Escape from Freedom

Sampul Depan
Open Road Media, 26 Mar 2013 - 301 halaman
Why do people choose authoritarianism over freedom? The classic study of the psychological appeal of fascism by a New York Times–bestselling author.
 The pursuit of freedom has indelibly marked Western culture since Renaissance humanism and Protestantism began the fight for individualism and self-determination. This freedom, however, can make people feel unmoored, and is often accompanied by feelings of isolation, fear, and the loss of self, all leading to a desire for authoritarianism, conformity, or destructiveness. It is not only the question of freedom that makes Fromm’s debut book a timeless classic. In this examination of the roots of Nazism and fascism in Europe, Fromm also explains how economic and social constraints can also lead to authoritarianism.

By the author of The Sane Society and The Anatomy of Human Destructiveness, this is a fascinating examination of the anxiety that underlies our darkest impulses, an enlightening volume perfect for readers of Eric Hoffer or Hannah Arendt.
 This ebook features an illustrated biography of Erich Fromm including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s estate.   
 

Apa yang dikatakan orang - Tulis resensi

Penilaian pengguna

5 bintang
5
4 bintang
0
3 bintang
1
2 bintang
0
1 bintang
0

LibraryThing Review

Ulasan Pengguna  - RajivC - LibraryThing

This is an outstanding book. It took me a while to finish reading it, because it is incredibly deep. There is, it seems, a relationship between our need for freedom and our need to belong. We have ... Baca ulasan lengkap

LibraryThing Review

Ulasan Pengguna  - csweder - LibraryThing

Here is a book that was recommended to me early in my grad school career, and for some reason I have put off reading it until now. (Studying for comps has pushed me to "get my reading on"...) I read ... Baca ulasan lengkap

Isi

Foreword
FreedomA Psychological Problem?
The Emergence of the Individual and the Ambiguity
Freedom in the Age of the Reformation
The Two Aspects of Freedom for Modern
Mechanisms of Escape
Destructiveness
VIPsychology of Nazism
The Illusion of Individuality
Notes
A Biography of Erich Fromm
Hak Cipta

Edisi yang lain - Lihat semua

Istilah dan frasa umum

Tentang pengarang (2013)

Erich Fromm (1900–1980) was a bestselling psychoanalyst and social philosopher whose views about alienation, love, and sanity in society—discussed in his books such as Escape from Freedom, The Art of Loving, The Sane Society, and To Have or To Be?—helped shape the landscape of psychology in the mid-twentieth century. Fromm was born in Frankfurt, Germany, to Jewish parents, and studied at the universities of Frankfurt, Heidelberg (where in 1922 he earned his doctorate in sociology), and Munich. In the 1930s, he was one of the most influential figures at the Frankfurt Institute of Social Research. In 1934, as the Nazis rose to power, he moved to the United States. He practiced psychoanalysis in both New York and Mexico City before moving to Switzerland in 1974, where he continued his work until his death. 

Informasi bibliografi