Gambar halaman
PDF
ePub

an active member of its land and building fund committee, in whose work he took a deep interest. He left a widow, a daughter and a son.

WALLACE CLYDE JOHNSON Mr. Wallace Clyde Johnson died at his home, Cedar avenue, Niagara Falls, N. Y., on the morning of Saturday, December 15, 1906. The cause of death was dilation of the heart and kidney trouble. The electrical and engineering professions thus lost a man who had been largely connected with development in those fields for twenty years, and who was known throughout the United States, Canada and Europe as the possessor of unusual skill and ability in planning hydro-electric installations. Mr. Johnson was born in Granville, Mass., May 21, 1859. His early education was obtained in the common and high schools of that village. In 1882 he graduated from Williams College, and in 1884 from the Worcester Polytechnic Institute. In 1886 he became the chief engineer of the Niagara Falls Hydraulic Power and Manufacturing Company, and up to the time of his death he was connected with that company. Until 1900 he was its chief engineer, and from that time its consulting engineer. During the past six years Mr. Johnson had been connected with several notable hydro-electric developments in the United States and Canada. The plant at Shawinigan Falls, Quebec, was planned by him, as was also the development at Oldtown, Me.; at Hannawa Falls in St. Lawrence County, four miles from Potsdam; the system of the Albion Power Company at Waterport, N. Y.; the Empire State Power Company on the Schoharie Creek, off the Mohawk river, and so forth. Mr. Johnson was engineer also of the Niagara Falls and Suspension Bridge Street Railway Company when the first street-car line was built in Niagara Falls, and he planned the sewer system of that region. His map of Niagara Fails and vicinity stands among the best. ways and in many localities he left monuments to his memory. He was a member of the State Water Supply Commission, a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Engineers Society of Western New York, an associate member of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers, and an associate member of the Society of Arts, London, England. At the time of his death

In many

he was vice-president and manager of the Albion Power Company, mentioned above.

WILLIAM A. WHITTLESEY Former State Senator William A. Whittlesey, of Pittsfield, Mass., died at his home in that city in December, 1906. He was born in Danbury, Conn., February 21, 1849, secured his early education in that city and entered Marietta College, at Marietta, Ohio, where he was graduated. His first business venture was in the wholesale woolen business, in which he engaged with his brother, John J. Whittlesey, at Detroit, soon after his graduation. Four years later he went to Lebanon, N. Y., and took charge of the literary department of the Henry A. Tilden Company. He remained with the Tilden company for three years and then returned to Detroit. His health failing, he engaged in the lumber business in northern Wisconsin. Seven years in that region restored him to health, and in 1886 he came East and located in Pittsfield. He took charge of the business of the Pittsfield Illuminating Company, and two years later consolidated it with the Pittsfield Electric Light Company, under the name of the Pittsfield Electric Company. In the early nineties he became interested in some of the electrical devices of Mr. William Stanley, of Great Barrington, and the old Stanley Company was formed. Its growth was rapid. Mr. Whittlesey, who was treasurer and manager, erected large shop and office buildings, which were occupied by the Stanley Company until its removal to other works a few years ago. In 1896, Mr. Whittlesey severed his active connection with the company, retaining his directorship, in order to give his entire time to the business of the Pittsfield Electric Company, but the industry which had been planted in Pittsfield through his energy has grown to great proportions until to-day it is one of the three large plants of the General Electric Company, and is employing about 2000 hands. Mr. Whittlesey was married June 24, 1874, at New Lebanon, N. Y., to Miss Caroline B. Tilden, daughter of Henry Tilden and a niece of Samuel J. Tilden. Mrs. Whittlesey survives him with one daughter and one son.

36

APPENDIX A

REPORT OF COMMITTEE ON

PUBLIC POLICY

EVERETT W. BURDETT, CHAIRMAN
HENRY L. DOHERTY
ALEX DOW
CHARLES L. EDGAR
SAMUEL INSULL
J. W. LIEB, JR.
JOSEPH B. MCCALL
SAMUEL SCOVIL

W. H. GARDINER, SECRETARY

« SebelumnyaLanjutkan »