« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
Scranton City delicitia
SCRANTON CITY OFFICIALS, 1925
HON. JOHN DURKAN..
........MAYOR William La Fontaine...... .......Director of Public Works William J. Vanston......
...Director of Public Saftey Dr. F. R. Wheelock.
.... Director of Public Health Eugene A. Cusick....
..........City Treasurer Edward Eisele........
...City Controller Philip V. Mattes........
........City Solicitor The Council
Thomas H. Saville, President Harry E. Apgar
Stanley J. Davis
M. E. Sanders
John H. Jordan, Chairman
Frank J. Miller Mark F. Cahilin
William A. Reedy
William P. Huester................................City Clerk
Supt.,Bureau of Highways and Sewers
City Planning Commission
A. J. Casey, President W. P. Boland
Hans Machler F. L. Brown
R. H. Martin William Farrell
Thomas F. Quinn Morgan S. Kaufman
Bureau of Recreation
Rev. R. P. Kreitler, Chairman Peter J. Dowdell
E. J. Lynett Mrs. E. W. Gearhart
Mrs. Thomas Murphy William La Fontaine (Ex officio) Mrs. Lester Pollock
• Sinking Fund Commission
A. J. Casey, Chairman Alfred Gutheinz
M. T. Rovatsos
John H. Williams
J. S. McAnulty, Chairman
Edward A. Bosak
Civil Service Commission
George W. East, Secretary
Edward Davis, Chairman
Philip V. Mattes, City Solicitor John H. Devine
E. S. Williams
Thomas H. Saville, Chairman
John G. Rees Dr. D. W. Evans
D. Walt Wagner . Shade Tree Commission
J. Curtis Platt, Secretary Hon. R. W. Archbald
Mrs. J. Benj. Dimmick
Plumbers Examining Board
Philip P. Martin
.........1866-68 Frederick W. Gunster............ ......1869-72 Cornelius Smith ........
......1873-74 Hugh M. Hannah....
.1875-76 Ira H. Burns. ........
..1877-93 James H. Torrey .......
..1893-97 Michael A. McGinley...
..1897-99 Alton A. Vosburg.
1899-1901 Geo. M. Watson.......
.1901-03 David J. Davis..
.1903-17 Rudolph S. Houck...
.1918-21 Jerome K. Barrett........
.......1921 Philip V. Mattes...
This volume has been prepared under the authority of Ordinance 38, 1925, authorizing the City Solicitor “to prepare and publish a volume containing such ordinances as, in his opinion, should be included therein, covering matters of general interest to the public, with an index thereof."
In the selection made, such ordinances as are of a local, special or temporary character, which of necessity make up the greater bulk of municipal legislation, have not been included, except that typical examples of the more common forms have been inserted in the Appendix.
The territory which now constitutes the City of Scranton and the Borough of Dunmore was formerly embraced within “Providence Township.” About the middle of the Nineteenth Century, Providence Township was split up and at various times the four boroughs of Providence, Hyde Park, Scranton and Dunmore were carved out of it. (See Acts of 1849, P. L. 227; 1853, P. L. 764; and decree recorded in Luzerne County in Deed Book 65 page 15). By Act of Assembly of April 23, 1866, P. L. 1034, three of these boroughs, Providence, Hyde Park and Scranton, and the remaining portion of Providence Township were reunited under the name, “City of Scranton.” The form of city government was based at first upon the Act of 1866. Later, classed as a third class city, Scranton was governed in turn by the Act of May 23, 1874, P. L. 230 and the Act of May 23, 1889, P. L. 277. By the census of 1900 Scranton had exceeded 100,000 in population and thereupon joined Pittsburgh as a second class city—the only cities of that class in the State. This necessitated further radical readjustments in the governmental machinery. Due to the many changes imposed by Acts of Assembly, a large proportion of the ordinances adopted while Scranton was a city of the third class have become obsolete and have been repealed or supplied by later ordinances or state legislation.
Prior to 1911 the legislative functions of the City were vested in Councils consisting of two chambers, the Select Council and the Common Council, and ordinances are designated according to the chamber in which they originated. Thus, “Ord. 4 S. C. 1866" is Ordinance, File of the Select Council, No. 4, 1866. By Act of May 31, 1911, P. L. 461, the existing Councils were abolished,