« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
the same year; (10) Passionist Monastery chapel, in the same year; (11) St. Stephen's, (Seminary Chapel), Glenwood, in 1857.
For the German: (12) St. Michael's, South Side, in 1846 ; (13) Holy Trinity, Fulton Street, in 1857; (14) Sts. Peter and Paul, East End, in the same year ; (15) St. Augustine's, Butler Street, in 1860.
In December, 1860, the vacant see was filled by the appointment of Rev. Michael Domenec, a Spaniard, and member of the Congregation of the Lazarists, who had labored in the United States for twenty-one years.
Religion progressed very rapidly during Bishop Domenec's administration, owing to the impetus given principally to the manufacture of iron and steel, called for by the war of the Rebellion, which unhappily waged during a considerable part of that period. But the growth is imperfectly represented by the Catholic population of the city alone, although it is of that only with which we have to do at present. Nearly all the congregations branched out, not only in the city, but beyond its limits. Religious and educational institutions were established or enlarged, and the Church found itself well equipped. Still it labored under a difficulty which is not understood by many among us; while even our co-religionists elsewhere must have it explained to them. It is that a considerable debt hangs over so many of our churches and institutions. To those who are familiar with our situation it is plain enough. Pittsburg, at least until lately, was little more than an immense workshop Tradesmen and laborers thronged here from abroad with nothing to depend on but their physical strength, and as the majority of these were Catholics, the Church had to provide them places of worship and religious training with as little delay as possible; or else they were in danger of losing their faith ; nor for a considerable time could it expect them to extend but a feeble helping hand in the work. Again it had to provide for their sick and orplans, when misfortune called for assistance. It is not then to be wondered at that a burden should have been placed on many churches and institutions, which even yet they have not been fully able to cast off.
In the early part of 1876, the diocese of Pittsburg was divided, and that of Allegheny formed therefrom. Bishop Domenec was transferred to the new see; Very Rev. John Tuigg being named Bishop of Pittsburg, and consecrated in March, 1876. He was an Irishman by birth, and came to America about 1849. Nearly his entire missionary career was spent at Altoona, where he was vicar-forane for the Bishop of Pittsburg
During the episcopate of Bishop Domenec there were erected in the city the following English churches: (1) St. Joseph's, for colored people, in 1866; (2) St. Agnes, Soho, in 1868 ; (3) St. Mary of Mercy, Point, in the same year; (4) St. Malachy's, South Side, in 1869; (5) Sacred Heart, East End, in 1872.
Then these German churches : (6) St. Joseph's, Bloomfield, in 1867; (7) St. Joseph's, South Side, in 1868; (8) St. Martin's, West End, in 1869; (9) St. Peter's, South Side, in 1871; and (10) St. Stanislaus, (Polish) Twenty-first and Smallman Streets, in 1875. (11) St. Paul's Orphan Asylum was built to replace the small one on the South Side, in 1867; and (12) St. Michael's German Orphan Asylum was opened for the unfortunate little ones of that nationality on the south of the Monongaliela, in 1874.
The Sisters of the Order of St. Francis were introduced into the diocese in 1866, as teachers in the parochial schools, principally of the German congregations; but in 1872, they opened St. Francis' Hospital, on Forty-fourth Street, to which a department for the insane has since been added.
The Ursuline Nuns entered the city in 1870, and have since devoted themselves to the higher education of young ladies, although the Sisters of Mercy had long been engaged in the same work as well as in that of elementary training.
The Little Sisters of the Poor, whose institute has for its object the care of the destitute aged, arrived in 1872, and opened a small house, which has since been replaced by a very large structure on Penn Avenue, near the East End. And the same year witnessed the coming of the Sisters of the Good Shepherd, the purpose of whose institute is to conduct liouses
of protection for young women who have fallen from virtue and are desirous of reforming their lives, and for such also as are in danger. Later they erected very commodious buildings, on Troy Hill, Allegheny, where they still continue their good work.
Declining health incapacitated Bishop Tuigg for the performance of his onerous duties, and in August, 1885, Very Rev. Richard Phelan, of Allegheny, vicar-general of the diocese, was named coadjutor to the bishop, with the right of succession. The newly consecrated prelate is a native of Ireland, born in County Kilkenny, January 1, 1828. Having pursued his studies in his native land he came to America in 1849, and was ordained to the sacred ministry May 4, 1854. Though laboring in several places, the greater part of his missionary career was spent in Freeport, with its nuinerous dependencies, and Allegheny. On the death of Bishop Tuigg, on December 7, 1889, he succeeded to the title of Bishop of Pittsburg
Though feeling, like all other institutions, the vicissitudes of the times, which are especially noticeable in manufacturing districts, the Catholic Church in Pittsburg has constantly advanced since its first permanent establishment there. Though the first to offer public worship to God at the Forks of the Ohio, after the expulsion of the French (as was stated above), it did not agaiu take a permanent hold on the people until near the close of the last century, owing mainly to the scarcity of priests in the broad field that was even then ripe for the harvest. At present it is far in the lead of any other church in the city, having more church buildings and charitable and educational institutions, than any other ; more valuable property and stately edifices ; more children and youth under its care ; more clergymen engaged in the dissemination of the truth of the Gospel and the supernatural helps of Christianity; and immeasurably a larger membership than any other Churchi.
The following are the statistics of the Catholic Church in the city : Religious orders of men : (1) Fathers of the Congregation of Our Most Holy Redeemer ; (2) of the Congregation of the Passion ; (3) of the Order of Capuchins ; (4)
of the Congregation of the Holy Ghost; (5) of Our Lady of Mount Carmel; (6) of the Order of St. Francis ; (7) Franciscan Brothers, and (8) Brothers of Mary Immaculate. Total, eight orders.
Religious Orders of Women: (1) Sisters of Charity ; (2) of Mercy; (3) School Sisters of Notre Dame; (4) Sisters of St. Francis ; (5) Little Sisters of the Poor ; (6) Ursuline Nuns; (7) Sisters of Divine Providence; (8) Felician Sisters, and (9) Sisters of the Holy Family. Total, nine orders.
Soon after the division of the diocese in 1876, the ecclesiastical seminary was closed, and students for the priesthood have since been educated elsewhere. There are the following educational and charitable institutions: one college for boys ; three academies for young ladies, besides a number of others attached to the parochial schools; and twenty-eight parochial schools; one protectorate for boys; two orphan asylums; three hospitals; one home for the aged; and one foundling asylum and lying-in hospital. There are twenty-three brothers, four hundred and forty sisters and a number of lay teachers engaged in instructing 13,631 children in the parochial schools.
The city contains one cathedral, nineteen English, ten German, four Polish, two Slavic, two Italian, one Lithuanian, one Greek and one church for colored people, and nine large chapels. Total, forty-vine churches, attended by one bishop and one hundred and five priests. The Catholic population of the city, as nearly as it can be ascertained, is 103,500 souls. Such at the close of the nineteenth century is the Catholic Church in Pittsburg, which in the beginning of the century was attended but once in two months, and had neither church, 110r church property, nor resident priest. Truly “has the mustard seed growu to a great tree.”
EXTRACTS FROM THE
DIARY OF REV. PATRICK KENNY.
From February 13, 1829, to March 26, 1833.
BY JOSEPH WILLCOX.
Feby 13th M. vol. Anniversary of Granny Catho Dunlevy, aged 113 years—
I am inform'd that Rev. or more correctly, Irrev! Mess's B. Keenan & Terence Donayhoe have been officiating for the Anniv' of the late M" Rose Larkin, & moreover administering sacraments without any application to me as Pastor of the District. No Priest but such are of, timens bas-perces,' would trespass so.
B. Keenan left a memorandum with M'Ja' M° Gee, of the Baptism of John Rodgers's child on the 11th ins' covering (openly) one dollar-All the dollars in Lancaster, would not authorise this breach of catho discipline, nor all the Bank notes in Philad" would be no credential for Terce Donayhoe to picaroon thus. I received the above mentioned memorandum on Sunday 15th after church.
16th Not able to rise this morning. Pat' Haw to Wilmo his own business, cash adv 50°
17th Mr Patk Haw sail'd in as we had done prayer, near 9 p. m. Gobbled his supper. Bragg'd that he was not groggy. The boast itself, in addition to evident appearances, & the lateness of return that might have been as easy at 4 as at 9 p. m. deposed not in favor of the Bragger. He must plan