« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
Academy of Natural Sciences, Philadelphia, 1837.
American Association for the Advancement of Science. 1844.
American Ethnological Society, New York.
(Became the American Entomological Society, 1867.)
In Vol. XIX of the proceedings of the American Philosophical Society, Philadelphia, p. 109, there is a short report of a verbal eulogium of the deceased Professor Haldeman, by Dr. John L. Le Conte.
Ibid, p. 279, there is a detailed account of him by Dr. Daniel G. Brinton.
In the “Museum," Vol. I, pp. 53-57, (Philadelphia, 1885,) a short sketch of Haldeman may be found.
Memoir of Samuel Steman Haldeman, by Charles Henry Hart, Esq., (Philadelphia, 1881.)
GENEALOGY. Genealogical line of descent of Prof. S. S. Haldeman, simplified from the complete family chart of the Haldeman family, prepared by Horace L. Haldeman, 1895.
Jacob Haldeman, born October 7, 1722. Married Maria Milier, born December 3, 1726. Had issue, il children, of these :
John (third child), born June 2, 1753. Married Maria Breneman, born February 2, 1760. Had issue, six children, of these :
Henry Haldeman, born December 18, 1787. Married Frances Stenian, born March 1, 1794. Had issue, seven children, viz. : Samuel Steman, Edwin, Henry, Horace, Cyrus, Paris, Helen.
Samuel Steman Haldeman married Mary A. Hough. Had issue, six children :
Carston Niebuhr, born October 13, 1837, died April 14, 1892.
F. X. R.
A SKETCH OF CATHOLICITY IN THE CITY OF
BY THE REV. A. A. LAMBING, LL.D.,
During the French occupation of Western Pennsylvania the Faithful were ministered to by the French military Chaplain at Fort Duquesne. This, however, was only temporary, and with the fall of the French power in the valley of the Ohio and the triumph of the English all was changed. The few Catholics who may have been found among the English soldiers, the early traders or the pioneers, had no opportunity of assisting at the services of their religion or partaking of its spiritual privileges, if indeed they had been disposed to do so; for, like the vast majority of their class, the teachings and practices of religion generally made but a feeble impression on most of them. After the withdrawal of the French no Catholic clergyman is known to have visited the forks of the Ohio before the year 1781, when, and during subsequent years, missionaries on their way to Kentucky or the Illinois country were accustomed to stop for a longer or shorter time awaiting a rise in the river or the preparation of craft to carry them to their destination. Brownsville and Pittsburg were the places of embarkation, as Limestone, now Maysville, Kentucky, and the mouth of the Wabash, were of debarkation, for those who came over the mountains from Baltimore or Phila
*This sketch was written to form one of the chapters of a secular history of Pittsburg, but the work grew too large to insert it in its entirety ; wherefore the history of the Church had to be treated more briefly. This will account for certain expressions that are more appropriate in a secular than in a religious history.
During the occupation of the site of Pittsburg by the French-from April, 1754, to November, 1758—the soldiers and others, being principally Catholics, were ministered to by a resident chaplain, the Recollect Father, Denis Baron.
delphia. Several of these clergymen spent a longer or shorter time in Pittsburg, and did a limited missionary work among their co-religionists; but they are deserving of only a passing mention. One, however, is worthy of special notice, the Rev. Benedict Joseph Flaget, afterward bishop of Bardstown, Kentucky, of whom his biographer writes : “He set out on his journey from Baltimore to Vincennes in the month of May, 1792, on a wagon destined to Pittsburg. He traveled alone with the conductor of the wagon
In Pittsburg he was detained for nearly six months, in consequence of the low stage of water in the Ohio. He carried with him letters of introduction from Bishop Carroll of Baltimore to General Wayne, who was stationed at Pittsburg, preparing for his great expedition against the Indians of the northwest
During his detention in Pittsburg M. Flaget was not idle. He boarded in the house of a French Huguenot, married to an American Protestant lady, by whom he was kindly and hospitably entertained. He said Mass every morning in their house, and during the day he devoted himself to the instruction of the few inhabitants and French Catholic soldiers. The small-pox having broken out in the place, he was indefatigable in his attentions to those stricken with the loathsome disease. An incident occurred while he was in Pittsburg which presented an occasion for the exercise of his charity and zeal. General Wayne, though a humane man, was a rigid disciplinarian. Four soldiers deserted, and on being apprehended they were promptly condemned to death by court-martial. Two of them were Irish or American Catholics, one was a Protestant and the other a French infidel. M. Flaget visited them in prison ; and though but little acquainted with English, he had the happiness of receiving the Protestant into the Church, and of administering the sacraments to the two Catholics. They were in the most happy dispositions, and he mingled his tears of joy with theirs of repentance. The Frenchman proved obdurate ; and the zealous priest could make no impression on his heart.
He accompanied them to the place of execution.
The Frenchman was pardoned by General Wayne, the moment before the order to fire, out of
regard for the feeling of M. Flaget, who had exhibited the most poignant grief that his unhappy countryman was so totally unprepared to die. In November he left Pittsburg in a flat-boat for Louisville, Kentucky.”
Toward the close of the century the priest who had a short time before taken up his residence in Unity Township, Westmoreland County, (now the site of St. Vincent's Arch-Abbey,) began to come at distant intervals to Pittsburg to minister to the small number of his co-religionists, whom he organized into a congregation. The first person to make such visits was Rev. Peter Helbron, who, during his visits, lodged at the house of Col. James O'Hara, on Water Street near Short, and said Mass in the house of one Mr. M'Fall, at the corner of Liberty and Water Streets. But his knowledge of English was so limited that the people must have derived little satisfaction from his ministrations. About the beginning of the century Rev. Patrick Lonergan, who had withdrawn from the Westmoreland County settlement and had formed another near Waynesburg, Greene County, came once every two months for about three years, and ministered to the little flock, principally in the house of Alexander May, on First Avenue, between Market and Ferry Streets. In time the congregation increased so far in numbers and importance that in 1806 they petitioned their bishop for a resident pastor; but so few were the priests at his disposal that he could do no more than promise one in in the near future. With this encouragement the people began the building of a small brick church on a lot at the corner of Liberty and Washington Streets, donated by James O'Hara. The work progressed slowly, and in the fall of 1808 the first resident pastor was appointed in the person of Rev. William Francis Xavier O'Brien, who made his home on the second floor of a house on Second Avenue near Grant Street, the first floor being occupied by a tailor ; and held religious services in the house of one or another of his flock, and occasionally in the academy, which stood on the site of the present post-office. In order to collect means for the completion of the church he rode from Pittsburg to Baltimore soliciting donations. When finished, it was dedicated in August, 1811,