an extensive hospital for State prisoners. 2 Old Hallowell (branch of the third Division General Hospital), located in Old Hal

lowell school building on west side of Wasbington street, between Cameron and

Queen streets, Alexandria. Patent Office, Washington, D.C. Occupying squares bounded by Seventh and Ninth

streets west and F and G streets north. The north and west wings used as a

hospital. Opened October, 1861; closed Jamary 16, 1863. Robertson, T. B. (private residence), Alexandria, Va. Corner of Prince and Colum

bia streets; was occupied as headquarters second division United States General

Hospital. Taken September, 1862. Schoolhonse (public), Washington, D. C. On Judiciary Square, Fifth street west,

between G and H streets north. Occupied November 3, 1861, after the burning of the Washington Intirmary; vacated on the opening of Douglas Hospital in

January, 1862. ? Sickel Barracks General Hospital (branch of second division General Hospital).

Designation changed to Sickel General Hospital; located in a three-story brick

building in the northwest section of Alexandria. 2 Slough Barracks General Hospital, branch of the third division (designation changed

to Slough General Hospital). Located in wooden barracks on Duke street,

Alexandria. Not corroborateil by any record found in the War Department, December 10, 1897.Letter of Surgeon-General Sternberg to the joint commitice.

- Hospital not given in Dr. Toner's list, but in records of the War Department, December 10, 1897.

« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »