Gambar halaman


President. 1790

Earl of Liverpool. 1804, June 6, Duke of Montrose. 1806, Feb. 5, Lord Auckland. 1807, Mar. 26, Earl Bathurst. 1809,

Right Hon. R. S. Dundas. 1812,

Earl Bathurst. Sept. 29, Earl of Clancarty. 1818, Jan. 24, Right Hon. Frederick-John Robinson. 1823, Jan. 31, Right Hon. William Huskisson. 1827, Sept. 3, Right Hon. Charles Grant. 1828, June 11, Right Hon. William-Fitzgerald-Vesey Fitzgerald. 1830, Feb. 2, Right Hon. John-Charles Herries.

Nov. 22, Lord Auckland. 1834, June 5, Right Hon. Charles-Poulett Thomson.

Dec. 15, Right Hon. Alexander Baring. 1835, April 18, Lord Sydenham. 1839, Aug. 27, Right Hon. Henry Labouchere. 1841, Sept. 6, Earl of Ripon. 1843, May 16, Right Hon. William-Ewart Gladstone. 1845, Feb. 3, Earl of Dalhousie. 1846, July 6, Earl of Clarendon. 1847, July 22, Right Hon. Henry Labouchere. 1852, Feb. 27, Right Hon. Joseph-Warner Henley.

Dec. 28, Right Hon. Edward Cardwell. 1855, Feb. 26, Right Hon. Lord Stanley, of Alderley. 1858, Feb. 26, Right Hon. Joseph-Warner Henley. 1859, Feb. 26, Right Hon. Earl of Donoughmore. 1859, July 1, Right Hon. Thomas-Milner Gibson. 1866, July 6, Right Hon. Sir Stafford-H. Northcote, bart 1867,

Duke of Richmond. 1868, Dec. 9, Right Hon. John Bright. 1870, Jan. 2, Right Hon. Chichester-S. Fortescue. 1874,

Right Hon. Sir C.-B. Adderley. 1878,

Right Hon. Viscount Sandon. 1880, April Right Hon. J. Chamberlain.


1880, May

Hon. Evelyn Ashley.
Mr. T.-H. Farrer. (Permanent.)


1803, Nov. 9, Lord Pelham.
1804, June 6, Lord Mulgrave.
1805, Jan. 14, Earl of Buckinghamshire.
1806, Feb. 12, Earl of Derby.
1807, Mar. 30, Right Hon. Spencer Perceval.
1812, May 23, Earl of Buckinghamshire.

June 22, Right Hon. Charles Bathurst.
1823, Jan. 31, Lord Bexley.
1828, Jan. 26, Earl of Aberdeen.

May 30, Right Hon. Charles Arbuthnot. 1830, Nov. 22, Lord Holland. 1834, Dec. 20, Earl of Haddington.

Dec. 26, Right Hon. Charles-Watkin-Williams Wynn. 1835, April 18, Lord Holland. 1840, Oct. 31, Earl of Clarendon. 1841, June 21, Right Hon. Sir George Grey, bart.

Sept. 6, Lord Granville C. H. Somerset. 1846, July 6, Lord Campbell. 1850, Mar. 6, Earl of Carlisle. 1852, Feb. 27, Right Hon. Robert-Adam Christopher.

Dec. 28, Right Hon. Edward Strutt. 1854, June 10, Viscount Granville. 1855, April 5, Right Hon. Earl of Harrowby.

Dec. 7, Right Hon. Matthew-Talbot Baines 1858, Feb. 26, Duke of Montrose. 1859, June 18, Right Hon. Sir George Grey, bart. 1861, July 25, Right Hon. Edward Cardwell. 1864, April 4, Right Hon. Earl of Clarendon. 1866, Jan. 26, Right Hon. George-Joachim Göschen.

July 10, Right Hon. Earl of Devon. 1867, June 28, Right Hon. Colonel John-Wilson Patten. 1808, Nov. 7, Colonel Taylor.

Dec. 10, Lord Dufferin. 1872, Aug. 9, Right Hon. Hugh C.-E. Childers. 1873, Oct. 1, Right Hon. John Bright. 1874, Mar. 2, Right Hon. Thomas-E. Taylor. 1880, April Right Hon. John Bright.

[ocr errors]


[The power of the Lord High Admiral hath, since the reign of Queen Anne,

been executed by commissioners. The statute of Charles II. ascertain; his authority in these words :-" That the Lord High Admiral for the time being shall have full power and authority to grant commissions to inferior vice-admirals or commanders-in-chief of any squadrons of ships : to call and assemble courts martial, consisting of commanders and captains; and no courts martial, where pain of death shall be inflicted, shall consist of less than five captains at least; the Admiral's lieutenant to be, as to this purpose, esteemed as a captain ; and in no case wherein sentence of death shall pass (by the articles for regulating the government of Her Majesty's ships of war, or any of them), except mutiny, there shall be execution of such sentence without leave of the Lord High Admiral, if the offence be committed in narrow seas. But in case any of the offences aforesaid be committed in any voyage beyond the narrow seas, then execution shall be done by order of the commander-in-chief.He appoints coroners to view dead bodies found on the coasts, and judges in the High Court of Admiralty. To him belong all fines and forfeitures of all transgressions at sea, and at the sea shore; and in ports, from the first bridge on rivers, to the sea; goods of pirates, waifs, wrecks, &c.]

First Lord. 1797,

Earl Spencer. 1801,

Earl St. Vincent. 1804, May 15, Viscount Melville. 1805, April 30, Lord Barham. 1806, Feb. 11, Right Hon. Charles Grey.

Sept. 27, Right Hon. Thomas Grenville. 1808, May 7, Earl of Mulgrave. 1810, May 1, Right Hon. Charles-Philip Yorke. 1812, Mar. 24, Right Hon. Viscount Melville. 1830, Nov. 22, Sir James Robert-George Graham, bart. 1834, June 5, Lord Auckland.

Dec. 15, Earl of Aberdeen.

Dec. 19, Earl De Grey. 1835, April 18, Lord Auckland.

Sept. 18, Earl of Minto. 1841, Sept. 6, Earl of Haddington. 1845, Dec. 29, Earl of Ellenborough. 1846, July 3, Earl of Auckland. 1849, Jan. 13, Sir Francis-Thornhill Baring, bart.


1852, Feb. 27, Duke of Northumberland.

Dec. 28, Right Hon. Sir Jas. R. G. Graham, bart. 1855, Feb. 28, Right Hon. Sir Charles Wood, bart. 1858, Feb. 26, Right Hon. Sir John-Somerset Pakington, bart. 1869, June 18, Duke of Somerset. 1866, July 6, Right Hon. Sir J.-Somerset Pakington, bart.

Right Hon. Henry-Thomas-Lowry Corry. 1868, Dec. 10, Right Hon. H. Culling-Eardley Childers. 1871, March Right Hon. George-Joachim Göschen. 1874, Feb. Right Hon. George-Ward Hunt. 1877, Aug.

Right Hon. W. H. Smith. 1880,

Earl of Northbrook.


Lords of the Admiralty.

1880, May 3, Admiral Sir A. C. Key, K.C.B.

Vice-Admiral Lord Jolin Hay.
Rear-Admiral A.-H. Hoskins.
Sir T. Brassey.

[blocks in formation]

1828, Feb. 25, Viscount Hill. 1852, Sept. 23, Field-Marshal Viscount Hardinge. 1856, July 15, His Royal Highness the Duke of Cambridge. Secretary at War. 1801, Feb. 20, Right Hon. Charles Yorke. 1803, Aug. 17, Right Hon. Charles-Bragge Bathurst. 1804, May 19, Right Hon. William Dundas. 1806, Feb. 8, Right Hon. Richard Fitzpatrick. 1807, Mar. 31, Right Hon. Sir James-Murray Pulteney, bart. 1809, July 1, Right Hon. Lord Granville-Leveson Gower.

Oct. 28, Right Hon. Viscount Palmerston. 1828, May 30, Right Hon. Sir Henry Hardinge. 1830, July 30, Right Hon. Lord Francis-Leveson Gower.

Nov. 27, Right Hon. Charles-Watkin-Williams Wynn. 1831, April 4, Right Hon. Sir Henry-Brook Parnell, bart. 1832, Feb. 1, Right Hon. Sir John-Cam Hobhouse, bart. 1833, April 6, Right Hon. Edward Ellice. 1834, Dec. 15, Right Hon. John-Charles Herries. 1835, April 18, Right Hon. Viscount Howick. 1839, Sept, 25, Right Hon. Thomas-Babington Macaulay. 1841, Sept. 6, Right Hon. Sir Henry Hardinge. 1844, May 17, Right Hon. Sir Thomas-Francis Fremantle, bart. 1845, Feb. 4, Right Hon. Sidney Herbert. 1846, July 6, Right Hon. Fox Maule. 1852, Feb. 2, Right Hon. Robert-Vernon Smith.

Feb. 27, Right Hon. William Beresford.

Dec. 28, Right Hon. Lord Herbert. [1855, February 8.The Ofice merged into the department of the Secretary

of State for the War Department.] [By Royal Warrant, dated May 25, 1855, the duties of the Board of

Ordnance were also transferred to the Minister of War.]

Right Hon. G.-Osborne Morgan.

1880, May 7,


Right Hon. Lord Wolverton.


« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »