« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »
For the year One Thousand Eight Hundred and Twenty four,
CHIEF BURGESS—Robert M'Clan, Esquire.
STANT BURGESS–Alexander Nesbit, Esquire.
TOWN COUNCIL, oilton, John D. Mahon, John Zollinger, John Glime, Fredotts, Adam Hays, Jacob Young, David S. Forney, James
TOWN CLERK-Thomas Jones.
streET REGULATORS AND SURVEYORS, William Line, John Wilson, Jacob Hendel.
STREET AND ROAD consissioners—James Bredin, Robert Irvine.
JUSTICES OF THE PEACE OF THE BOROUGH OF CARLISLE.
John Delancy, Esq. Elisha Doyle, Esq. Archibald Ramsey, Esq. John Creigh, Esq. William Irvine, Esq. John D. Haverstick, Esq. Jacob Squier, Esq. John Elliott, Esq. Andrew Boden, Esq, George Pattison, Esq. Robert D. Gutherie, Esq. Henry Lechler, Esq. John Smith, Esq. Peter B. Smith, Esq. John Phillips, Esq.
COMMISSIONERS–Robert M'Bride, jr. Henry Ford, David
IS bounded on the S. and S. E., by the counties of York and Adams; Franklin on the W., Perry on the N. W. and N. and the Susquehanna River on N. E., and part of York county on the E.; length thirtynine miles, mean width sixteen, and contains five hundred and fortyfive square miles. The S. E. part of the county, is limestone land, and a small portion of the N.W., clay slate. STAPLES, Wheat, Rye, Oats, Flour, Whiskey, Apples, Cider, Peach and Apple brandy, Live Stock, and Salted Provisions. Chief Town CARLISLE.
POPULATION IN 1810,
Free white males, - - - - - I'3,482
Total - - 26,757*
POPULATION IN 1820,
Free white males - - - - - 11,622
Free white females - - - - - 11,239 -----
Total Whites - - 22,861
Free persons of colour, males - - 372
Free persons of colour, females - - - 356
Male Slaves, - - - - G
Female, slaves - - - - - 11 ====
* This number includes the present county ef Perry, The increase in Cum
berland from 1810 to 1820 is 3,512.
Foreigners not naturalized - - - - 162
Engaged in Agriculture - - - - - -2,074
Population to the square mile, 43.
BOROUGH OF CARLISLE,
North latitude 40° 12', longitude 77° 12, is situate on rising ground, between the Blue Mountain on the North, and the South Mountain on the South ; eighteen miles West by South, from Harrisburgh, and one hundred and eighteen from Philadelphia.
The town was founded by the Messrs. Penn's, in 1751, and is laid out in an oblong square, five streets running nearly East and West, viz: North street, Louther street, High street, Pomfret street and South street; and five running nearly North and South, viz: East street, Bedford street, Hanover street, Pitt street, and West street. The squares and streets are intersected by four alleys, running parallel with High street, and named as follows: Locust Alley, between North and Louther streets, Dickinson alley and JMulberry alley, between Louther and High streets, Church alley and Liberty alley, between High street and Pomfret street, and Chapel Alley, between Pomfret and South streets.
The streets are sixty feet wide, except HIGH and HANOVER streets, which are Eighty feet.
The lots are sixty feet in front, and two hundred and forty feet in depth, fronting on the streets, and bounding on the Alleys.
POPULATION OF THE Borough of CARLISLE IN 1820:
Under ten years of age - - - - 4.46
y Total — 1,340