« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
TABLE II.—Showing the area of the several States and Territories containing public lands, and the quantity devoted for educational
3,113, 464. 18
purposes by Congress up to June 30, 1867. (Compiled from Report of the Commissioner of the Land Office for 1867.)
Donations and grants for
States and Territories containing
Areas of States and Terri.
tories containing public
Granted for agricultural col.
priated June 30, Selected in Located with
21, 949. 46
2, 097. 43
89. miles. Actes.
650, 317 46, 080
900, 807. 59
46, 080 240, OCO. 96 1,760.00
119, 852. 17 488, 803. 03
411, 959. 70
Condition in 1814. Dr. Dwight has left in Letter XVII, as published in the first volume of his “ Travels in New England and New York," an account of the institution as it was under his administration down to 1814, and which, as he remarks in the introduction to the English gentleman to whom the letters are supposed to be addressed, because of the office he held in it,' must claim our confidence.
In consequence of the benefaction of the Legislature in 1792, out of which the College realized $40,629.80, the Trustees were able to purchase the whole front of the square on the northwestern side of the Green, and on this ground to erect three new academical buildings and a house for the President; to make a handsome addition to the Library; to procure a complete Philosophical and Chemical apparatus; and to establish three new Professorships-a Professorship of Chemistry, in 1800; of Law, in 1804; and of Languages and Ecclesiastical History, in 1805.
The Academical buildings consist of three Colleges, * of four stories, each containing thirty-two rooms, named Connecticut Hall, Union Hall and Berkeley Hall; a Chapel, containing in the third story a Philosophical chamber and rooms for the Philosophical apparatus; and a building resembling the Chapel in form, and named the Connecticut Lyceum. This building contains seven recitation rooms; six for the three younger classes, and one for the Senior class ; a chemical Laboratory, and its necessary appendages; two chambers, occupied by Professors; and the Library. The number of books in the Library is about seven
* A large and commodious college, and a rector's house were erected in 1717 at New llaven; 170 feet long, 22 feet wide, 3 stories high, containing in all 50 studies, beside a hall, library, and kitchen, at a cost of about 1,000 pounds, sterling. It was demolished in 1782. To this building was given the name originally of Yale College, from Elihu Yale, by whose generosity the trustees were enabled to complete the building. The name was not given to the college till after the new charter of 1745, in which the name of Collegiate School gave place to Yale College.
The second building, fronting on College street, was begun by the erection of the South Middle, whose foundation was laid in 1750, but was not finished and occupied till 1756. In 1797, R regular four-story took the place of its French roof, at a cost of 1,180 pounds, sterling. To this building was given the name of Connecticut Hall.
The foundation of the Chapel, with accommodations for a library, was laid in 1761, 50 feet long, and 40 feet wide, with a steeple and galleries, in which there were three rostra for orations and disputations. It was opened in June, 1763, with a sermon preached by Professor Daggett, in the presence of the President and Fellows, and a large number of other gentlemen. Up to 1765 it had cost 700 pounds, sterling ; one-third of which came from the colonial treasury. Its present name is the Athenæum.
South College was begun in 1793, during the presidency of Dr. Stiles. It was completed July 16, 1794, and named Union Hall, in commemoration of the union of State and Church in the college corporation.
In 1803 the North Middle, named Berkley Hall, was erected, and in the same year the Conpecticut Lyceum, having a front of 46 feet, and a depth of 56.
The president's house was commenced in 1716, avd finished in 1722, and was occupied for 80 years, or until 1799, by six successive presidents. It was situated in College street, near the corner of Chupel, and was demolished in 1834. From the sale of the land, funds were derived for constructing a new president's house, which was finished in the autumn of 1799.
The house for the Professor of Divinity was begun in June, 1757, and completed at a cost of 300 pounds, sterling.
The building, used by Prof. Silliman for the chemical laboratory, was built in 1782 for a dining ball and kitchen, and originally meusured 60 by 30 feet.
thousand volumes. Few libraries are probably more valuable in proportion to their size. The situation of the Academical buildings is uncommonly pleasant, fronting the Green on the northwestern side, upon a handsome elevation, with a spacious yard before them. The buildings are plain, but so arranged as to strike the eye with pleasure.
The course of education pursued in this Seminary, is the following: Students are examined for admission in The Greek Testament; the several the Works of Virgil.
branches of Arithmetic. The Select Orations of Cicero. Sallust, and Collectanea Græca Minora. Clark's, or Mair's Introduction to the making of Latin.
In the first or Freshman year are studied, Collectanea Græca Majora.
Adam's Roman Antiquities. Homer's Iliad, six books.
Morse's Geography, Vol. I. Livy, the first five books.
Webber's Mathematics, Vol. I. Cicero de Oratore.
In the second, or Sophomore year, Horace.
Euclid's Elements. Collectanea Græca Majora, Vol. I. English Grammar. Morse's Geography, Vol. II.
Tytler's Elements of History. Webber's Mathematics, Vol. II.
In the third, or Junior year,
In the fourth, or Senior year, Blair's Lectures--Logic.
Locke on the Human Understanding. Chemistry, Natural Philosophy, and Paley's Moral Philosophy. Astronomy.
Theology. The Professor of Divinity reads no Public Lectures, properly so called. Instead of this, he delivers a system of Divinity in Sermons, one every Sabbath in term time through four years, the period of education in the College. The number of these discourses is one hundred and sixty; the term time in each year being forty weeks. He also delivers an informal Lecture to the Senior class every week; completing in this manner a system of Theology each year. The officers and students of the College, and the families of the officers, form a congregation of themselves; and celebrate public worship in the Chapel. A considerable number of strangers, however, are usually present. This professorship, devoted to Sacred Theology, was instituted in 1755.
The Professor of Mathematics and Natural Philosophy goes through a course of philosophical experiments with the Junior class, every year; and delivers two lectures to the Senior class, every week. This professorship was founded in 1770.
The Professor of Chemistry delivers one hundred and twenty lectures in that science, every year, to the two elder classes ; so that each class hears a complete course of chemical lectures twice. These are delivered in the Laboratory, a room peculiarly convenient for this purpose. They have, here, the advantage of seeing every experiment commenced and completed. In a common lecturing-room this would be impracticable. Chemistry is taught here with all the modern improvements. The apparatus is ample; and the establishment suporior, it is believed, to any thing of the kind on this continent. The Chemical
Professor, also, delivers private lectures on mineralogy. A very valuable cabi-
The Professor of Languages and Ecclesiastical History (instituted in 1777) delivers a completo course of lectures on the latter subject, commencing with the earliest period of the Church, and extending to the present time.
The Professor of Law, instituted in 1801, is required to read thirty-six lectures only, to be completed in two years, on the Law of Nature, the American Constitution, and the Jurisprudence of Connecticut.
A Medical Institution will be established in this Seminary at the next meeting of the Corporation. It will consist of three Professorsliips, beside that of Chemistry ; one of the Materia Medica and Botany, one of Anatomy and Surgery, and one of the Theory and Practice of Physic. In this Institution the Medical Society of this State coöperate with the College. The students will be required to study two years, and will be examined by a committee of eight; four of them Professors, the other four chosen by the Medical Convention. When they have heard one course of lectures, and have been approved at this examination, they will receive a license to practice Physic and Surgery. Buty to receive the degree of M. D., they must have heard two courses of lectures. A course will be completed each year.*
The three younger academical classes are divided, and have each two Tutors. To them they recite three times a day, four days in the week, and twice the two remaining days. The Senior class recites once a day to the President. All the classes are made responsible for the manner in which they hear, and remember, the lectures; being examined at every lecture concerning their knowledge of the preceding; and accordingly are all furnished with note-books, in which they take down, at the time, the principal subjects of every lecture. This responsibility, so far as I am informed, is rarely a part of an European system of education.
In addition to all these exercises, the students in the several classes are required daily to exhibit, in succession, compositions of various kinds; all of which are examined by the respective instructors. The Senior and Junior classes also dispute forensically, every week, two questions on some subject, approved by the instructor. When the dispute is ended, the instructor discusses the question at length, and gives his own views of it, and of the several arguments on both sides, to the class. This is believed to be an exercise not infe. rior in its advantages to any other. The students also declaim, both publicly and privately, during their academical course. On the third Wednesday of July, annually, the Senior class is examined by the Professors, Tutors, and other gentlemen, commissioned for that purpose, in their whole course of studies. After the examination is ended, a vote is taken on each, by wbich it is determined whether he shall receive the degree of Bachelor of Arts. The issue of this procedure is then reported to the President, and by him, on the Tuesday preceding the Commencement, to the Corporation. Such as are approved by the exam. iners, and have been guilty of no improper conduct in the interim, are then by
• The Medical Institution of Yule College was opened the beginning of Noveinber, 1814. The number of students was thirty-seven. The next year it amounted to fifty-sevea, and the year following to sixty-six. A valuable building styled the Medical College, together with land intended for a Botanic Garden, was purchased out of the Sinte npproprintion of $20,000 assigned to the institution by the legislature out of the bonus of $50,001 pand into the treasury of the State by the Phænis Bank of Hartford, for its charter, in 1814.