« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
Of living business or professional men it is not our purpose to speak; they have not yet passed into history; but there are now four dry goods stores, eight groceries, two hotels, two banks, two hardware stores, three drug stores, two jewelry stores, two boot and shoe stores, two millinery stores, six blacksmith shops, 'one wagon shop, two lumber yards, two flouring mills, two newspapers, seven lawyers, six doctors, six ministers, one furniture store, one tobacconist, three livery stables, a general machine shop and foundry, three meat markets, three harness shops, two dentists, one academy, two photograph galleries, three machine men, and one feed, salt and lime store. Population about 2,400.
Woodstock is an incorporated city. It is supposed that the city owes but little, if any, debt. The corporation covers but one square mile; there is one fire engine, two wells and two reservoirs in the square, and Woodstock bids fair to extend her limits and double her population.
Two years ago this winter, the young people of Woodstock organized a Dramatic Association, with J. H. Earlie as stage manager. It has brought out, with great success, no less than twelve different plays. All the scenery and furniture is owned by the association.
The park is ornamented with a beautiful spring house, built three years ago, at a cost of $600, where, during the summer months, may be found an abundance of the best water.
DUNHAM, TOWNSHIP 45, RANGE 5.
The first settlers in this township were J. N. Jerome and 0. C. Diggins, who came in 1836. In 1837, Messrs. A. Joslyn, R. Latham, Joseph Diggins, Robert Walton, S. J. Dunham and Joseph and Thomas Metcalf.
In 1840, a log school house was built by School District No. 1, on Section 1, and a school immediately opened.
The first and only church in the township was erected at what is known as County Line, by the Methodists; and the first preacher was Rev. P. M. Huffman, who still lives near the church. The building cost about $2,000.
Dunham contains no store, mill, blacksmith shop or post office, but in an early day, Cyrus Allen had a plow factory in the southeast part of the town, when manufacturers' agents were not so plenty as now; but he ceased the manufacture some years ago, and nothing of the kind is now carried on, except by J. A. Wood, who makes, upon his own farm, a washing machine of his own patent. His factory is about two miles south of Chemung.
There are about two miles of railroad in the township, the Chicago & Northwestern crossing the northeast, and the Rockford & Kenosha the northwest corner, each at about the same angle.
Rush Creek, a branch of the Kishwaukee, crosses the township from north-east to southwest, passing out on Section 34, and the Piskasaw crosses the northwest corner in about the same general direction, so it is well watered.
In 1874, a cheese factory was built on Section 3, in School District No. 3, and is still in operation. Latham Corners once had a store, but its existence was a brief one; and at this time, Dunham has no public place of any kind, elections being held in school houses, for want of a better place.
This township is better adapted to stock than grain ; many sheep being kept, the owners of which have lost more by the ravages of dogs than any other township in the county.
GRAFTON, TOWNSHIP 13, RANGE 7. This is one of the oldest settled townships in the county, but as we have not succeeded in getting any facts of its early history of the old settlers, although having an abundance of promises, it is impossible to go very extensively into details concerning its early history.
It contains a large proportion of low, wet land about the central parts, hence is better adapted to stock than to grain, and, like the neighboring towns of Coral and Algonquin, the leading industry among the farmers is the dairy business, the village of Huntley possessing the largest factory in the county, as well as in the United States, which factory was erected in the winter of 1875, of wood, and stands close to the railroad, by D. E. Wood & Co., manufacturing yearly 600,000 lbs. of cheese and 100,000 lbs. of butter; cheese at an average price of 10 cts. a lb. and butter at an average price of 35 cts. They have also a factory of stone and wood on Section 10, built in 1874, manufacturing yearly 150,000 lbs. of cheese and 30,000 lbs. of butter. The products of these factories are shipped to all the markets of the world. The first cheese factory was built in Huntley, in 1866, by R. W. & W. H. Stewart, the building still standing, although unoccupied.
About one-fourth of Section 1 is covered by the west half of Crystal Lake, while Sections 2, 3, 4, 8 and 6 are traversed by the Kishwaukee, the south branch of which rises on Section 11, crosses the northwest corner of Section 14, and runs through Sections 15, 16, 17 and 7. Another and smaller branch crosses Sections 32, 30 and 19.
The township has one railroad, the Galena Division of the C. & N. W. R. R., which enters between Sections 33 and 34, running northwest through Sections 20 and 19, making about nine miles of track.
The village of Huntley was but a short time in reaching its present dimensions, but like other towns in the county has grown but little in the past eight years. The population is largely “foreign.”
In the spring of 1875, the neatest school building in the county was erected at Huntley, and strangers are shown to the school house as the institution of which they are proud, and well they may be.
The village contains one hotel and several small stores, besides the usual supply of mechanics, but no manufactories are carried on there except the two cheese factories and a mill that works up flax straw into tow. This township has greatly improved within the past five years.
GREENWOOD, TOWNSHIP 45, RANGE 7, EAST OF THIRD PRIN
The earliest settlers in this township were Lewis Boone, Henry Westerman, Oliver and Alden Stone, Elijah Slafton, who brought a family of two or three children, and James Watson, these all making their claims in 1837. Boone made his claim, like some in Hartland, rather large, including both timber and prairie; but, in the dispute which followed, Boone took the law into his own hands, demolishing a cabin, which one McCollum had erected on a part of his (Boone's) claim, and, not content with that, chopped the logs in two; then, meeting McCollum, accused him of trying to jump his claim. The quarrel ended in a fight, in which Boone came out with flying colors. The settlers took sides, and the vanquished Mack, with his clan, waylaid the Boones, and got even, so far as a field fight and a victory could make it so. But the matter was not allowed to rest there, and, at the first opportunity, these parties carried the case into court, Boone vs. McCollum stanidng first on the docket of the first County Court.
Section 35 claims the honor of furnishing a site for the first school house, it having been built in 1843, near the residence of William D. Given. The first school, of fifteen pupils, was taught by Miss Melinda Pease, of Crystal Lake.
The Methodists took the lead in church building, erecting one, in 1848, upon the site of the first school house. It may be as well to state here that preaching in that meeting house was discontinued some years ago, and, in 1875, it was taken down, brought to Woodstock and converted into sheds to shelter the horses of those who worship in the M. E. Church, of that place.
The first preacher in that church was N. Jewett, but in the township he had been preceded by a Baptist minister, Rev. Joel Wheeler, whose places of worship were school houses or private dwellings. At present, two denominations of Christians hold meetings in the township; the Presbyterians, with a membership of about 23 and a church building estimated to have cost $2,000, and the Baptists, with a house of worship, also in the village of Greenwood, built in 1873, costing about $3,000, and a membership of about 50.
In 1841, W. Lake built a saw-mill on Section 11, for which the Nippersink furnished the motive power. This mill has done its duty, but remains as a relic of ancient times, making the village of Greenwood more picturesque, if not more beautiful. Next, Toles & Brown about one mile below built another sawmill, and in 1845, the same firm erected the first grist-mill, costing about $5,000. This was burned in 1862, and Job Toles, just below the old lake saw-mill, in 1847, put up a second grist-mill, which is still doing a good business, estimated at $4,000 to $6,000 yearly.
Abbott & Thompson, in 1848, erected the first cheese-factory in the township, and dispose of the milk furnished by one hundred and fifty to two hundred cows, and put upon the market annually from ninety to one hundred thousand pounds of cheese. It is now manufacturing butter and cheese, under the name of 0. C. Thompson & Co. In 1870, Job Toles erected the second cheese factory near his grist-mill, and after running it one or two seasons, leased to the firm above mentioned, who now monopolize the butter and cheese business in this town.
The village of Greenwood was first laid out in 1842, and lots added to in 1845. It contended for the honor of having the county seat when it was removed from McHenry in 1843; but, owing to the want of proper stimulus, to wit, railroad or manufactures, has made little growth in the past fifteen years.
In 1854–55, Weller & Hamilton planted several acres to apple trees, and Greenwood had a nursery which continued for several years, Hamilton finally selling out and moving to Ridgefield, and Weller closing out the business. At present Garrison Brothers carry on the business of fruit and ornamental trees, garden seeds and flowers. They are doing a large and increasing business. The first orchard was set by Andrew Murphy, on Queen Ann Prairie, in 1842, the trees being brought from Lockport, Will County. That orchard is now dead, but the one raised by him from the seed still Aourishes, and furnishes Mr. Murphy with an abundance of good apples.
The first store was opened at Boone's Mill by a Mr. Lockwood, about 1847, who soon moved away, being succeeded by the store built by C. M. Goodsell, at Greenwood village, which, although frequently changing hands, still exists in the hands of J. J. Philbrick. Goodsell was very successful after the retirement of his partner, Simmons, who is now an attorney at law in Geneva.
Whether fortunately or otherwise, Greenwood can boast of but one mile of railroad, the Chicago & North-Western, running across the southwest corner of the township; but in the matter of mounds, mention must be made of several on Section 10, near the Nippersink. Some of them have been opened, and were found to contain human remains and instruments of domestic use, supposed to be the work of the Mound Builders.
HEBRON, TOWNSHIP 46, RANGE 8.
This township was first settled in 1836-7, by J. H. Giddings, Geo. W. Giddings, Eli W. Brigham, C. and John Adams and Mrs. Tryon, who was, for some time, the only woman in the township, and, as a matter of course, her house became a general resort for the bachelors thereabout who could sing, so Sunday
was generally spent at the Tryon house in one general musical entertainment, at one of which the subject of naming the township was introduced, when, at the suggestion of that lady, that as “Hebron” was a good tune, it being a favorite of hers, it could not fail to be a good name for the town; the hint was taken, and soon the christening took place, which was upon the occasion, when Charles H. had bought a hog, made it passably fat, and the lard being tried out, Mrs. Tryon, in the endeavor to treat her friends to one of the old home comforts, undertook the task of frying cakes for the crowd. It is said, that she must have made more than a bushel, as the company took them as they came from the spider. That was the first and only fried cake christening in the county.
J. H. Giddings built the first frame, and Eli W. Brigham the first log house in the township; the former being still inhabited by its builder.
The farmers of Hebron believe in cows, as their six cheese factories attest, the heaviest operators in that line being W. H. & R. W. Stewart, whose factory is located on Section 27, about two miles south of Hebron Station; the others being on Sections 9, 10, 17, 23 and 30.
One branch of the Nippersink rises in a point on Section 28, entering the main stream in Greenwood, while the main part traverses the west portion of the township in a southeast direction, crossing Sections 18, 19, 30 and 32, and a third small stream rises on the farm of E. W. Brigham, Section 6, crosses 8, 5 and 4, entering Wisconsin from Section 3. This stream has its source about one-fourth of a mile from the main stream of the Nippersink, which flows southward and then westward. Goose Lake lies within its limits, being partly on Sections 10 and 11.
The Rockford & Kenosha Railroad traverses the township in a direction nearly east and west, crossing Sections 12, 11, 10 and 9, running the remainder of the distance on the line between Sections 8 and 17, 7 and 18, making about six and one-half miles of track.
The timber of this township is in the northwest, west and southeast, the rest being prairie. The town is well adapted to any kind of produce that can be cultivated in the county.
There is but one church, that being located at the Station, and being owned by the Presbyterians.
HARTLAND, TOWNSHIP 45, NORTH RANGE 6.
It was settled in 1836 by George Stratton, P. W. Tower and a man named Smith, who, among the first and later settlers, was known by the soubriquet of “ Whisky” Smith.
· Hartland was settled almost exclusively by Irish Catholics. The first church was built in 1840, on the site now occupied by a large brick building, one of