There is Power in a Union

Sampul Depan
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 7 Sep 2010 - 368 halaman

From the nineteenth-century textile mills of Lowell, Massachusetts, to the triumph of unions in the twentieth century and their waning influence today, the contest between labor and capital for the American bounty has shaped our national experience.
 
In this stirring new history, Philip Dray shows us the vital accomplishments of organized labor and illuminates its central role in our social, political, economic, and cultural evolution. His epic, character-driven narrative not only restores to our collective memory the indelible story of American labor, it also demonstrates the importance of the fight for fairness and economic democracy, and why that effort remains so urgent today.

Apa yang dikatakan orang - Tulis resensi

LibraryThing Review

Ulasan Pengguna  - HadriantheBlind - LibraryThing

Last month, the legislature of the state of Michigan forced through a 'Right to Work' legislation, severely limiting the power and influence of labor unions in the United States. After Wisconsin's ... Baca ulasan lengkap

THERE IS POWER IN A UNION: The Epic Story of Labor in America

Ulasan Pengguna  - Kirkus

Exemplary history of the American labor movement, from its time-shrouded beginnings to its murky present.Working in the tradition of Eric Foner and Studs Terkel, Dray (Capitol Men: The Epic Story of ... Baca ulasan lengkap

Edisi yang lain - Lihat semua

Tentang pengarang (2010)

PHILIP DRAY is the author of At the Hands of Persons Unknown: The Lynching of Black America, which won the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award and made him a Pulitzer Prize finalist, and Stealing God’s Thunder: Benjamin Franklin’s Lightning Rod and the Invention of America, and the coauthor of the New York Times Notable Book We Are Not Afraid: The Story of Goodman, Schwerner, and Chaney, and the Civil Rights Campaign for Mississippi. He lives in Brooklyn.

Informasi bibliografi